We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5-star Hotel @ last minute”
Review of Maxims

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maxims
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
SG
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent 5-star Hotel @ last minute”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Arrived a day earlier for road trip - all hotels were fully booked. In the end, after much queries, finally managed to get hold of Highlands Hotel - first time staying in five-star hotel in Genting. Casino is just next to the hotel and had good luck - won some to cover the hotel charges! Only worth the $ if you have some GP + top up. Otherwise, try other hotels in Genting. Overally not bad for its stunning view and posh deco.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammie_lee_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
47
19
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a pleasant experience at the front desk during check in and making other requests during our stay. We were given rooms on mid-level and were not expecting the wonderful view we got. There was always a strong cool wind which we appreciated. The rooms are spacious enough but were not as clean as we wished and the bath tub was well worn but if you are willing to overlook these areas, the rooms are comfortable with above average quality linen. We slept very well. Our rooms were always made promptly while we were out of the rooms and this is something we've had issues with when staying in First World Hotel. We also felt much more secure in Highlands than in First World as there is only one lift lobby which had a relatively narrow entrance and the security personnel stationed there could effectively screen all guests. People smoked in the corridors so if you are sensitive to smoke, do take note.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowCombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

on May 1st i stayed in a RM 500++ room at Highlands.when i got there i parked in the silver members car park.later when i checked in i saw there we're many open car park spaces right in front of the hotel so the next day i decided to park there.. guess what happened next. i asked the jockey to park my car b'coz they are the only ones that can park the cars in that area.when i asked them nicely could i park my car there they said blatantly the place is full.how can it be full when i can see empty places from my room window on the 15 floor???? i got angry and told them where the hell should i park it then when i'm staying in this hotel.they then looked at me and asked me again like they din't believe me when i said i was staying there.i had to take out my room card and tell them my room no just to get their attention.they then said rudely rm12 for parking.what the hell!!! is this what you call service????? do you know how much people have to gamble at the resort just to get to silver status and this is how you treat them.

other then the parking problem everything else was ok.btw the lifts that can only used to excess the VIP area should have a sign as a guest can't get to ground floor using those lifts.

to be fair the room i got was very clean and spacious, bigger then normal rooms at Genting's other resorts and the security is very good there.you have Police at the lobby area.i felt very safe moving in and out of the hotel.people who travel with lot's of cash in hand will feel very safe here.

you should go for the Freeze show if your going soon as the show is really interesting and should not be missed.get the VIP seats right in front you wont regret it.the buffet dinner that can be bought with the tickets to the show is good value for money.they have an international buffet dinner at the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: get a higher level room or premium rooms.if you want a great room you should go for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa_Cornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night in March 2012. Our family booked a total of five twin rooms because one of our number was a Genting member.

The room is just nice for two; the only real problem was that there was an old cigarette burn on the day curtain. The level we were on was a smoking level, but the ventilation is quite good because you couldn't really smell the cigarette smoke (the asthmatic in our party was okay).

Only two problems: it's quite a distance from the theme park. It's about a 15-20 minute walk so it can be very tiring to walk back. But there are a lot of places to eat right underneath it.

Our room was directly facing the main road into the complex, and there was a large display screen across the road. At night when it's very quiet, you can hear the audio, which loops. I kept waking up in the middle of the night because I could hear the rollercoaster ad.

Despite what their website says, the rooms have no Internet access whatsoever. The Starbucks at the lobby has free wifi; the signal reaches to the lobby so you don't need to buy a drink.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ravensilvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Comfy hotel and best location closest to casino. Very near to many restaurants and entertainment. Big room with coffee/tea. must try 3 layer ice tea or coffee. Very nice. But can only book the room if you have Genting card.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

It is one of those hotels where one simply stays for just one night and tries her/his best to seek out other accommodations.

I went there over the weekend and it was such a disappointment. First of all, the room is located far from the elevator, but that was fine since I could still walk. The worse is the air-ventilator when it was turned on sounded like the siren more than anything else. Unless you are prepared not to use the toilet facilities, you need to bear with the noise. When you switch on the fan, you will be disturbed by the noise it makes as well. Hence, in order to get some sleep, I opened the windows and turned the fan off. The following morning was when I saw insects in the room, probably flew in the night before.

By the way, I was told the room has absolutely no internet connection (that was what I have been told) and the hotel did not seem to be that flexible in check out time. I queried about late check out (since the time I was told to check out was 12 noon, and I only checked in 4 in the morning, not their fault, that I understand) but the latest they could offer was before 1pm. How impressive and helpful.

It is such a disappointing experience, and I rather recommend First World than this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Genting Highlands hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

If you visit Genting you have very few options for your stay. Highlands is a hotel which needs renovation. The staff have done a good job in maintaining the hotel. Hotel has a decent service and staff. The location of Genting Highlands makes you forget about the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor to admire the beauty of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjaySanglikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.2 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,827 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 11 in Genting Highlands
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
7.0 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
1.9 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#5 of 11 in Genting Highlands
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxims

Property: Maxims
Address: | Genting Highlands Resort, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia (Formerly Highlands Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maxims 5*
Number of rooms: 745
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impeccable service, a splendid array of dining venues and lively entertainment are some of the activities that are bound to make yours a pleasurable stay and enjoyable trip up at the peak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maxims reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing