We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property; best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Porto Marina Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in El Alamein
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice property; best value for money”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I just got one day and night to spend in this hotel during an official trip. So could not make use of the amenities on offer. However, enjoyed a nice sea side dinner, a walk through the beach etc. There are many small shops and eataries (such as Chilleies) available inside the premises. The breakfast was also good. Rooms were well maintained. the hotel is built on venician concept of marina and a canal flowing across.
May be due to the season I travelled or the current situation in Egypt, I saw very less number of guests in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hari1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    111
    71
    38
    55
See reviews for
398
54
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

At first i was so excited to go to that spa and resort of what i heard of it, as a lively place full of people, i went to February during the mid term vacation expecting to have a lot of fun, but unfortunately i found it like a city of ghosts, almost empty , no people, no shops, nothing.......i knew afterwards that i came in the low season, of course the price was 40% of the price in the high season but no fun, the beach is narrow if you like swimming. the electricity had blacked out twice during our stay, (expenses reduction policy) the open buffet breakfast on the third day was canceled too. i enjoyed my stay anyway. but wasn't happy with being so lonely . the service is good and i enjoyed the promenade. i think next time i will come in the high season only

Room Tip: Never come in low season, high season only during June to October , rooms from 1211 to 1217 don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samerelsayary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is supposed to be a 5* hotel but it is not. It has all the prerequisites but is let down by its management and its infrastructure. The rooms are large and airy but not soundproofed so that when TV's are turned on, furniture moved around and cupboards opened and closed it can clearly be heard next door.
The booking office does not follow instructions and we were given 2 twin rooms insread of a double and a twin. Then the double was not ready ("sorry we do not have a double" was the first response, followed by "the beds are close together"). Once in the room we found that there was no electricity working. When we complained we were told that there was an electricity card (anyone of the door keys) and that had to be inserted. When we replied that we had were asked if we were sure (talk about condescending). Once a maintenance man had climbed onto a tall ashtray and lifted a roof panel to re-set the trip switch, we found that they had only supplied us with one bath towel and no slippers or bath-robes as stated in their details. These eventually arrived after once more being told that the other room had been prepared for us. After supper we found out that neither bathroom had a working plug for the bath; one was missing and the other was too big. Maintenance tried to reconnect the plug to its chain rather than fix the problem, so we sent them away.
Breakfast was great except that the large number of staff were primarily concerned with talking to each other rather than serving the customers. I had to serve us coffee and Tea twice and the chef had to be called from the kitchen to prepare my omelette (I had to wait quite some time to be served and the chef had to be sent for).
The lift to our floor could not open as the outside door on the floor was buckled and dented, which meant it could not be used but there were no notices to this effect.
We have complained but management would prefer us to name names so that they can blame someone else rather than take responsibility for their ineffectiveness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A hotel with a lot of potential with a lovely location as it is modelled on Venice around a marina and canals. Should be 5 star but severely let down by poor service and bad maintenance in all many areas. The room was not as we asked and was not ready; we had to ask for -electricity to be switched on in part of the room; towels; toiletries; plug for the bath which was actually never fixed. The lift got stuck due to a problem with the door which was not notified. Most of the hotel was closed up as we expected but some public places had no lighting. Other guests were very noisy at night. All in all a sleepless night in a poor hotel! Not impressed and will not be recommending!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
جدة, المملكة العربية السعودية
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

this is really agreat hotel ,the rooms were clean ,spacios and equiped with coffe maker and ironing. some are over looking a small lagoon with gondola small boats
mostly like the Vinetian in Las Vegas. its a huge resort .full of many atrractions nice Rests. like chillies and alan le notre. It is 65km far from borg al Arab air port. and rental cars companies don,t exist at the airport you have to hire a taxi which will cost around 60us dollars. but you still need a car to move around. most importantly never go there till the season begin ,it starts in May and ends by the end of August. we went in 11 of November( for business) and there was only 3 families . We had to leave the next day.

Room Tip: never go there before May.till August .by then it will be crowded.so higher floors shoul be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44fawzia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Oct 2012. Whilst the apartment was average-to-nice, it looked nothing like the pictures of the rooms as advertised at booking time. Spacious grand looking master bedroom didn't exist. Four poster king bed not there either. Air con didn't cool and showers had no screens or soap holders. I wanted this to be special for my elderly parents but was quite disappointed. Seven of the ten restaurants were shut and it was a 10min hike each way from our Tower #8 apartment to the restaurants and reception. Hard on the oldies. Some goose bashed holes in concrete for two days which echoed through the whole building.
Food was good. Service was fair. Cleanliness also good. View of marina was sensational. No grog in whole place. Not a drop. Disaster!
All up, I couldn't recommend it at all.

Room Tip: Don't go by advertised pictures. It's a con job. Verify with hotel in writing before booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasser Y, General Manager at Porto Marina Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you for sending an email to us. We truly appreciate customers who take the time to let us know about their experiences with our Resort & spa. I am very sorry to hear of your recent disappointment in our appartment service. We assure you that customer satisfaction is our top priorty and we want the service at our appartment to reflect that principle. I can certainly understand the frustration and disappointment you had with having to wait so long and then not having the quality sitting you are entitled to. On behalf of Porto Marina management please, accept my sincerest apologies. I am confident that a future visit to our Resort will better reflect our commitment to cutomer satisfaction. Please, don't hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canakkale, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Porto Marina is a very strange place. It's huge - ridiculously long corridors (make sure you get a room near the lobby) - and is very oddly decorated - like it had ten different designers, none of whom spoke to each other. But the rooms are large, clean, well appointed and comfortable. Basically it's a summer resort for Egyptians (so it's alcohol-free - no big deal for me). The desk staff are well-meaning but pretty hopeless administratively (they screwed up a double-booking for a travelling companion and then declined to pay a refund). But it's cheap, handy for the Alamein battlefield and probably the best option if you're going that way. The restaurants are acceptable - we ate in the Studio Misr twice and found it reasonable both in quality and price. In summer (July-August) the place is very crowded, and pricey, apparently, but in October guests were scarce.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby, otherwise you'll walk for hundreds of metres - the rooms are stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Alamein
28.3 mi away
Rixos Alamein
Rixos Alamein
#2 of 9 in El Alamein
177 reviews
13.6 mi away
Aida Beach Hotel
Aida Beach Hotel
#7 of 9 in El Alamein
102 reviews
4.7 mi away
Porto Marina Golf Resort
Porto Marina Golf Resort
#3 of 9 in El Alamein
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Al-Alamein Hotel
Al-Alamein Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sidi Abdel Rahman
61 reviews
3.0 mi away
Marseilia Aqua Park
Marseilia Aqua Park
#1 of 2 in El Alamein
1 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Dome- Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Marina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Marina Resort & Spa

Property: Porto Marina Resort & Spa
Address: Km 105 Alexandria/Marsa Matrouh Road, El Alamein 5615, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Matrouh Governorate > El Alamein
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in El Alamein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Marina Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Service apartments are managed by Porto world Hotels & Resorts. Any other apartments rented through 3rd parties are not under the hotel liability and responsibility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Porto Marina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Marina Resort And Spa
Porto Marina Hotel El Alamein
Porto Marina Resort & Spa Egypt/El Alamein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing