We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Cant fault the amenities and place is clean (we were there on a very busy and hot weekend) - Lots and Lots to do so the kids are always happy. Staff - Friendly and helpful. Camp-site. As mentioned previously it can be carnage if its busy - difficult to get a decent spot if you get there in the afternoon - quite like a festival with tents everywhere and no bathroom facilities on the tent side of the bridge. Saying that when the kids go to bed its a great atmosphere :) Kids already bugging me for a return visit so we booked a week :)

Room Tip: If you are tenting it on a weekend get there early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niallster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 361 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was soo happy to leave hidden valley. I stayed in the so called luxury cabins last Easter with my family and some friends. On arrival it had been snowing. Not only had the staff not even thought of trying to heat the cabin but I had to start cleaning certain areas( especially the bathroom). The entire cabin had only two very small electric heaters which never heated one room never mind the cabin. I stayed for 2 night cutting short my holiday as I just couldn't bear another night in the accommodation . Not much to do in rathdrum and travelled into Wicklow town on both days. Not luxury, not worth the money and would not recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ronald124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked in mid July for 2 nights but left by 5pm on day 1. The site was packed and looked like a festival without the music. In particular all tents were in a field with no structure or boundaries. You had to walk around a find a spot which took about an hour. Very stressful... like getting on to a Ryanair flight. We got to pitch, but the tents just kept coming surrounding us and boxing us in like sardines. It became impossible to haul the gear from the carpark 200m away, up and down 10 times and each time you arrived backed other tents were blocking your access to your tent. Had we stayed the night we were only inches from other tents. People had no respect for space but maybe they were stressed to pitch before there was no space at all. Management didn't bother patrolling to stop overcrowding. I feel profit was put before safety and comfort. Facilities were good and plenty of amenities, but it was very commercial rather than rural and raw. My complaint was received well and dealt with satisfactorily. For €40 per night and we had two families it was overpriced. Insist, if you are going to have a site off the field.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamoylanlynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights in a camper van. Can not fault anything about this campsite. Great location with lots to do for kids just a short drive away. Facilities are excellent. Staff very friendly and good with kids. Curfew is enforced which is great when you are away with small kids. A big thank you to management and all staff. We will definitely be back next year

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank niamhclaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just back from a BRILLIANT week camping! The kids had a BALL and were entertained all day every day! Couldn't fault the staff, always at hand to help you no matter what your query! The kids are already talking about going back next year! Thank you so much for a wonderfully memorable family holiday :o)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Walshym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just spent 5 days at this magnificent park and booked back in again for the BBQ day at the end of August before we left. On arrival to the park there is a barrier at the entrance and you must sign in at reception before entering. This was great to see considering our family with 5 kids. The staff were so friendly and the girl took us outside and pointed out all the facilities to us and answered all of our questions. We got our permit and drove back out the main entrance to the camping entrance. My kids were very excited to see that the camping area was next to the playgrounds, activities, food and movie area. I was delighted to see another gated entrance giving the park secure grounds.

The car park is in the middle of the camping area and once parked up families are able to choose where they want to put their tent. We picked a nice spot right in the middle. Over the next few days the kids ran wild with other kids they met playing in the free park on site. The activities were either free or very reasonably priced at just a euro or two. The kayaks and water boats were a hit for all of us with the warm temperatures. The river on the site was nice and shallow and great for the kids fishing with their nets and playing in the swim rings.

The town is within walking distance, but uphill nonetheless! Was good exercise I suppose!

We would highly recommend this park to families with children. You will not be bored and you will be so impressed with the cleanliness and amount of stuff to do. They have this place operating to perfection in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in May which is a quiet time anywhere really.
We were looking for somewhere for a short stay over one night and Hidden Valley sounded just like what we needed as it was less than one hours drive from the centre of Dublin.

On arrival we had a bit of a wait at the gate but there was upgrading work going on and and the staff were probably busy. We were then met by a friendly young lady who's name I forget but she told us what the park and the surrounding area had to offer.

We travelled in a campervan and chose a pitch beside the lake which we found very tranquil.

The site was very clean with a large shower/toilet block which also had a cooking and washing up area which can be very useful. Security appeared very good.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fortypence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rathdrum hotels
0.5 mi away
Stirabout Lane Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Birchdale House
Birchdale House
#6 of 7 in Rathdrum
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lettermore Country Home
Lettermore Country Home
#4 of 7 in Rathdrum
60 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coolalingo B&B
Coolalingo B&B
#5 of 7 in Rathdrum
32 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wilderness Lodge B&B
Wilderness Lodge B&B
#7 of 7 in Rathdrum
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Address: Rathdrum, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rathdrum
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Hotel Rathdrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing