We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hectic monster campsite- not so Hidden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The changes to this site in the last 15 years since I last visited is phenomenal ! The site is massive now, packed to the rafters full of campers!
Cons
Not my ideal type of site, too big and too noisy, not enough facilities and the 5 showers for the whole site are a bit of a walk from the campsite. Que each morning for the shower so time it well.
Canoes can only be hired for an organized trip, unless your a child and want the tiny lake that an adult would look silly in.
Pros
Brilliant for kids with lots for them to do along and in the river.
You can light a campfire by the river and they have a noise curfew.
Lovely area with easy access to Glendalough and other points of interest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martine999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. In July/Aug especially the park is full of families with young children, so as a couple you would probably prefer a smaller park or an adult only campsite. We have lots of activities for children, however our adult activities would be limited to our kayak tour, cycle tour and bike hire. The kayak tour is a guided tour and for insurance purposes and safety we would not be in a position to let individuals paddle the river on their own. In addition to our shower block we have additional showers at the front of the amenity block that are missed. I will review our signage at our amenity block.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 360 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

was only going to stay for 2 nights but stayed for 3 as the kids had a great time and still didn't want to go home even thou the weather wasn't great but it was warm,kids played in the lake half the day and then played in the play ground ,fishing bumper boats and then off to the cinema for 7 ,and as your allowed have a fire on the lake bank they loved roasting there mallows ,all the people that work there are lovely ,going to book another stay soon thanks

Room Tip: centra is only 5mins away so you can cook fresh everyday if camping,lovely walk way beside the camp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had my first camping trip here this week,booked for 3 nights but stayed for an extra night,great staff,lovely family atmosphere,well behaved parents and kids,food from the little cafe was excellent,chicken curry to die for!!loads to do for kids,amazing playground,can't wait to go back,its a credit to the owners and the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank pauls1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights last week in a caravan.

As the school holidays had not yet started, the site was very quiet during our stay.

There is plenty on this site to keep the kids of all ages busy. The site itself is very well run, the caravan pitches are all hard-standing, each with its own water and drainage.

The camping area is across the footbridge beside the river. The toilets & showers are spotless.

The local shops, pubs and restaurants are about 10 minutes walk away but up a steep hill.

There is fishing available on-site with permits available in reception.

There are plenty of places to visit in the area within a short drive. Wicklow town is about 15 minutes drive away.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sombom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Hidden Valley is our home from home. At the moment we camp with our two children age 5 and 3. Our first stay for this season was the weekend before the June bank holiday. We had booked for 2 nights but ended up staying for four nights. The Children and parents enjoyed it so much we didn't want to go home. We think Barry and his son do a great job running the park. Barry talks to the children as well as the adults which is great for the Children. It makes them feel important.Park on all visits were very clean. This time we brought My sister in law and niece first time campers. My sister in law couldn't get over how clean everything was. Showers/toilets and park ground. She now has the camping bug. It broke my heart to see the tears in my 5 year old eyes as we left the park on Monday. She said I'm crying because I'm going to miss this place. Keep up the good work. We love your park. See you soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2A2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you had a nice holiday with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Myself and 20 of my family stayed here for the 2nd time June bank holiday weekend. We had a great time. Loads of things to do for the kids and even the big kids. We had a great time doing the Archery and the owners even organised a competition for our family. Supplying medals and a plaque for the winners.The setting of the park around the river is next to none, Really beautiful!!! The staff and owners can't do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay.The park is well ran and has great facilities. We will definitely be back again.

1  Thank Paulamarie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Hopefully you'll be visiting us again. Great to hear you had a brilliant time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We camped at hidden Valley for the first time this Bank holiday Saturday just passed. 4 families , 5 tents and a scary looking weather forecast. Our kids had a blast,There was an adventure park with slides and climbing frames, kayaking and bumper boats. The toilet blocks were very clean and I was pleased to find a whole dishwashing area and and a cafe.There were very big slides there and although when we stayed the sign said " please sit on sacks provided" there wasn't any sacks anywhere, as a result I saw a lot of children there and my own with grazes and burns.
Overall It was a lovely stay however heavy the rain was! Barry could not have been more helpful and thanks to Mr D for bringing us there!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pajo1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. For some reason our sacks go missing as soon as we put them out at the slides.... We think the kids think it's funny to hide them! Not sure how we'll fix that, however the slides can be used without them too. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rathdrum hotels
0.5 mi away
Stirabout Lane Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Birchdale House
Birchdale House
#6 of 7 in Rathdrum
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lettermore Country Home
Lettermore Country Home
#4 of 7 in Rathdrum
60 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coolalingo B&B
Coolalingo B&B
#5 of 7 in Rathdrum
32 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wilderness Lodge B&B
Wilderness Lodge B&B
#7 of 7 in Rathdrum
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Address: Rathdrum, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rathdrum
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Hotel Rathdrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing