We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fall River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My hubby and I spent a night here (we are from Halifax) for their couples special. What a wonderful spot. We spent a lot of time near the water then had a great meal in their restaurant. The room was spacious and comfy with a jacuzzi tub. The only complaint I had was with their shared balcony. There was absolutely NO privacy from our neighbours - no lattice, fake wall, plants - nothing, just a painted 2X4 separated our balconies. If they stood at the edge of the balcony they had a view right to our bed and vice versa. (not to mention their cigarette smoke drifted into our room). My suggestion would be to ask for a private balcony. Other than that no complaints!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Haligal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear 1Haligal,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ron Nelson

Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 281 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

While on a business trip this past August, 2013, I decided to bring my wife along and take an extra day to introduce her to this fantastic boutique hotel. I had stayed there the previous fall on a business trip while doing at installation near the airport.
I reserved a room with a 2 person jacussi and fireplace, with a balcony overlooking the pool and lake.
The staff throughout the hotel were fantastic in every way.
The small intimate pub is very cozy, and the restaurant serves a great meal. Only downside is the nearby highway, but you don't hear it in the room.
Unfortunately it was raining the entire evening so we were not able to wander around the beautiful property. We will definitely return on my next annual business trip to Halifax, a real gem of an inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solstice4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear solstice4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us for TripAdvisor. I appreciate your nice comments and I’m glad to read the highway did not bother you in your guest room. We look forward to your return next year and hopefully it will be nice weather so you can get a chance to enjoy the parklands.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place was so Beautiful and the rooms were so nice. We stayed for our mini Honeymoon and were so pleased.
We had a few little Hiccups when we arrived, But we were fixed up right away, staff were all very nice.
I highly recommend staying here and eating at their restaurant Encore.
The staff took our picture at the restaurant and gave us a card as a thank you and congratulations on getting married.

Room Tip: -go with the fireplace -the double tub in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virgogirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear virgogirl29,

Thank you for taking some time to write such a nice review for us on TripAdvisor. I’m very happy to read that you were pleased with the hotel, restaurant and our staff. Thank you for the kind comments and I’m happy that we played a part in making your mini Honeymoon a memorable experience. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a small "boutique" hotel with only 39 guest rooms, but you would never know it from the amenities. A great pub and fabulous restaurant. The grounds are gorgeous and immaculately kept. Everyone that worked there was friendly and very helpful. Just a wonderful stay. And a free shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Larry H,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on TripAdvisor. I’m very happy to read that you enjoyed our amenities, the grounds and our friendly staff. We are only a small boutique hotel but we strive to give our guests an experience that is so much more and it sounds like you enjoyed your time here. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you in the future should you ever come out this way again.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived from the West coast about 9:00pm just in time for fish and Chips at Oliver's Pub. Atmosphere, Service and food could not have been better. Had my first taste of Garrison's Irish Red Ale Draft which turned out to be my beer of choice for the next 7 days in Nova Scotia. A short distance by hotel van from the airport but so much more pleasant. Went back to the airport by van the next morning to pick up the rental car. The room was quiet and comfortable on the 3rd floor but the stairs were easy. Unfortunately after 9.5 actual hours of sleep (still can't believe it!) we had little time for what I had hoped would be a morning walk around the lake. The people at the front desk were extremely happy. The breakfast in the morning while not included was still exceptional and started us off nicely on our 7 day 1200 mile journey around beautiful Nova Scotia. A great, wonderful way to start our trip.

Room Tip: We really didn't mind the 3rd floor. Was very quiet. I don't know if there were any rooms lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HEH352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear HEH352,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on TripAdvisor. It sounds like overall you had a great stay at our hotel and I’m very happy we played a part in making your trip to Nova Scotia a good one. On your next stay we will gladly check to see if there are any rooms available with a better view of the lake. Thank you for the nice comments and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The accommodations were clean and the bed was comfortable.
The A/C in the restaurant was too cold to be a cozy place to dine, but the food is good. Quite far from downtown Halifax.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Hans R Belgie,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your comments are appreciated. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were pleased with the accommodations. I do apologize for the AC being a bit cold, with such high temperatures this summer we turn the AC on to keep our guests cool. Next time if you are ever uncomfortable, please let your server know and they will gladly adjust it to a level that is comfortable for all.

We find most of our guests enjoy the comfort and relaxation of being away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, yet being close enough to get there in just a 15 minute drive. We hope the distance doesn’t deter you from staying with us again. Thank you for the comments and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Any chance I get I enjoy stopping at the restaurants at Inn on the Lake. I have been there for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as brunch on the weekend. The meals ave always been delicious and the service very good. When the weather is nice they have a large patio area for eating outside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Phil F,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the nice comments. I am very happy to read that you have tried and enjoyed all aspects of our food service. Thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fall River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Bedford
#12 of 28 in Halifax
329 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: 3009 Highway 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Fall River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fall River
Price Range: $119 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shuttle Bus to/from Halifax Airport. Outdoor Parking, In-room coffee/tea, Newspaper except Sunday. Use of recreation facilities. Lounge/Bar, and Cocktail lounge. Volt 110-120AC. Restaurant, VCR-request, Limited handicap facilities. Drugstore nearby, Credit union - nearby, Hairstylist, Liquor Commission, Supermarket Services, Fax service, Maid service, Secretarial service, Luggage hold, Multilingual Staff, Room service - 7AM-10PM, Traveler's check cashing Safety, In-room sprinkler system, In-room heat/smoke detector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Fall River
Inn On The Lake Fall River, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing