We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, lovely country inn atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenmalure Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rathdrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenmalure Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Rathdrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely country inn atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay after walking from Glendalough on the Wicklow Way. The inn has a lovely tradional country pub atmosphere, our room was very comfortable with a queen and single bed and lots of room to get our gear dry. Best of all, the staff were exceptionally helpful. We needed to catch the 8.50 am train from Rathdrum in order to be at Dublin airport in time for an afternoon flight. There was no later train that would get us there on time, so we were a little anxious about making the connection. However Anne organised for us to have an early cooked breakfast, and then personally drove us to the train station. We were very gratefulfor all the help and friendly cooperation we received. We also found booking by email extremely easy with all our emails efficiently and helpfuly answered.The Lodge is also very conveniently located right on the Wicklow Way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karyl050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    38
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I Dont normally Review bars but was compelled to as i found the service very poor the owner Paddy left me waiting at the bar for 15min for a drink. The food was ok had the ham salad the apples and lettuce had seen better days. The outside service also was poor. Maybe everyone up there was suffering from sun stroke.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here just after Easter while in the area for a bit of walking. The location is lovely perfect for all levels of walking ability. The bar owner gave excellent advice on a route and provided us with a map of the area. The accommodation is basic but the adjacent bar is great. The food is of a very high standard for pub food. All in all we had a great night in this gem of a location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I was here with a group of friends recently for hill walking [we climbed Lug,Irelands 3rd highest mountain].The rooms are basic but clean and tidy with a powerful shower.
The guest house/pub is attached to a working farm so if you have a room at the rear,thats what you will see.
The food in the pub is of a very good standard and the beers including coors light on tap and delicious guinness are icy cold and perfect.
The staff here are wonderfull.
Though I'm rating this as very good,don't be expecting the ritz,it's an irish country style abode that does what it says on the tin well,place to stay.
It wouldn't be fair to compare it to high end accommodation,it's not trying to be that and doesn't need to be.It's low end in that respect but high on value and adequately comfortable.You won't have a phone or room service for example lol.
Expect as others said a nice home cooked style of breakfast which does the job for the mornings walk ahead.
Be warned though,there is absolutely no cell phone coverage/mobile phone coverage by any carrier in the area,so you will be isolated from the rest of the planet that way unless you use the pay phone.
In summary,I recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earthman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucan, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

After our 12km walk down from Glendalough we were happy to have beers and food in Glenmalure pub.
Welcoming place, filled with friendly local families, the waitress even sits a the table to take the order! Good atmosphere, genuine Irish country pub!
The menu is simple not overwhelmed by choices... All bit country heavy dishes but after a day walk you well deserve it! I had the Medallions of venison red wine, shallot & thyme sauce with veg and it was good price for the money in Ireland. Being french, you might find bit pricey but different country different prices...and its game food after all!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed weekend with a crew from work on a walkers outing. All had a great weekend , service fast & friendly. Menu u varied with outstanding value for money. A must is the venison sausage starter.
Guest house is clean, comfortable with piping hot water after a Lug summit assault. The bar is great craic.Will be back soon.
Thanks to all at Glenmalure Lodge for a superb memorable weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonytraffic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorneding, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We spent one night in Glenmalure Lodge what was really pleasure. A wonderful pub & restaurant with nice staff and really good food. The only big disqualification was the fact that while we were enjoying a nice cup of tea in the sunshine in front of the house, somebody (staff) started to burn rubbish behind the house. The smell and smoke was unbearable! And all that seemed to be habit. That's what the "fireplace" looked like. We complaint and the manager seemed to be embarrassed. It's not the 19th century anymore and burning plastic is an absolute nogo. Jochen

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathdrum
10.2 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
5.6 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.1 mi away
Riversdale House
Riversdale House
#1 of 2 in Glendalough Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
5.8 mi away
Stirabout Lane
Stirabout Lane
#1 of 7 in Rathdrum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmalure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmalure Lodge

Property: Glenmalure Lodge
Address: Drumgoff | Glenmalure, Rathdrum, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rathdrum
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing