We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful First Night in Ireland!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilcornan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilcornan B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2008

This is an absolutely beautiful B&B! Caroline, her husband, and daughters were warm, helpful, and friendly. The working farm was a high point of my visit to Ireland. Afternoon tea upon our arrival and breakfast the next morning were homemade and delicious. An evening walk on the country road (after visiting the piglets and lambs one more time) made a great way to end the day. This is a favorite!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank CandiceMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 87 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2007

This is a great place to stay but it's very difficult to find if you're travelling from the Adare side. It's much easier if you go from the Askeaton side. Detailed maps are needed as there isnt much sign posting. It's also a good bit out of Adare.

The house, though, is lovely. Very quaint. There is nowhere else I've come across where you can get a room with four poster bed for 70 Euro b&b i.e. 35 per person. The breakfast is terrific and the sausages are their own. They have a little shop selling them. It was worth the detour really.

By the way, for electric shavers, there was no shaving point in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

This B & B set in a country side. It is however a bit difficult to find so make sure your get clear directions. The B &B is situated about 10 minutes outside of Adare. The rooms are well appointed and clean. Breakfast was realy good as it is made fresh from the farm products.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank NicoleTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

Most frustrating 1 1/2 hours of our entire vacation. My girlfriend and I had arranged to stay at Rigneys Farmhouse for 2 nights and were excited about the experience. We were running way behind schedule and called in the afternoon to tell them we wouldn't be in until approximately 10 that night. They assured us that was ok. The map and directions to this B&B are unusable. We drove through the woods and farmlands back and forth counting houses, retracing our steps, comparing houses with pictures I'd printed off of the B&B and nothing matched. We drove back to town and asked for directions and no-one had heard of the place but confirmed we were driving where their directions pointed us to. Again we drove out into the woods looking for a place that I'm not sure really even exists. Worst of all (and this is why I felt compelled to write this review) starting at exactly when we said we'd be arriving and for the next hour we called repeatedly to ask for help/ directions and they never answered the phone nor was there any sort of voicemail/ answering machine. Totally frustrated and now in danger of not having any place to stay we gave up and found the most wonderful B&B in Adare called Church View House run by a very sweet couple that made up for the awful experience with Rigney's Farmhouse. If you choose to stay here, please please confirm the directions and make alternative arrangements to contact them if you get lost. Better yet, just opt for one of the many beautiful B&B's in Adare vs completely out in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
4  Thank sofpilotuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

Rigney's Farmhouse was spectacular. We stayed here our first night in Ireland. The entire operation at Rigney's Farmhouse (from the bed and breakfast, to the farm, to their new farm shop) is a labor of love, and guests can tell. We were touched by Caroline Rigney's warmth and hospitality. Her homemade scones upon our arrival were delicious, as were the jams we were served, which a friend of hers makes. The rooms are reasonably priced (ours was 70 Euro per night for two people with breakfast), beautifully decorated, and private. We enjoyed the traditional Irish breakfast with homemade sausages and bacon. It was a truly relaxing stay, complete with a tour of the farm and the animals. We highly recommend this first-class establishment.

Web Address: www.rigneysfarm.com
Address: Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, Curraghchase, Kilcornan, Co.Limerick, Ireland

2  Thank cecilianoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maricata75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcornan
5.5 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
Adare Country House
Adare Country House
#1 of 19 in Adare
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hazelwood Country House
Hazelwood Country House
#1 of 1 in Cloonagulleen
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: Curraghchase, Kilcornan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Kilcornan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilcornan
Price Range: $35 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are right beside the beautiful Curraghchase Forest Park. In the West of Ireland, we are only 45 minutes from Shannon International Airport. GPS: 52°36'16.5"N 8°52'41.7"W Decimal Degrees: 52.604582, -8.878252 Our farm is home to happy, pasture-fed, rare-breed animals who live the way nature intended. Experience an Irish pastoral tradition that goes back centuries. Handmade on our farm, from pasture-fed, free range animals and free of artificial additives, our range of products have won many significant awards. When you have collected a just-laid hen's egg, cuddled a baby piglet, fed a pony, visited happy pigs in the field, you have an experience to treasure forever - tactile, genuine, sustainable, enriching, unforgettable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Kilcornan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing