We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble for the owner and the staff.”
Review of Il Nido dell'Etna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Nido dell'Etna
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Linguaglossa
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing was too much trouble for the owner and the staff.”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Everything was well-organised, the owner had replied positively and courteously to our initial email enquiries, the rooms entirely lived up to the photographs on the hotel's website and everything functioned perfectly. The restaurant served a simple but elegant table d'hote menu which changed each evening. Breakfast was also of a high quality: perhaps an improvement could be made there by offering fresh orange juice and leaving cold milk available for cereal without having to request it. Plus a better variety of cereals -muesli/branflakes, for example, would please many guests. Other than that minor criticism, we thought the service and friendliness of the staff was impeccable and we have already recommended this hotel to fellow golfers from our golfclub in Malta. It is about 10 minutes drive or less to Il Picciolo Golf Course.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverleyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    45
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
78
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed at Il Nido for a week over Easter Mar/Apr 2010 and used it as a base to explore most of central and eastern sicily.
The staff are very helpful and attentive. Special thanks to Luigi, Maria, Angela and Carmen who all made us feel very welcome and comfortable, particularly travelling with two little children.
We loved the food in the restaurant, always taking the option for the Chef's recommendation for the day. Great value too.
We spent a lot of time in the local towns and without exception were always made to feel welcome and despite limited Italian language skills on our part, this wasn't a problem.
Our advice, if staying anywhere really in Sicily is to have your own transportation, but the Italian driving experience added to the fun for us.
We would readily recommend this hotel to any of our friends and family.
Daniel and Shelley

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2009

During our stay of five days the hotel felt like home. A modern, beatifully furnished hotel with good rooms and beds. The staff was very friendly, competent , spoke their languages (german, english ) very well and provided advice ontrips to make.
A good cook made us long for the dinner after a long day walking on Mount Etna. Also breakfast was well cared for.
It is a perfect place from where we could explore the surounding countryside (Mount Etna ) or visit the nearby highlights (Taormina ...) .
It is one of the best hoyels we stayed in during our two week travel in Sicily

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gejo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Il NIdo was definitely a treat during our 5 1/2 weeks in Italy. As I gushed over the design and decor owner Luigi was quick to point out that his beautiful wife Valentina's touch was apparent throughout the hotel including their lovely restaurant where the food is delicious and artistically presented.

We initially stayed 4 nights. Each morning we awoke to a blue sky dominated by an imposing view of snowcapped Mt. Etna. While at Il NIdo we explored Mt. Etna two days, spent a full day in Taormina and discovered other small towns in the area. The entire staff was most attentive and Carmen was particularly knowledgeable in helping us plan our adventures.

After visiting other parts of Sicily for a week we could not wait to return to Il Nido for a perfect weekend. I participated in a two day cooking class, Menu di Natale, offered at the hotel and my husband golfed. The cooking classes culminated with a fabulous Pranzo di Natale complete with a table decorated for Natale and enjoyed by class participants, spouses and friends...We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse,NY
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We visited Linguaglossa from upstate New York in USA to find relatives we had never met before. We not only found them, but they gave us a lovely, delicious dinner in the restaurant of our hotel. Il Nido dell'Etna's friendly, efficient staff even helped us with arrangements for all the activities planned by our family, and helped translate for us every time we needed them. We were originally going to stay in Taormina, and are so glad that we chose to stay in Linguaglossa instead in a much quieter, relaxing atmosphere. The hotel was perfect - intimate, clean, comfortable, delicious food, first-rate staff. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogmom714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2009

i stayed with my husband for four days in this wonderful hotel. the staff was so helpfull and nice, breakfast was among the best i ever witnessed in italy. i loved everything in this hotel, from the very nice room and comfortable bed, to thestylish interior.
i hope we"ll have the chance to go back...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadine_napalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I stayed at the Il Nido dell'Etna for a night on a bicycle trip with my wife and three friends going around Etna and the neighborhood. I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the management. This hotel is a family business (the owner living on the top floor) and this shows in the atmosphere, I didn't feel like a hotel guest but more like a 'house guest' .

The hotel was very well kept, clean with elegant and modern interior and rooms. The bed was especially nice and in general of the five hotels I stayed in on this trip the Nido dell'Etna had absolutely the best room and hotel interiors.

The location is a bit mundane, no great or views or such. On the plus side it's very near Linguaglossa centre, just two-three blocks away.

The hotel also arranged for us an excursion to the nearby wineyard of Don Saro (they supply wine for the hotel). We cycled there with the hotel owner showing us the way in his car :). Good fun, big thanks for that!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linguaglossa
1.1 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mareneve Resort
Mareneve Resort
#2 of 4 in Linguaglossa
91 reviews
2.5 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
109.6 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,733 reviews
56.9 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido dell'Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido dell'Etna

Property: Il Nido dell'Etna
Address: Via G. Matteotti | Corner Via Livatino, 95015 Linguaglossa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Linguaglossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Linguaglossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido dell'Etna 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Il Nido dell'Etna" is a 3 star Hotel and is situated in the characteristic village of Linguaglossa, in the centre of "Parco dell'Etna". The hotel is new and has 18 rooms with balcony, a restaurant for 50 people, bar, meeting-room from 10 up to 80 people, garden, billiard-room, ski-room, bike room and private garage. It's possible to book excursions on the Etna Volcano and in the most beautiful corners of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Il Nido dell'Etna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Dell'Etna Linguaglossa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing