We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Maxims

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maxims
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

If you visit Genting you have very few options for your stay. Highlands is a hotel which needs renovation. The staff have done a good job in maintaining the hotel. Hotel has a decent service and staff. The location of Genting Highlands makes you forget about the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor to admire the beauty of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjaySanglikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

One word to describe the Highlands hotel is - dated!

The age of the hotel is really showing though its still relatively well maintained and cleaned.

Think along the lines of an old 3 star hotel at best.

Amenities were generally available but it took two attempts to just get an adaptor front housekeeping.

Definitely not my hotel of choice but if you've gambled for 12hrs straight then the room serves its purpose fine, just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contactim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

My friends and I took a bus down from Singapore at 12midnight, we arrived at 10am, we tried our luck to check-in earlier.

they offered us to check-in our bags first, and I left my number so they can SMS me the moment the rooms were available. and Please remember! If you're going to any Genting Hotels, ALWAYS ASK FOR RENOVATED ROOMS.

We headed for breakfast at a nearby GeorgeTown White Coffee just below, before our meals were served, I gotten the SMS informing us our rooms are ready! it was barely 11am, we were very glad they took the effort to get our rooms.

When we went in, it was very nicely cleaned up, and very nicely refurbished, faced down the valley towards KL, and the views were spectacular! Everything was very new, no dents on the table or chairs.

The hotel feels very safe, card access lifts, and the mineral water and tea/coffee packs are replenished daily,

A little downside on the location and value though, we stayed for 4d3n and it was rather expensive for the premiere rooms, quite a distance to get to and fro the bus station.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms, they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennyTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a dinner in imperial rama restaurant. After halfway through the meal, our noodles arrived. There was a used plaster with someones blood in it. Utterly disgusting. The restaurant only offerd to give us a discount. Now we are worried abOut health problems

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gltan911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Genting Highlands hotels

England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The room we booked was a premier room where we were greeted by a complimentary fruit basket and free soft drinks (replenished daily). The room was generally decent like something to be expected of a 4-5 star hotel. However service was not as good as hoped for. If you arrive early at the hotel, do a pre check in at the reception. It would help later in the day during the check in process. If you're lucky, you might be one of the first to get a room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schizophrenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Genting Highlands is one of the many hotel owned by Genting. although many of the hotel are great Genting Highlands is the more expensive and luxurious then the others. But it doesn't matter as all of the hotels are connected to each other via a giant indoor shopping and entertainment complex you can go from one hotel to the other without even having to go outside. You can also take a ski lift from the hotel to the temple down the mountain. Yes the hotel is located on the top of a mountain and because of this it's not good for sightseeing since due to the high altitude the top of the mountain is covered in fog. The hotel also has a casino, an outdoor and indoor amusement park, an arcade, and more. But like most hotels in Malaysia there is no free wifi. If your driving to the hotel be cautious as you well face may curves as you are driving up a mountain.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jedimaster10248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed there at end May 2011. The check-in was fast and the lady at the checkin counter was efficient though it was peak season. Contrary to some comments here, the deluxe room given to us was modern and obviously has been refurbished to a high standard. The lobby was kinda retro but looks ok for a 5-star hotel. I normally stay at Hotel Resort but was unable to get additional room there and had to resort to Highlands. We stayed in a deluxe twin on the 6th floor with a view. I would recommend Highlands to others provided the rooms are refurbished like the one I stayed in. There are decent restaurants around Genting Hotel next door and the price is more or less comparable to similar class in KL city.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yeechow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.2 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crockfords
Crockfords
#7 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxims

Property: Maxims
Address: Genting Highlands Resort, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia (Formerly Highlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maxims 5*
Number of rooms: 745
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impeccable service, a splendid array of dining venues and lively entertainment are some of the activities that are bound to make yours a pleasurable stay and enjoyable trip up at the peak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Maxims reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing