We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Creme de la Creme di Nicolosi !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Sotto il Vulcano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Sotto il Vulcano
Ranked #1 of 35 Nicolosi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marsalforn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“La Creme de la Creme di Nicolosi !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

From our very first contact via e mail to the last goodbye, Antonella and Salvatore could not have been more welcoming and friendly.

We spent 7 nights at Sotto il Vulcano and were the most pleasant and relaxing nights ever. The room was immaculately clean and very warm. The beds were the most comfortable ever, not a sound to be heard, so quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast: Home made cakes and pastries made by Antonella herself. Salvatore professionally prepared breakfast daily. Freshly baked crossiants filled with pistachio cream, fresh fruits, home made bio jams, nutella, salami, cheeses and much much more. Gluten free bread as well. Freshly squeezed orange juice.

Breakfast room was open at all times and guests were free to enter whenever they wish. One could also make use of the coffee machine free of charge.

Salvatore knows it all. Nothing is too much trouble. Good tips as regards restaurants and places to visit.

On our departure, Salvatore drove us to the airport himself at 05:30 in the morning. He also
offered us to have breakfast before departure.

The highlight of our stay was the day before our departure: Snow in Nicolosi which was a memorable experience.

A very well done to Antonella and Salvatore - Bravi davvero !

Saluti da Marsalforn, Gozo.

Sonia, Victor & Christian

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
173
276
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights there and we really enjoy.Antonella and her husband are really helpful, really nice personn.We love the place so much.The breakfast was perfect, fresh fruit,eggs,home made cake anf orange juice...room was clean. Very close to the mount etna and the city center.We will come Back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldine0686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkara, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the ideal place to stay if you're planning to visit Etna and its surroundings. Antonella and Salvo (the owners) are very friendly and welcoming. The place is in a relaxing and quiet enviroment and has very clean and comfortable rooms. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Antonella and salvo know How to receive in thé pure sicilian warm style we have been delighted by a perfect and luxury breakfast, accurate advice on etna climbing, and Good restaurants. Perfect and clean room. One of thé best place during our trip in sicily.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephetpablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Antonella picked us up from a cafe in the middle of town. She gave us a great recommendation for dinner and made sure we were well cared for.

We exchanged emails just before she picked us up so it was very last minute. We took the last room available which they said was small (but we had nothing to compare it to and it was a fine size for us).

The breakfast was quite a spread of local specialties and the room and bathroom were both very clean.

Town was just under a 10 minute walk which you have to be careful because there are no sidewalks but it was nice being on the outskirt of town.

We had just arrived into the area and did not know about the mosquitos. Our room was full of mosquitos and we killed several when we returned from dinner.

Our fault, we did not have repellant and we did not want to bother Antonella to ask at such a late hour, but it would have been worth mentioning that there may have been an issue. She told us in the morning that she had extra but it might be worth it to keep it in the room. Mosquitos were likely around for the timing of our visit but even with that said, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc_travel_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the place where one should stay if he is going to visit Etna and its surroundings. Very well kept and the owners makes you feel at home. Very well done .The give breskfast is so vast that you can compare it to hotels. The rooms are very clean and if you requist something it would be available in the shortest time possible. The directors are always there to help you in what ever you want. This place will defintly be my choice if I would be in that area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ooppppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabbar, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have been here already 3 times and will for sure book again.Me and my friends visit sicily twice a year for a cycling holiday and we always stay at this place.Very clean rooms ,great breakfast but most of all Antonella and Salvo make this place feel like a second home with their hospitality.Highly Recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicolosi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alle Pendici Dell'Etna
6.5 mi away
Hotel Corsaro
Hotel Corsaro
#1 of 4 in Nicolosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
6.8 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 5 in Zafferana Etnea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
0.3 mi away
The House of the Poet Etna
9.5 mi away
B&B Dimora dell’Etna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Sotto il Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sotto il Vulcano

Property: B&B Sotto il Vulcano
Address: Via Mompilieri Traversa V/2, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Nicolosi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Nicolosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Sotto il Vulcano 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sotto Il Vulcano is a family-run B&B in the town of Nicolosi, right at the foot of Mount Etna. Staff offer interesting trekking and mountain bike itineraries and useful tourist advice. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. Your room comes with air conditioning and heating, a private bathroom with shower, a patio, and an LCD TV.Breakfast is available each morning and includes freshly squeezed orange juice and special dietary food on request. Guests have discounts on Mount Etna's official excursions and for the Parco Avventura Monti Rossi theme park. Sotto Il Vulcano is set in a quiet green area, 5 km from the A18 motorway providing links to the whole of eastern Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your B&B Sotto il Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Sotto Il Vulcano Nicolosi, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing