We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Nido dell'Etna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Nido dell'Etna
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Linguaglossa
Certificate of Excellence
brussels
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

i stayed with my husband for four days in this wonderful hotel. the staff was so helpfull and nice, breakfast was among the best i ever witnessed in italy. i loved everything in this hotel, from the very nice room and comfortable bed, to thestylish interior.
i hope we"ll have the chance to go back...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadine_napalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    44
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
76
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

I stayed at the Il Nido dell'Etna for a night on a bicycle trip with my wife and three friends going around Etna and the neighborhood. I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the management. This hotel is a family business (the owner living on the top floor) and this shows in the atmosphere, I didn't feel like a hotel guest but more like a 'house guest' .

The hotel was very well kept, clean with elegant and modern interior and rooms. The bed was especially nice and in general of the five hotels I stayed in on this trip the Nido dell'Etna had absolutely the best room and hotel interiors.

The location is a bit mundane, no great or views or such. On the plus side it's very near Linguaglossa centre, just two-three blocks away.

The hotel also arranged for us an excursion to the nearby wineyard of Don Saro (they supply wine for the hotel). We cycled there with the hotel owner showing us the way in his car :). Good fun, big thanks for that!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Illi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

Il Nido Dell'Etna is a brilliantly decorated hotel with good views of Etna. Our room was very nice and came with a small balcony. The bed was comfortable, but the shower was not. (The bathroom was poorly laid out, in contrast with the neatness that characterises the rest of the place.) We enjoyed a quality breakfast served in pleasant outdoor surroundings, although variety was limited, especially on the savoury side. The English-speaking staff was very helpful and polite. We did, however, experience two jolts during our stay: an unexpected demand to pay for the room up front, and a cleaner who could not accede to our request to wait a few minutes for our departure before proceeding with making up our room. Luigi, the owner, was genuinely apologetic about the latter issue, and tried his best to explain the former. His efforts made us feel welcome and were indicative of the ethos of this family-run business. Overall, Il Nido Dell'Etna is a good option for Etna visitors with their own means of transportation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dimik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

I agree with an earlier review. This hotel is lovely but - in February at least - the town is quite limited other than as a base for Mount Etna. The staff were helpful, the decor exceptionally modern for a reasonably-priced Sicilian hotel, the rooms small but clean with a good bathroom. The food in the restaurant was delicious. An ideal base for a few days on Etna.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mijdrecht
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

Only one thing to say: great hotel.
The staff is really nice and helpfull, breakfast en dinner were great, room was clean and had enough towels.

  • Liked — Really great view
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Piekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

Staying in Linguaglossa, a typical Sicilian town at Etna's foot, is convenient if you would like to visit most of Eastern Sicily's beauties. Besides this, Il Nido dell'Etna offers modern & comfortable rooms (with air conditioning), a fantastic restaurant with terrace (serving delicious Sicilan cuisine), a breakfast buffet with a wide variety of cakes/bread/fruit/etc.., an elegant hotel lobby, and - last but not least - very qualified & pleasing staff who, together with the owner, really takes care of the guests.
This hotel is definitely one of Sicily's jewels!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank etna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

Recently returned from a 2 week stay in Italy. We stayed at Il Nido Dell'Etna for one night while visiting Mt. Etna. It is a beautiful hotel nestled in the mountains in the little town of Linguaglossa, Sicily. The Hotel is only a few years old, therefore having all the amenities that we are used to in the United States. The rooms were very clean and were a nice size as well as the bathrooms. Our room also had a great view of Mt. Etna from the balcony. There is air conditioning, mini bar and safe in the rooms. There was also internet service in the hotel lobby, as well as a bar and restaurant. . Luigi, the owner was very accommodating as well as the staff. We had eaten at the hotel restaurant that night because we had checked in later than expected and were too tired to walk into town. I have to say that it was one of the best meals we had on our entire vacation. The owner was kind enough to keep the restaurant open while we checked in and freshened up. The owner was also kind enough to show us a DVD in the hotel lounge about Mt. Etna so we could plan our next day out. Breakfast as well was fantastic. It was a continental breakfast with many choices. We chose this hotel because it was about 40 minutes from Taormina and about 20 minutes from the north side of Mount Etna, Piano Provenzano. If I am ever in the area again I would definitely revisit this hotel.

  • Liked — location and condition of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachloverNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linguaglossa
0.6 mi away
Mareneve Resort
Mareneve Resort
#3 of 4 in Linguaglossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.5 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
109.6 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
10.5 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 5 in Zafferana Etnea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
16.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
#1 of 1 in Viagrande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido dell'Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido dell'Etna

Property: Il Nido dell'Etna
Address: Via G. Matteotti (angolo via Livatino), 95015 Linguaglossa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Linguaglossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Linguaglossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido dell'Etna 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Il Nido dell'Etna" is a 3 star Hotel and is situated in the characteristic village of Linguaglossa, in the centre of "Parco dell'Etna". The hotel is new and has 18 rooms with balcony, a restaurant for 50 people, bar, meeting-room from 10 up to 80 people, garden, billiard-room, ski-room, bike room and private garage. It's possible to book excursions on the Etna Volcano and in the most beautiful corners of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Il Nido dell'Etna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Dell'Etna Linguaglossa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing