We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant place to dine and sleep for early morning flights but . . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fall River
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A pleasant place to dine and sleep for early morning flights but . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Only 12k from the airport. But the Inn needs to improve its maintenance. The cushion seat on the banquette in the dining room collapsed; the light bulb on one of the bedside lamps was dead; the 3:30AM wake up call never occurred; and the promised hotel bill under the door never appeared. Nevertheless, when I have another early morning flight, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidwelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheLakeOwner, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Mr. Welles

Thank you for staying with us and for your patience.

Our restaurant benches were built and installed by a talented local craftsmen. We were both surprised that one of the seat’s hardwood support blocks failed. We have checked the remaining blockings and found it to be an isolated incident.

Housekeeping routinely checks bedside lamps during the cleaning of a guest room. The bulb in the bedside lamp could have failed at any time but I have spoken to housekeeping about your experience and impressed upon them the need to check every detail in the guest rooms.

The front desk night attendant though she had placed a wakeup call to your room. Early express bills are placed under the guest’s door around 5:00AM. The attendant failed to connect the fact that you wanted a 3:30 AM call with the need to get your bill to you earlier. The attendant and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

We appreciate your feedback. Please contact me when you next visit so I can arrange a complimentary room upgrade upon your arrival.

Sincerely,
Ron Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    83
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
40
132
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Antigonish
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a nice getaway spot, and decided to try this spot, based on reviews I'd read on this site.
The staff was very friendly.
The property has been beautifully maintained or restored. Our room was very spacious, was clean, and well appointed, including an electric fireplace and jacuzzi. We also had a beautiful view of the lake. The mattress was very comfortable. Our room was queit, despite being close to the stairs.
We didn't try the restraurant or lounge, but did look in them, and they looked nice.
We'll definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We tried driving home to Cape Breton from Halifax on Friday Jan 20th just as the snow and wind started. By the time we got to Fall River, it was clear the storm was getting worse and being on the road was foolish. We had always wanted to try the Inn on the Lake so headed off the highway. The Inn was a lovely, quaint place with friendly staff and two choices of restaurants - a pub and a dining room, both serving wonderful food. We were upgraded to a lovely corner room with a fireplace and a jacuzi. After the storm blew over, we took a pleasant walk around the property to the gazebo by the lake with the crisp new snow underfoot. It must be beautiful there in the summer and fall.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Programs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We live in the area and often dine at Inn on The Lake and stayed once several years ago so we thought it would be a good choice for New Years Eve. When we made the reservation we asked for a room not on ground level we were told no problem. When we checked in we were given Room 105 on the ground floor and could not be changed due to full occupancy. The room was well worn and dated, we could not use the jacuzzi because the water was brown and there was no hot water. We decided to return home to dress for dinner. Dinner was alright , we've always been pleased with the food at Inn on The Lake. We feel that for a total bill of $500.00 for the room , dinner and drinks we did not get value for our money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hhunter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheLakeOwner, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Hhunter55

Thank you for joining us New Year’s Eve. I and our staff were surprised to learn through Trip Advisor that we did not meet your expectations. I wish you had notified us of our short coming during your visit so that we could have dealt with it in a timely manner.

To gain better understanding of the events of that evening I have spoken to most of the staff you came in contact with:

• Terezija who took your reservation on December 8th recalls that you did not specify a floor preference until you checked in on the 31st. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked at that point and she could not move you.

• Tawnya & Lori who served you in Oliver Gastro Pub and Encore Fine Dining recall that you seemed happy with their service, the drinks, wine and Chef Roger’s five course meals, both were very appreciative of your generous gratuity,

• Lee Ann, our front desk agent, recalls that you indicated your stay was fine when she checked you out on the 1st

I just inspected room 105: the carpets, draperies and furnishings are all in excellent condition. The bathroom and in-room double jacuzzi tub appeared to be well maintained and in good working condition. All the linens were replaced this summer. The only item in the room that could use upgrading is a late model large screen TV which is scheduled to be replaced with a wall mounted swivel flat screen model.

You were the only guests that indicated there was a problem with the water. The Inn was fully booked that evening and both Oliver’s and Encore were very busy - we went through a lot of hot water, so perhaps you encountered a brief shortage.

You have enjoyed the Inn in the past and we wish to preserve that relationship. Please contact me so we can resolve this matter.

Yours sincerely,
Ron Nelson
Innkeeper
Inn on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Really nice room with King Size bed, flat screen TV, fridge and view of the water. Only downside... why do so many hotels have wide screen TVs but not offer HD programming???

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Had a great time. Needed a little break, so I went by myself for a night. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a nice room with a king size bed, patio, electic fireplace and a big jacuzzi tub. Very good food at their restaurant. Enjoyed every moment of it and next time I might just bring my boyfriend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here for a week in October. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, and had a homey feel. There were several different styles of rooms and suites, and although the decor was dated in many of the rooms, it was far more inviting than the Hilton or Holiday Inn in the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the grounds were well tended. There is a restaurant and a pub on the premises, with very good food and a warm atmosphere in both. I have stayed at the Hilton and Holiday Inn Express in the area, and my stay at the Inn on the Lake was by far the best experience. The only thing missing was an elevator.

Room Tip: If you have the budget, look at the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fall River
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: 3009 Highway 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Fall River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fall River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shuttle Bus to/from Halifax Airport. Outdoor Parking, In-room coffee/tea, Newspaper except Sunday. Use of recreation facilities. Lounge/Bar, and Cocktail lounge. Volt 110-120AC. Restaurant, VCR-request, Limited handicap facilities. Drugstore nearby, Credit union - nearby, Hairstylist, Liquor Commission, Supermarket Services, Fax service, Maid service, Secretarial service, Luggage hold, Multilingual Staff, Room service - 7AM-10PM, Traveler's check cashing Safety, In-room sprinkler system, In-room heat/smoke detector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Fall River
Inn On The Lake Fall River, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing