We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option for Etna visitors”
Review of Il Nido dell'Etna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Nido dell'Etna
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Linguaglossa
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good option for Etna visitors”
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Il Nido Dell'Etna is a brilliantly decorated hotel with good views of Etna. Our room was very nice and came with a small balcony. The bed was comfortable, but the shower was not. (The bathroom was poorly laid out, in contrast with the neatness that characterises the rest of the place.) We enjoyed a quality breakfast served in pleasant outdoor surroundings, although variety was limited, especially on the savoury side. The English-speaking staff was very helpful and polite. We did, however, experience two jolts during our stay: an unexpected demand to pay for the room up front, and a cleaner who could not accede to our request to wait a few minutes for our departure before proceeding with making up our room. Luigi, the owner, was genuinely apologetic about the latter issue, and tried his best to explain the former. His efforts made us feel welcome and were indicative of the ethos of this family-run business. Overall, Il Nido Dell'Etna is a good option for Etna visitors with their own means of transportation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    45
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
78
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I agree with an earlier review. This hotel is lovely but - in February at least - the town is quite limited other than as a base for Mount Etna. The staff were helpful, the decor exceptionally modern for a reasonably-priced Sicilian hotel, the rooms small but clean with a good bathroom. The food in the restaurant was delicious. An ideal base for a few days on Etna.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mijdrecht
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Only one thing to say: great hotel.
The staff is really nice and helpfull, breakfast en dinner were great, room was clean and had enough towels.

  • Liked — Really great view
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Piekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Staying in Linguaglossa, a typical Sicilian town at Etna's foot, is convenient if you would like to visit most of Eastern Sicily's beauties. Besides this, Il Nido dell'Etna offers modern & comfortable rooms (with air conditioning), a fantastic restaurant with terrace (serving delicious Sicilan cuisine), a breakfast buffet with a wide variety of cakes/bread/fruit/etc.., an elegant hotel lobby, and - last but not least - very qualified & pleasing staff who, together with the owner, really takes care of the guests.
This hotel is definitely one of Sicily's jewels!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank etna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Recently returned from a 2 week stay in Italy. We stayed at Il Nido Dell'Etna for one night while visiting Mt. Etna. It is a beautiful hotel nestled in the mountains in the little town of Linguaglossa, Sicily. The Hotel is only a few years old, therefore having all the amenities that we are used to in the United States. The rooms were very clean and were a nice size as well as the bathrooms. Our room also had a great view of Mt. Etna from the balcony. There is air conditioning, mini bar and safe in the rooms. There was also internet service in the hotel lobby, as well as a bar and restaurant. . Luigi, the owner was very accommodating as well as the staff. We had eaten at the hotel restaurant that night because we had checked in later than expected and were too tired to walk into town. I have to say that it was one of the best meals we had on our entire vacation. The owner was kind enough to keep the restaurant open while we checked in and freshened up. The owner was also kind enough to show us a DVD in the hotel lounge about Mt. Etna so we could plan our next day out. Breakfast as well was fantastic. It was a continental breakfast with many choices. We chose this hotel because it was about 40 minutes from Taormina and about 20 minutes from the north side of Mount Etna, Piano Provenzano. If I am ever in the area again I would definitely revisit this hotel.

  • Liked — location and condition of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachloverNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We stayed at Il Nido Dell’ Etna in May 2008 and found it to be a great place. The hotel is located on the edge of Linguaglossa, a small town on the slopes of mount Etna) and has panoramic views of Mount Etna (which obliged with some minor pyrotechnics during our stay!), it has easy parking and is within walking distance of the centre of Linguaglossa.

The hotel is approximately 3 years old and was purpose built to a high standard – our rooms were well designed and nicely decorated. The food was consistently good, continental breakfasts and optional evening meals including a range of local dishes. The staff were without exception helpful and friendly, especially the owner Luigi who went out of his way to help us organise the local activities we wanted during our stay. We arranged to go quad biking using one of Luigi’s local contacts – he was also able to offer other options we didn’t take up including visiting the local vineyards and golfing.

Linguaglossa is not a major tourist centre, and public transport links are limited (some buses and the Ferroviacircumetna train) but it is within easy driving distance of the Mount Etna national park, Taormina and the coast. We flew into Catania and had pre-arranged a transfer via the internet (Shuttles Direct) – this worked really well with the driver waiting for us when we arrived and being at the hotel in good time for the transfer back at the end of our stay. Our impression was that this was also a cheaper option than picking up a taxi at the airport. We also used a hire car – as a UK driver I was apprehensive regarding driving in Sicily but found the Autostrada and roads outside of the towns to be quiet and the driving much easier than expected – we didn’t however brave the main towns or busy areas!.

In Linguaglossa we found good pizza and local wine at Pizza Antonio (Via San Nicola) – a genuine Italian family restaurant offering great quality at very good prices; also very good Sicilian food and excellent wine at Ristorante Boccaperta (http://www.ristoranteboccaperta.com) on Via Umberto. If you want to picnic there are a number of great delis on Via Umberto selling local bread, cheese, ham and olives plus excellent fresh fruit and vegetables.

We visited Taormina a couple of times, it’s quite a contrast to Linguaglossa, being much more of a tourist centre. It’s more vibrant, with many more shops, restaurants and cafés but as you would expect its also more expensive. A trip to the amphitheatre is well worthwhile, to see both the building and the setting.

Highlights of our trip were walking and quad biking on the edges of the Etna National Park, taking a trip to the summit of Mount Etna from Piano Provenzana and relaxing in Taormina.

In summary; Il Nido dell’Etna is a great hotel which offers high quality service and accommodation with friendly and helpful staff and is Linguaglossa is great base for visiting Etna and the surrounding areas. The town gives a feel for the real Sicily - but to get the best from the area you really do need a car.

  • Liked — helpfulness of staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank edandsarahengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

The place was wonderful, the food great, and lots of it, and the manager couldnt be more helpful. Great view of the mountain too.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable, good food
  • Disliked — tv italian only, but not a problem
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linguaglossa
1.1 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mareneve Resort
Mareneve Resort
#2 of 4 in Linguaglossa
99 reviews
2.5 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
10.5 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
827 reviews
16.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
#1 of 1 in Viagrande
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido dell'Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido dell'Etna

Property: Il Nido dell'Etna
Address: Via G. Matteotti | Corner Via Livatino, 95015 Linguaglossa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Linguaglossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Linguaglossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nido dell'Etna 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Il Nido dell'Etna" is a 3 star Hotel and is situated in the characteristic village of Linguaglossa, in the centre of "Parco dell'Etna". The hotel is new and has 18 rooms with balcony, a restaurant for 50 people, bar, meeting-room from 10 up to 80 people, garden, billiard-room, ski-room, bike room and private garage. It's possible to book excursions on the Etna Volcano and in the most beautiful corners of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Il Nido dell'Etna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Dell'Etna Linguaglossa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing