We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be better....”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed for three nights over the June Bank Holiday weekend and was a bit disappointed. The area for tents is accessed by a back gate which leads you down to a parking area where the cars have to be left. This means that if the campsite is full - which it was - all of your gear has to be carried some distance across a car park to the pitch - have never experienced this before and have camped extensively both in Ireland and overseas. If the car park was properly marked itself, it might be an improvement but cars just parked everywhere and a lot of space was needlessly wasted.

The camp field itself is over a bridge from the main campsite so every time the toilet is needed there is a trek across the bridge - this is a pain in the neck when you have small ones needing to go several times a day. Really a toilet block on the tent side of the bridge is necessary both for this reason and to avoid having to queue for showers and sinks on busy weekends. There was only one tap evident on our side of the bridge - and ourselves and the neighbouring campers didn't find it till day two as it isn't signed. As for the ground itself, lots of small stones and very little grass, thankfully it was dry but it would have been a mud-bath if it had rained.

There are lots of activities which the kids enjoyed but I do think that €4 per child/ride is a lot when you have a few kids to keep entertained.

On the plus side:
The 11pm noise curfew is strictly enforced - great when you have small kids.
The toilets were regularly cleaned.
Staff were friendly and good with the kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    76
    36
    35
    26
See reviews for
231
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent 5 nights here last week in one of the log cabins. This is my dream holiday park and my 6 year old daughter and 69 year old mother both loved it too.

The log cabins are situated next to the lake away from the camping area and are extremely peaceful. They are of a high standard, tastefully furnished and have satellite TV/DVD if it does rain (which it didn't!). Really enjoyed eating outside - each cabin has it's own picnic table.

Barry, the owner, is extremely nice, funny and helpful and runs a tight ship. Any negative reviews really just reinforce what a great place this is for family holidays - presided over by someone who genuinely cares about providing what most families want - a safe, well run and peaceful holiday park.

The children's playground is every child's delight and my daughter was eager to get back to it at every opportunity. There was a whole host of activities available if wanted but we were too busy exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside this time (our first, but hopefully not last, visit).

Day trips to Brittas Bay (three miles of golden sand, completely undeveloped and unspoilt - very windy!), the stunning botanical gardens at Kilmacurragh, the gorgeous woodlands at Avondale House, cliff walk from Bray to Greystones - all a short distance away in every direction. Hidden Valley has a prime location.

Coming from England I felt overwhelmed by the warmth and sincerity of the local people and the beauty and tasteful understated development of the landscape. The only hard part was leaving.

Room Tip: We had Log Cabin No 7 - lovely location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojozara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to Hidden Velley for day trip with plans to stay for weekend in the near future and i have to say it was fantastic..Staff were lovely,more activities than we would have thought and a real family feel to the place..Wicklow is regarded as the garden of Ireland and Hidden Valley would be the perfect place to use as a base to explore Wicklow..We will definately be staying for a weekend maybe even a week

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank crashburns_raffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We are just back from a 3 night stay in hidden valley and we loved it. We have 2 girls who enjoyed their camping trip so much they want to know when they are going back! So we have booked to stay in July August and October. Thanks Barry and to Molly who made our stay a memorable one.. Regards Tara Byrne.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Glenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Very clean friendly an plenty of entertainment would definitely be back again! Stayed with friends for 3 day camping trip an the place did not disappoint loved it an without a doubt will recommend to all friends an family

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and kids enjoyed a wonderful weekend in the new RV. Plenty to do! The kids enjoyed the bumper boats, camp fires and playing with the other kids. Wife and I had a nice time on the bicycles. Town is close should you need something, like a beer! Highly recommend! Facilities were clean and the staff were more than friendly. Thanks Hidden Valley!!

Room Tip: If you are in camping in a tent arrive early and get a good spot. They go quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent another few days at Hidden Valley in April of this year and once again we were not disappointed. Friendly staff, lots of good activities for the kids, very clean site and clean toilets/showers. We will most definitely be back this season. Thanks again Hidden Valley

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiemcc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathdrum
6.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,006 reviews
7.4 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
0.8 mi away
Glenmalure Hostel
Glenmalure Hostel
#1 of 4 in Wicklow
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,014 reviews
10.0 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
678 reviews
7.4 mi away
No photo provided
Aughrim Holiday Village
#2 of 2 in Aughrim
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Property: Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Address: Rathdrum, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rathdrum
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hidden Valley Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Hotel Rathdrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing