We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Bates Restaurant

Bates Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Rathdrum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $139
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cumbria, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was recommended to this place by a local - tucked away down an alley - absolutely great meal - attentive staff - well worth the money. Will definitely return on our next stay in athdrum.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BanksCumbria_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    79
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunclody, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Have not visited this restaurant for some years, it's still as wonderful. Amazing varied menu that also suited every budget and appetite, will not leave it so long to revisit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathyB710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yummy”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Whilst on holiday in Rathdrum Co Wicklow Ireland, my husband and I went for a meal to Bates Restaurant. Recommended by the person we were staying with, we looked at the menu located outside, which to my surprise itemised all meals suitable for a coeliac diet, We went into the restaurant, which was quite small, but the tables were set out in a spacious way and it was very clean. Happily were able to book and offered several tables. I say this because Bates restaurant gets booked up, especially at weekend.
We arrived the following evening and were greeted with a friendly smile and words of welcome.After being shown to our table and given both drinks and food menus, the waitress took our drinks order and because my husband is not a wine drinker she arranged for a bottle beer to be served. Soon after the waiter came to take our food order. I explained I was on a gluten free diet, about which he was very knowledgeable and arranged an alternative to bread with the starter and suggested main courses which could be supplied to accommodate my requirements.
The kitchen was on view to the customers and the food was freshly prepared, I had poached pear, stilton and walnut starter, followed by Fresh Trout, Mediterranean vegetables and chunky chips, all of which were delicious and moorish. The menu was changeable in that I wanted chips instead of mash and hubby has vegetables instead of salad.
After being served with each course the staff were very attentive without being obtrusive. The whole dining experience was a pleasure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eveiepreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Best chowder!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent our holidays in the area and luckily found Bates Restaurant! We came twice and I always took the chowder and the squid ink spaghetti with king prawns. Everything was excelllent! Our kids enjoyed the kids meals and my husband took the fish, at One point the trout and was also thrilled. Best food, really. Unfortunately we are now back in Germany and won't be around so soon! Cheerio from 4 satisfied Germans!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great birthday dinner”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This just a nice stroll from hidden valley & the food was divine. When the waitress heard it was my wife's birthday, dessert arrived with a candle, we thoroughly enjoyed our night at Bates.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJ-arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bates Restaurant also viewed

 
Rathdrum, County Wicklow
 
Aughrim, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to Bates Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing