We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done....... again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Sotto il Vulcano
Ranked #1 of 36 Nicolosi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marsascala, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well done....... again!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It’s not very often that I travel twice to the same location but Salvatore & Antonella made me do so!
Just came back from a 4 day Sicily trip and for the second time I choose Sotto il Vulcano. This time I travelled with my wife and daughter; ah, there was my mother in-law as well!
Salvatore will prepare a super breakfast to get you through the activities that he is able to organize for you. Antonella is very knowledgeable and she can recommend lots of places to visit. My daughter had a great time at Etnaland and also at Parcoaventura which both are very close to Sotto il Vucano.
Unfortunately, at the moment I cannot recommend a good restaurant in the area as I haven’t found one yet. Well done and hope that you keep your promise to visit us in Malta very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher Jam... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
181
287
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Situation: not far from the centre of Nicolosi which is a charming village. Tip: Take care with children the road to the Centre has no sidewalk, taking the car to the centre is safer.
Restaurants in the area: many very good restaurants (special mention to Anima & Cozze Restorante- fish and pizze). La "padrona della casa" and the staff are very nice and accomodating and professional.
Activities: Etna of course, we did the 5 hours tour with a guide. you will enjoy if you are well-equiped for trekking and mind the cold on the top (about 5 degree in July). However the guide told us that it could "explode at any time" that's why we would recommend to ask the guide not to go in risky areas with children.
Pasticceria: for any local specialties, go to "Vitale" (bar e pasticceria) located in the centre of Nicolosi. Pasticceria Francalanza is also a great place, located in Gravina, on the way to Catania. Take a coffee and a pasti or ice and enjoy you will not be disappointed.
Rooms: simple rooms, clean, standard size, nothing to report.
Area: beautiful trees in the garden. There is a terrace.
Breakfast: good breakfast (not hand made expect the fresh orange juice).
View: Etna can bee seen behind trees (not completely visible).
Other:you have to purchase water to supermaket (expect during the breakfast)
Price: reasonable, good value.
Owners: very friendly and helpful, they are also available for any questions and problems. It is the most positive point of this place.

Room Tip: the matrimonal room is separated to other rooms (has no phone currently). but from this room you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mscala malta
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just come back from a great 4 days spent at this comfortable property equipped with excellent hosts and a superb breakfast.......wish i could get this breakfast posted home every day by these fun and very helpful hosts!!!! Felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We experienced amazing hospitality by Antonella & Salvo. They are the friendliest hosts we ever met. Information was very good and breakfast fresh and delicious. But the room was just enough and it was quite difficult to discover Etna between the tree tops (see photos).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AroundTheWorld000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We're new to B&B's, but after the experience of Sotto il Vulcano, we're definite converts. The warmest of welcomes, the facilities were just right, divine breakfast, both hosts' generosity outstanding. Not really much more we can say except that this was a truly enjoyable experience - try it out for yourself. We really, really felt so well here ... and Nicolosi is a charming little town with a great atmosphere. Lovely for exploring Etna and surroundings.

Room Tip: The room was perfect for a short-ish stay, and it was our choice not to change to a bigger room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

we needed wheelchair freindly B&B for the first 2 nights of our family holiday to Sicily, and very glad to have found this one.
2 rooms, both level access, not huge but enough space and Antonella had very thoughtfully moved the furniture around a bit in the twin room to make more space.
She couldn't do enough for us, made phone calls re Etna trips, suggested great eating places (Antico de Limone)and basically made us feel right at home.
The communal breakfast area is much more than that, there is a lot of Etna info and as it is open all day/night, there is round the clock access to a coffee machine etc.
Breakfast was lovely with the best fresh ornage juice we have ever had. Boiled eggs, ham, salami, cheese, fruit, bread, croissants....and Antonella urging us to make up filled rolls etc for the Etna day out!
There is also a really nice covered patio area where you can eat takeaways or whatever really.
Would love to stay there again if visiting Nicolosi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeherdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Good location in the suburbs of Nicolosi - a 15 minute walk into town and easy journey to the southern slopes of Etna (Rifugio Sapienza). Accommodation surrounded by pleasant gardens, there's car parking space, and a nice patio. Rooms are not that big but clean, comfortable, and adequate. The separate kitchen/breakfast room and the breakfast provided is great. It's a communal affair which works well - you're soon swopping tales with the Germans, Belgians, Dutch, and others you're sharing the table with. The room's never locked, there's an endless supply of coffee at all hours, and if you want to heat a slice of pizza or even cook some pasta, it's no problem. In fact, nothing's a problem for the owners, Salvo and Antonella (they live next door) who are absolutely super people and will go out of their way to make sure you're happy. Treat it like your home Antonella said - and she meant it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the breakfast room side of the accommodation are probably slightly larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimstone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicolosi
6.7 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
203 reviews
9.6 mi away
B&B Dimora dell’Etna
0.3 mi away
The House of the Poet Etna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mister Etna B&B
Mister Etna B&B
#1 of 15 in Mascalucia
147 reviews
3.3 mi away
OttoMood B&B
OttoMood B&B
#1 of 4 in Tremestieri Etneo
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B La Giara
B&B La Giara
#4 of 36 in Nicolosi
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Sotto il Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sotto il Vulcano

Property: B&B Sotto il Vulcano
Address: Via Mompilieri Traversa V/2, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Nicolosi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Nicolosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Sotto il Vulcano 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sotto Il Vulcano is a family-run B&B in the town of Nicolosi, right at the foot of Mount Etna. Staff offer interesting trekking and mountain bike itineraries and useful tourist advice. Parking and Wi-Fi are free. Your room comes with air conditioning and heating, a private bathroom with shower, a patio, and an LCD TV.Breakfast is available each morning and includes freshly squeezed orange juice and special dietary food on request. Guests have discounts on Mount Etna's official excursions and for the Parco Avventura Monti Rossi theme park. Sotto Il Vulcano is set in a quiet green area, 5 km from the A18 motorway providing links to the whole of eastern Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Sotto il Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Sotto Il Vulcano Nicolosi, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing