We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and noisy”
Review of Hotel Don Pepe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Don Pepe
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ribadesella
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Expensive and noisy”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We decided to pay the price for a seaview room, even though it seemed very expensive for out of season.
Great aspect from the (tiny) balcony overlooking the sea, although the rooms are not large and pretty standard.
Took ages to check in because the receptionist was on the phone and there was no one else around.
All was well until 1am when a small group of people returned and filled the rooms above. I don't think they were being especially noisy but you could hear every footstep, wardrobes closing etc. And from next door, we could hear the toilet flushing as if we were in the same room.
The group then got up about 7.30am so we were woken up again.
At this price, guests should expect to be able to sleep.
Nice breakfast room, though!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms may be a bit quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnyinhiscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    61
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
84
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I think this is a very nice place for couples. My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the rooms on the top floor overlooking the beach and we were delighted. The neighborhood is tranquil and Ribadesella’s old town is just 10-15 min away walking. The staff at Don Pepe was also very attentive.

I know this place is not a frugal option, but I think it is worth it.

Room Tip: Try a room on the top floor overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingstoneIPresume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Arrived on the day (part of honeymoon trip) and asked for available rooms. Paid 80 euros for a night which we though to be fair (on face value) to stay in a lovely hotel by the beach. We then went to find our room and it was in an "annex", more of an apartment block over a road behind the hotel. We still thought it might be ok and planned to find somewhere else the next day.
It was awful. Noise all night long. It echoed through the building and neither of us got any sleep at all. People having sex really loudly, and others just shouting. I think the walls were made of paper. One of the worst places ive stayed, especially for the money.
To top it off, we tried to explain in Spanish at check-out that the room was very noisy, trying to be helpful in letting them know. We were basically told "i know, unlucky!".
Give this hotel a wide birth based on this. Id never go back. Gran Hotel Del Sella down the road was a million times better where we paid a little more for the next 4 nights.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myersmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Hi
Just back from Ribadesella and seven nights at the Don Pepe hotel, the hotel is very clean and the rooms are big enough with flat screen TV CNN and Sky news, at the rear all the rooms face the beach and there is a constant roar from the waves! Closing the French windows that open onto the balcony stops the sound instantly (we preferred them to stay open).
The view from the balcony is stunning and just sitting there in the evening is great.
Breakfast: we decided to have bed and breakfast at an extra £16 a day for both of us, it is taken in a large light restaurant and there is an endless supply of fresh orange juice from a squeezing machine that the waiter operates for you, there is a big urn of good strong coffee an urn of hot milk, jug of cold milk and hot water with a selection of tea bags, thin ham, thin cheese, chorizo, and dried ham, bread for toasting and rolls to fill, Yoghurt, jams, cakes, watermelon and cereals it sounds great but it is exactly the same every day! Just the odd egg or tomato would make such a difference. The staff speak little to no English (our problem not theirs).
There is a good lift and again the rooms are very clean, the hotel is quiet and restful and NO hassle at all.
Recommended for couples, singles a bit quiet for youngsters.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ribadesella hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ribadesella Playa
Hotel Ribadesella Playa
#4 of 18 in Ribadesella
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel del Sella
Gran Hotel del Sella
#12 of 18 in Ribadesella
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Rosario
Hotel Villa Rosario
#1 of 18 in Ribadesella
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador Del Sella
Hotel Mirador Del Sella
#2 of 18 in Ribadesella
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Calma
La Calma
#6 of 18 in Ribadesella
142 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa de Aldea el Frade
Casa de Aldea el Frade
#3 of 18 in Ribadesella
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pepe

Property: Hotel Don Pepe
Address: Calle Dionisio Ruisanchez 12, 33560, Ribadesella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Asturias > Ribadesella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ribadesella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Pepe 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing