We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Superior to Typical Airport Hotels”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fall River
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Much Superior to Typical Airport Hotels”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived from the West coast about 9:00pm just in time for fish and Chips at Oliver's Pub. Atmosphere, Service and food could not have been better. Had my first taste of Garrison's Irish Red Ale Draft which turned out to be my beer of choice for the next 7 days in Nova Scotia. A short distance by hotel van from the airport but so much more pleasant. Went back to the airport by van the next morning to pick up the rental car. The room was quiet and comfortable on the 3rd floor but the stairs were easy. Unfortunately after 9.5 actual hours of sleep (still can't believe it!) we had little time for what I had hoped would be a morning walk around the lake. The people at the front desk were extremely happy. The breakfast in the morning while not included was still exceptional and started us off nicely on our 7 day 1200 mile journey around beautiful Nova Scotia. A great, wonderful way to start our trip.

Room Tip: We really didn't mind the 3rd floor. Was very quiet. I don't know if there were any rooms lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HEH352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear HEH352,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on TripAdvisor. It sounds like overall you had a great stay at our hotel and I’m very happy we played a part in making your trip to Nova Scotia a good one. On your next stay we will gladly check to see if there are any rooms available with a better view of the lake. Thank you for the nice comments and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    89
    23
    6
    10
See reviews for
47
139
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belgie
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The accommodations were clean and the bed was comfortable.
The A/C in the restaurant was too cold to be a cozy place to dine, but the food is good. Quite far from downtown Halifax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Hans R Belgie,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your comments are appreciated. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were pleased with the accommodations. I do apologize for the AC being a bit cold, with such high temperatures this summer we turn the AC on to keep our guests cool. Next time if you are ever uncomfortable, please let your server know and they will gladly adjust it to a level that is comfortable for all.

We find most of our guests enjoy the comfort and relaxation of being away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, yet being close enough to get there in just a 15 minute drive. We hope the distance doesn’t deter you from staying with us again. Thank you for the comments and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Any chance I get I enjoy stopping at the restaurants at Inn on the Lake. I have been there for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as brunch on the weekend. The meals ave always been delicious and the service very good. When the weather is nice they have a large patio area for eating outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Phil F,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the nice comments. I am very happy to read that you have tried and enjoyed all aspects of our food service. Thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I highly recommend Inn on the Lake for a Halifax stay. I was here on business and it was so wonderfully situated between the office and the airport! The accommodations were clean and the bed was comfortable. The rooms were a tad outdated for what I'm used too, but I really didn't mind that at all. I think if the room I was in was a little more updated I would give this hotel a 5 star rating. I enjoyed walking down to the lake in the mornings and watching the birds! It was so peaceful.

Bonus for me was having a great restaurant located right in the hotel. I enjoyed eating in the lounge/bar area which was open late which was perfect for me after a long day at the office. It was great to be able to come back and enjoy a glass of wine and dinner.

If you want something more original than the typical chain hotel, Inn on the lake is for you. It's a great smaller hotel, with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Katybug2008,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us for TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. We are currently in the works of doing some upgrades to the hotel. We just replaced all of our linens, all of our rooms now have flat screen TV’s as well as microwaves and mini fridges. We are looking at adding some new artwork in the future. Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

from a romantic dinner to friends getting together, this place is elegant yet non judgmental atmosphere. You could be the best dressed or just grabbing some lunch. Everyone is so friendly and I have never had a bad meal there!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmYott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear EmYott,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us for TripAdvisor. If you are in a business suit or jeans, we want everyone to feel welcomed at the Inn and I am very happy to read that you felt that way. Thank you for the nice comments, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

For years, I have been travelling to Halifax and always wanted to stay at this Inn, but it was always more convenient to be in Halifax, never again!!

We arrived early, under estimated our travelling time and Sherri at the front desk was able to accommodate us very quickly. We had a beautiful room with a fireplace and a claw foot tub in the room. A beautiful view of the lake just made the room more inviting.

The hotel is very clean, in a great spot and the STAFF are amazing. We never met anyone who was ignorant or rude in any way. We had a great breakfast and continued on our way.

Thank you to the great staff and management for making our stay worth the trip. In the future we will not drive by!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a balcony....:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sillypeigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sillypeigal,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read that you were accommodated quickly, were pleasantly surprised, and overall had a great stay. I will pass your comments along to Sherri as well as the rest of the staff. Thank you for the nice comments and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There aren't many places that have the wonderful character of Inn on the Lake. A beautiful hotel that makes you feel like you are home. The food is outstanding in the restaurant or in the gastropub and the staff are second to none. I love the fact that it is a short drive from downtown Halifax or the airport but you feel like you are away on a retreat looking over the historic chain of lakes that lead into the Halifax Harbour. Great access to amazing biking and walking trails as well as to a lake where some of the world's best canoeists have trained over the years including Olympians: Karen Furneaux, Mike Scarola, Ann Dodge, Frank Garner and so many more.

Room Tip: Select one of the neat two story rooms that has your bedroom upstairs and your own private bar downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaRivardDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susannelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear JuliaRivardDexter,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate the exceptional comments. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ron Nelson
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fall River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: 3009 Highway 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Fall River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fall River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shuttle Bus to/from Halifax Airport. Outdoor Parking, In-room coffee/tea, Newspaper except Sunday. Use of recreation facilities. Lounge/Bar, and Cocktail lounge. Volt 110-120AC. Restaurant, VCR-request, Limited handicap facilities. Drugstore nearby, Credit union - nearby, Hairstylist, Liquor Commission, Supermarket Services, Fax service, Maid service, Secretarial service, Luggage hold, Multilingual Staff, Room service - 7AM-10PM, Traveler's check cashing Safety, In-room sprinkler system, In-room heat/smoke detector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Fall River
Inn On The Lake Fall River, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing