We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Sicily”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B La Giara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B La Giara
Ranked #4 of 35 Nicolosi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fagaras, Brasov, Romania
1 review
“Weekend in Sicily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just two nights with my boyfriend in this b&band we could start our normal life full of energy. We've been at La Giara by the end of January and it was such a nice experience. Lili, she took care of us and spoilt us as if we were her family; amaizing breakfast in the morning: fresh juice, home made marmelade, sicilian specialities (we've tried the famous "canolo" with ricotta cheese), fresh eggs and a special cake made by the owner Patricia. She offered us o lot of information as she talks english fluently and she gave us the posibility to optimize the short time we had for our holiday, she gave us a lot of good tips on the isle. Our room was beautiful and always clean. Wi Fi works well. Good position to reach the village walking, 20% off on the cable car. We will came back for sure. Thanks Patricia and Lili. We already miss the smell of pistacio croissants. See you next time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    54
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
233
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This bed and breakfast is a great find. They offer comfortable pretty rooms that are very clean, a great breakfast, and great travel help. The hosts are fluent in English and quite helpful. We came across this bed and breakfast accidentally and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. I definitely recommend it and would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This B&B is one of the best experiences we've ever had in a B&B. Not only did we have a clean, homely and colourful room but the breakfast was also of a high level, with many different fruits and juices. Most of all though it was the warm, enthusiastic and humoristic nature of Patrizia and her aunt Liliana which made an impression on us. Also, Patrizia provided us with very useful tips of local beauty spots (on the Etna, but also elsewhere in Sicily) which certainly added a lot to our holiday. Thank you both very much! Pieter & Paul

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paultje27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The owner Patrizia was extraordinarily helpful, breakfast was excellent, and the room with balcony and en-suite bathroom was just fine. All in all, it would be very difficult to find B&B's that offer better value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filda0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our first night in Sicily was spent in the La Giara B&B. Small friendly family atmosphere. The owner Patrizia is fluent in English. You are invited to use her comp. or the WiFi. La Giara is situated in a semi rural suburbian neighborhood, comfortably accessible for your Etna Mountain adventure. Next morning, after an excellent breakfast and before leaving for the Etna, Patrizia acted as a pro travel agent, advised us what to see in Sicily and called up various B&B all over the island to make our bookings. Before leaving we got good bye hugs Italian style. Not automatically included in the menu...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123DanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Highly recommended! The rooms are bright, clean, comfortable, and most have a balcony, offering a beautiful view of the coastline. Fresh local pastries and fruit are served for breakfast as well as coffee and juice. La Giara serves as a perfect base for exploring Mt Etna and the road leading up to La Riffugio Sapienza, (the main point of departure for trips to the crater) is easily accessible from here.

But what makes this B&B really stand out are the incredible people who operate it. The owner, Patrizia, is an amazing resource, taking a real interest in what we wanted to see, arranging for a world-class guide to take us around the mountain. The sense of warmth and hospitality, and engagement, was refreshing after several weeks of traveling and staying in B&B’s and Hotel's across southern Italy. Things like a mini-fridge and (working!!!) wi-fi were perks we very much appreciated!

Our stay at La Giara was easily a highlight of our trip, and I would recommend it to anyone with an interest in seeing Etna!

Room Tip: Ask where to eat in town, they have some amazing recommendations, and, save some money on lunch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Level Contributor
349 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

There was not as much accommodation as I would have expected in Nicolosi being so close to Mt Etna so I was pleased to be referred to this B&B by a nearby fully booked hotel. The rooms were spacious although some had shared toilets/showers but it was minimal extra for private facilities.
Breakfast in the cosy kitchen was more than adequate with plenty of variety. No other meals were avaialable but the helpful owner recommended an authentic local establishment which did not disappoint.
My room had a pleasant sunny balcony which was welcome in the coolness of April
All in all a pleasant stay with a "local" family

Room Tip: Pay the small extra fee requested for private facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSandy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nicolosi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alle Pendici Dell'Etna
5.9 mi away
Hotel Corsaro
Hotel Corsaro
#1 of 4 in Nicolosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
The House of the Poet Etna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B Sotto il Vulcano
B&B Sotto il Vulcano
#1 of 35 in Nicolosi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Porta dell'Etna
La Porta dell'Etna
#5 of 35 in Nicolosi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rifugio Sapienza
Rifugio Sapienza
#1 of 7 in Nicolosi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Giara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Giara

Property: B&B La Giara
Address: Viale della Regione 12/a | angolo Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Nicolosi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Nicolosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Giara 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Giara is a bed and breakfast situated at Nicolosi which is a small town in the heart of Etna natural park. One of the main features of the resort is the greenery all around, and many avenues with sourrended pine trees.Not very far, tourist can enjoy the ice-skating ring, and they can reach easily by foot , car or cycling, the center and the typical restaurants, shops, bank, post office, bus stop and museum.La Giara is a comfortable and friendly Bed and Breakfast, run by people very professional, who can also organize for you tailor made program of excursions and guided visit to discover places as Taormina, and Alcantara, Catania, Siracusa, personal gourmet tour to make wine and typical sicilian products tasting, tours around mount Etna accompanied by vulcanologic and naturalistic guides.Patrizia e Francesco during your stay will be happy to help their guest with a wide variety of leaflet and brochures about the Sicilian island and their B&B friends.They can suggest and advice you about alternative places to visit in order to discover and explore the cultural and artistic wonders of this beautiful island. Every bedroom is been in a different wall colours, and vary furniture styles; rooms are very confortable, bright spacious and some of them with a sea view; all rooms has air conditioning, private bathroom with shower, cable tv, central heating, safe and mini bar fridge.From the living room balcony you can admire the view of mount Etna and Monti Rossi natural Reserve.A continental buffet breakfast is offered every day, and you can choose from a variety selection of cereals, seasonal fruits, juice, fresh yogurt, cheese, organic jam, marmalade, home’s cake, pistacchio's cornetti, thè, milk, coffè or Italian cappuccino, and hot English breakfast is available, but on request only.Private parking area and wi fi internet connection are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B La Giara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Giara Nicolosi, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing