We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just back from here and had a great time staff are helpful and seem to work non-stop will definitely go back. Despite the weather there was plenty for kids to do we especially loved lighting the camp fire at night to toast marsh mallows curfew is also great.

Michelle from Dublin

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us! Our curfew is in place so that people can have lots of fun during the day and a peaceful sleep at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 358 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

my family and I spent 3 nights camping at hidden valley and this is our review, due to the wet weather there was no shooting, archery, bungee jump or mini football only the playground for younger children was open, luckily my kids 11 and 13 brought their bikes with them, they enjoyed the canoes on the lake but no staff was supervising them. they played in the river just going in up to their knees. I was worried for children being sold rubber rings to play in the river with as I witnessed the water was flowing fast towards the weir. The campers kitchen was adequate and the hot water was free and charge of E1 for 20 mins to use a hot plate to cook. The curfew was imposed at 11pm which was good. The rubbish bins area was untidy and overflowing at times, the outdoor cafe sold a variety of food which we enjoyed. 6 mins for E1 in the shower,there was not enough showers to go around. toilets were smelly and untidy and sanitary bins overflowing and not enough toilets either so time it well before you go. nice location though..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazycamper_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We're happy to hear that you had a nice time and I will be happy to address some of your concerns. Most of our activities are open in the rain, however there are some activities that close when the rain is heavy or ongoing due to insurance purposes and safety. The inflatable swim rings are used for our lazy river, which is a supervised activity. It is at the discretion of the parents/guardians as to whether their children can use the rings on the river, at sea or another body of water. Our amenity block is cleaned non stop from 6 a.m. to midnight and checked on frequently through the middle of the night. I will share your comments with our cleaning staff as what you have described should not be occurring. We have a main shower block and also individual showers at the front of the amenity block. I think sometimes customers only see one and not the other. I will be sure to check on the signage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

There is lots for the kids to do on site although very weather dependent - a couple of changes of clothes are a must especially as you are not guaranteed to be able to dry clothes. The little cafe on site is handy for fast food, ice cream and drinks. We thought the noise curfew was a good thing and well policed so that the noise levels were fine for sleeping after 11 particularly as the site wakes up early in the morning. The biggest downside which was quite a surporise was the poor quality of the area for pitching tents which was very badly drained and quite stony so that it was dificult to find a plot where there weren't big puddles or swampy patches. It was also very very busy so the tents were very close together. The cleanliness of the toilet and shower areas also leaves a lot to be desired but we couldn't fault the staff/owners on that one because there seemed to be staff cleaning the area every time we passed.

Room Tip: Find out how many people are camping before you book. Over 50 tents and the place is too crowded. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gan_zDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review our park. Due to our location next to the river, the camping area has become quite stony. Over the past few months we have been re-draining the entire camping field and we will be bringing in new soil and re-seeding soon. We will be doing this in sections, so the camping field will still be available all times this season. I will be sharing your comments with our cleaning staff who, as you have mentioned, are cleaning around the clock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Folks being going camping for several years and this is a great place to go with the kids.It has a lot to keep the kids entertained for most of the day.The pitches are wide so plenty of room.They offer water sports,archery,shooting and have playgrounds for all ages.Mini football pitch and lazy river.We have two kids and they had a ball on all the stuff.You do however have to pay for some of the things about 2 euros.Toilets spotless .Well wort a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

just returned from a four night stay at hidden valley, pros are having the avonmore river running through the site, being able to light campfires by the lake, lots of facilities for children. Cons are there is a price to pay for everything, and the noise curfiew was over the top, we were told to keep it down when sitting in own tent chatting with children at 10.45, not making a drunken nusiance! we were though awoken at approx 6am though by other campers every morning! the ground is absolutely not suitable for tents if theres a downpour we had a day and night of heavy rain and the ground had puddles everywhere and didnt dry up by time we left 12pm the following day! our pegs and others were also badly bent. so too pricey and not suitable for tents and rude security regarding noise curfiew. not going to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarolineM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review. We are aware of the camping field becoming quite stony due to our location next to the river. We have re-drained the camping area the last couple months and we will be bringing in new soil and re-seeding this season. We hope you consider staying with us once again. We do have activities on site with a small fee as you mention, however we do have a lot of activities free a charge which include two playgrounds, slides, climbing net, football pitch, lazy river, swimming and fishing. We do feel that our prices are very fair for both camping and our activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I've just returned from the camp site after staying for 2 nights.We are a family of 5, with 3 young children....aged 7,5, and nearly 3.The site is very well run, with every member of staff working hard to make sure campers are happy.The entertainment for children up to 11-12yrs is excellent. A good variety of activities on-site, and the charges for certain activities is reasonable(check on-line for rates).The adventure playground is excellent, and the river provides plenty of entertainment in itself.There is plenty of room for the use of scooters, small bikes etc....so you could consider taking these along to.Plenty of space to pitch.....and strictly no cars allowed on the grass area, so safe for children to play beside the tents.The shower and kitchen areas are spotless.And the charge for good working showers and cookers are reasonable.The grounds are also very well kept.staff are friendly, laid back, yet hard working.The small town/village of Rathdrum, is perfect for picking up the essential's.It also has a bank.Areas locally worth a visit include Larragh, where children of all ages will love Clara Lara! Glendalough, and avoca, are a close drive.The only negative i would say is that the park is situated alongside a busy road.So if your camping your likely to hear a lot of traffic noise from early morning! campers/caravans are the other end of the park.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louth_magsN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here in our tent for 3 nights in mid july with our two children aged 6 and 2. I would highly recommend the park to families with children. There was so much for them to do and the fact that they can safely play in the river was a big hit with all the kids and their rubber rings. The playgrounds are excellent and the bumper boats are good fun, although beware of the water squirters. I would recommend if going with children to pack a wet suit or at least some old clothes/shoes as they will no doubt end up soaking wet, either in the lazy river or the river itself. The Park is very well maintained and the toilets/showers were always being cleaned/checked which was great. Showers were lovely and warm and dishwashing facilities were great. The owners and staff should be very proud of a very well run Park. A great holiday in a great Park - I even got some free ice-cream on my birthday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. A change of clothes is definitely recommended as we have a few water activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathdrum
12.2 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,089 reviews
14.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,056 reviews
10.0 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
547 reviews
6.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Address: Rathdrum, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rathdrum
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Hotel Rathdrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing