We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay on the South side of Monte Etna”
Review of Hotel Corsaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Corsaro
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nicolosi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Good points: Excellent location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms and hotel are both very clean. Food is OK and good value if you book half pension. Wellness area (sauna, hot tub etc) really good. Book early and through the link the owner will email you to use the wellness area. Hotel is a great base for walking and biking on Etna.
The only bad point: Out of season bus access to Etna South is a little limited - 1 bus per day only. However, the hotel staff are very helpful in arranging, lifts, taxis etc if you don't have a car.
Overall - HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: Superior Room with Terrace. 204 or 205. Excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 268 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

On our first evening, from our balcony we watched Etna erupting at what seemed to be just a few hundred metres up the mountain - it was truly awesome. All round, the views are superb from the hotel up and down the mountain. Rooms are clean and comfortable with tiled floors; ours had a lovely modern shower room. All ideal for dealing with walking gear and returning dusty and tired from hikes on Etna. The sauna and whirlpool spa are great for relaxing muscles. Good food and drinks with plenty of choice at dinner and breakfast.
The hotel is two minutes walk from the cable car that takes you from 2000m to 2500m - truly convenient.
The staff are friendly and helpful. Davide the manager was excellent: we left some travel documents and he personally delivered them to us in Taormina the next day - how's that for service!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I have just sent a group out to trek for 3 days on Etna and on day 3 the stayed at the Corsaro hotel. It's great! All services are good quality the food is just what was needed and the owner was courtious at all times.

I woulndnt hesitate to recommend.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufusspanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel, clean rooms, nice bathroom, awesome location. Free wifi in rooms with good signal. Kind host and a good breakfast with a vareity of options, even hard boiled eggs. I tried negotiating a price since the hotel was virtually empty and we decided to stay at the last minute, but he would not bring down the price. Very nice place to stay though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A wonderful place for enjoying cosmic landscape of the volcano for few days.
Friendly owner and his colleagues.
Great restaurant.
For bikers - especially pleasant attitude and discounts :)
The highest inhabited place on the mountain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A warm welcome, friendliness and a professionally run, quality hotel with a lot of personal touches - this is what you can expect when staying at Hotel Corsaro. During my stay, I've experienced the warmest hospitality so far in my travels in Sicily! Nothing seemed to be too much of a problem for David and his staff - they were ready to assist and help with a smile. So in my opinion it is a perfect place to stay for those who are serious about exploring Etna. After a full on day of hiking right to the edges of the summit craters of Etna, it was wonderful to relax in my spacious room with an ample, well- equipped bathroom (nice smelling toiletries, fluffy towels and soft slippers), fill up on much needed gnocchi (they have a fantastic, very warm, friendly and bow-tie wearing waiter in the restaurant - nothing seemed a problem for him!) and relax with a nice cup of tea and a pain- killer for my pounding headache (possibly caused by volcano fumes) brought to my room. The next day David gave me a couple of tips about some "secret" sights in the area (you won't read about it in any guidebook) and put a smile on my face with a hanful of amusing anegdotes about local life. They also offered to store my luggage until I was ready to collect it in the late afternoon. Overall, this hotel is close to perfection as a good quality mountain base.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

only been to restaurant, definitely to be recommended for a good lunch break while touring the volcano

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicolosi
5.6 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
899 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Alle Pendici Dell'Etna
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Dorata
Hotel Villa Dorata
#1 of 1 in Ragalna
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
888 reviews
11.4 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
418 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Michelangelo
Villa Michelangelo
#3 of 4 in Nicolosi
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corsaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corsaro

Address: Contrada Cantoniera, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Nicolosi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nicolosi
Price Range: $92 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corsaro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highest hotel on Etna volcano, in the UNESCO Worl Heritage Site Etna Regional Park; just 300m far from cable car station; best base for excursions and winter sports. Rooms offer free Wi-Fi and a satellite TV. Excellent cooking in restaurant. A wellness area with hot tub, Turkish bath, Finnish Sauna and cromotherapy shower is available. Discounts are available for excursions to top craters, cable car, ski lifts. The property features a Sicilian restaurant and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Corsaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corsaro Hotel Nicolosi
Hotel Corsaro Nicolosi, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing