We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more then a b&b a boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Marene'

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Marene'
Ranked #2 of 39 Massa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“more then a b&b a boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed at at il Marenè and I will soon go back with my hubby and daughter.
Marenè is an exsquisite and not overpriced b&b (as they like to call it).
Renato and wife are fantastic hosts and I can not wait to go back there soon!
I will recommend to all my british friends cause I know Renato and wife will make sure they will go back in Uk with the best of Italian's stay!
Thank you for the lovely experience!!!
Micaela&Grace

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicaelaPigazzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renatoimbriani, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Marene', responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Micaela , thank you very very much for your beautiful advertisment, I'm so glad to have you like guest and I'm waiting now for you and your nice family. It would nice if your husband, big chef, wanted to cook something for us... I could open good wine bottles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
88
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you like immaculately kept rooms, this is the place for you. We had two rooms, called Marina and Josephine. Both rooms were excellent. Secured parking is a plus. The breakfast room was up to the same standard as the rooms. The yard is also very nice and well-manicured. Renato is a superb host. He provided 5 bikes for us which we used rather then driving, which was a nice touch. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackM772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent 4 days in this lovely B&B in September 2012 and really enjoyed it. The B&B is situated in a nice and quiet area, within walking distance to the beach. The private parking next to it is a big plus. The rooms are charming and cosy (decorated with a lot of taste) and very clean. The same goes for the garden and the terrace where we had nice breakfast every morning prepared by our host, Renato. We really appreciated our stay at "Il Marene" and the hospitality and friendliness of its hosts. Therefore, we highly recommend this B&B!

Matt & Helle

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato I, Proprietario at Il Marene', responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear friend we thank you for your wonderfull words about our B&B and we hope you can come back to visit us as next summer... Tuscany has got a lot of things to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

My friend and I stayed at this pretty little place for 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. It's a quiet B&B within walking distance to the beach. There are 4 rooms each of them in a different style. It's very clean and Renato the owner definately makes the best cappuccino in all of Italy!
We highly recommand this place. Enjoy!
Nicole and Isabella

Room Tip: A quiet place with beautiful and very special room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_2011CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilmarenero, Proprietario at Il Marene', responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Nicole and Isabella,
thanks a lot for your beautiful appreciations, I hope you can come back to visit me and my B&B so you will have possibility to know other interesting places in Toscana and Liguria and you will tast other cappuccinos under Marenè's porch... Best regards, Renato and Mariella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

I spent 5 days with family and friends in Villa Il Marene in Aug. 2010 and had an amazing experience. The location 100m by the sea is great, the quality of the housing was very nice and the hosts were incredible nice and friendly. The new renovated rooms, each room with a different thematic, the nice garden and our hosts made us all feel very wellcomed.
Therefore, I definetly recommend Il Marene as a great locatin for spending a few days on the Italian coast near Forte dei Marmi.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmiruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Matilde
Hotel Matilde
#1 of 40 in Marina di Massa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Eco del Mare
Hotel Eco del Mare
#3 of 40 in Marina di Massa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#13 of 40 in Marina di Massa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stella della Versilia
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Tiziana
Hotel Villa Tiziana
#5 of 40 in Marina di Massa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#6 of 40 in Marina di Massa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Marene'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Marene'

Property: Il Marene'
Address: Via Macchie 3, 54100, Massa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Massa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Massa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & breakfast in Versilia in the heart of Ronchi a renowned area of the Apuan Riviera, Il Marenè is the fruit of an accurate restoration of an already antique small 1930’s elementary school building. The transformation was finished in 2009 by the proprietors Renato and Mariella, architect and artist-decorator who worked together on the image of the villa, recalling the Versilian bathing establishments in the physical aspects of the old building. The building, expressly designed to guarantee the maximum of comfort to even the most demanding of clients is only about a hundred metres from the centre of the village (chemists, Post Office, bar and various shops) and 400 metres from the beach. Clients can “forget” their cars in the villa’s ample internal car park and easily reach the bathing establishments or the centre of Marina di Massa (3 Km), Cinquale (2Km), Vittoria Apuana (4 Km), or fashionable Forte dei Marmi (6 Km) with bicycles provided by the B & B. In the summer breakfast is served in the open-air saletta-portico in the garden, which has a lawn area with Mediterranean plants, a solarium area with two gazebos under which the guests can rest in armchairs and read in complete relaxation. The outside of the villa implies its summer holiday use, 4 comfortable bedrooms with bathrooms and independent access to the main apartment. Each has been furnished to give a holiday feeling with its own style and identity, where every element and detail has the correct arrangement and motivation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Il Marene' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Marene' Italy/Massa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing