We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gambino Winery

Gambino Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.67*
and up
Wine Tasting and Village Tour from Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: On the eastern side of the Etna volcano, in the woods of the National Park and facing the sea of Taormina, the Gambino vineyards are a pleasure for your senses and for your heart. A Pleasure for your sight, because they represent one of the best models of Etna vineyards of high altitude: in an exclusive natural environment, at 800 meters above sea level, the vineyards lay on sunny and airy terracing that have a breathtaking panorama. A pleasure for your sense of smell, for the unmistakable perfumes of the volcano vegetation. A pleasure for your heart, because the vineyards and wine are great passion that, for over twenty years, involves and guides the Raciti Gambino family.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Truly picturesque, a pristine spot in the Etna countryside. A selection of excellent wines and delicious food complemented an already highly enjoyable experience. Strongly recommended !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ulysses29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    41
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a great place to enjoy some wine and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

With so many vineyards to choose from near Mount Etna, I am glad we chose Gambino. We turned up around lunch time without a booking, not really sure what to expect. Asked did we want the wine tasting and food at 20 euros each we though why not. Wow, lots of food, dried cherry tomatoes, olives, bread, so many types of local cheese, sausages, the list goes on... Each plate was served with a different wine to compliment the food. The wine was carefully explained to tell you about the grape and the tasting notes. They poured you a glass and left you the bottle to help yourself, we tried two reds and two whites, really nice. We also bought a couple of bottles to take home 6 and 9 euros each, would have like to have bought more.... Well worth the visit and the views are great on a clear day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveSmithson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyable vineyard visit high up on Etna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We would our way up Etna to the lovely place and had a most enjoyable vineyard tour and wine tasting. it is a beautiful spot, and the wine is delightful. Most surprising were the bread and vegetables they served to accompany the wines. Unbelievably delicious dried tomatoes and dried cherry tomatoes, along with olives, and a terrific crunchy bread, made our little visit there totally worthwhile.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BrooklynDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A lovely, enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

A very welcoming experience to wine tasting on mount entail slopes. With a variety of antipasti, you get to enjoy 4 or 5 types of wine. You're encouraged to eat and drink as much as you like for a set price (we were charged €20 per person) and stay as long as you like. We also took an extended walk around the vineyards. Well worth a visit if your going to visit mount etna, Taormina or Catania.

Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A truly memorable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just half a hour from Taormina, this wine tasting experience is one not to be missed.
Situated on the slopes of Mount Etna near to the town of Libguaglossa, this family owned winery has everything to offer. For 10 € per head we had a huge plate of antipasti, bread, water, and of course, four glasses of their lovely wine. The staff were courteous (and generous with their offerings) it was a shame (for my husband) that we had our car with us. Would totally recommend this experience and will be buying some of their wine mil order!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigzvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gambino Winery also viewed

 
Marsala, Province of Trapani
Linguaglossa, Province of Catania
 

Been to Gambino Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing