We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

This hotel was well worthy of its 4 Star rating. It was well managed and in a good location for access to the centre of La Linea and Gibraltar. The buffet breakfast, which was included in the price, was excellent with ample choice. The room was always kept clean by the staff, who left flowers etc after cleaning. We had requested a room with a view of Gibraltar and were placed on the 5th floor. This provided us with a view of the harbour and Gibraltar. Unfortunately the hotel conference centre had been built on the Gibraltar side of the hotel and this blocked the view for many of the occupants (bad planning). The only other criticism was the requirement to pay for the in-room tea and coffee. Having lived in Gibraltar in the 80's we frequently travel back to the area for holidays. We most often stay in La Linea, which is currently unspoiled by British tourists (English food and beer etc). The town is truly Spanish, so if you wish to experience the Spanish way of life it is great. However, if you wish to lay on a beach all day and drink English beer, go to the Costa to the East of Marbella!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnfromWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    403
    339
    127
    89
See reviews for
223
535
66
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Great location to get to Gibraltar however the add ons should be included in the room
1) 10 euros extra per day for front view
2) 2 euros per day for room safe
3) 2 euros or so for tea or coffee in the room ...so do not help your self to these items
4) WIfi is extra .All hotels these days give it to you free.Go to MCD's 10 minutes away
and it is free.
The girls at the front desk in the morning were great !!
Need more English and French tv stations
When having a shower, the shower curtain does not hold in the water so I had to use
several towels to dry the flooor.It seems like a common fault

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank littlescotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

All of the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Accomodation was clean and very tidy. Breakfast and dinner Buffets had an excellent choice with very good waitress service. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickles190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

There was nothing seriously wrong with the stay, but the little problems added up. I don't want to sound like a crank but we heard much worse stories from colleagues staying at the same time.

We checked in asking for a Rock view since we had heard they were quieter since we were there with our 9month son. The person at the counter assured us that our room would be plenty quiet and if it wasn't they would get us a quieter room. The next day after a noisy night and some kind of morning parade waking our son, we asked the front desk again and they said, sorry but wouldn't do anything. The keycards rarely worked for an entire day, especially frustrating since we were near the top and the elevators sometimes took sometimes took 5-10 minutes. I would walk down and up the 8 flights and see the same people still waiting for the elevator. We asked the cleaning staff to come at a certain time and the only time they came at that time was the one day I was off from work and we were using the room. The internet worked occasionally - including cutting out at business critical time. The front desk called maintenance to make sure I had the plug in the right place and the help stopped there.

To each of these issues the front desk staff had almost the same response. An apology, but no way to remedy the problem.

The breakfast has many options, but none of them really good. There aren't many options in the area, so if you want breakfast this is about it.

The fitness center they claim to have access to is about a 10 minute walk and denied my entry when I tried to go to it. The front desk did not know why I could not get in, could not remedy the situation, and did not offer any compensation.

Overall, unless you need to stay near the center or Gibraltar this place is too much of a hassle for any kind of relaxation or business. Maybe if the price was better, but for the service delivered it is way over priced.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SzczRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Linea de la Concepcion hotels

Gibraltar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Great if visiting Gibraltar as the hotel is substantially cheaper than its counterparts in Gibraltar and for the 15 minute walk into Gib town it is therefore worth it, however the cleanliness was not great.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

First, if you are a couple you have to know they have only 5 rooms with large bed, so you will mostly have twin beds. Then the swimming pool is tiny, rooms small and decoration basic and not coordinated. It does not matter if you put the sign "please make up the room" early or not, there is only 2 cleaner per floor and they follow the corridor, so if you are at the end like us, your room will never be made before 3pm. The staff does not speak English at all, even the housekeeping manager. The TV has only 1 English channel and 2 German, all others are Spanish. If you room is oriented on the road, it will be noisy. The lift are slow, no AC so hot and smelly, not program to optimize trip so everybody push both button, and as a result, lifts stop at each floor while people already took the other lift or give up for the stairs.
If you take half board, no drink included, and staff really jump on you to get your order. They were not really rough, but not smiling nor nice.
Every additional "service" need to be paid, the worst is Wifi: 6 euro/hour!!!, also the safety box in the room is for 2 euros/day, parking 19 euros/day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitch00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Great hotel within a 10min walk from the Gibraltar boarder. Small and quiet outdoor pool. Breakfast had alot of choice however the quality varied. The food at lunch was very good value for money. Overall a great place to day if your visiting Gibraltar!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordlydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,702 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,017 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,864 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar

Property: Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Address: Avenida Principe de Asturias s/n, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is an urban 4-star hotel that is located on the seafront, with a current architecture and an elegant and functional design offers you a great stay and a memorable stay in Gibraltar. Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is located in central La Linea de la Concepcion, just 500 meters from the border with Gibraltar, with new Alcaidesa Marina berths 800 and very close to the best golf courses in Andalucia Sotogrande Valderrama and Alcaidesa. We have 225 rooms, bright and perfectly prepared for your enjoyment and relaxation. You can enjoy from the terrace of the magnificent views from our Hotel the Rock of Gibraltar and the Bay of Algeciras. Enjoy the sun and the good weather in your area and outdoor terrace and savor a delicious meal in the restaurants and cafe. We have a special Exhibition and Conference Centre La Linea over 5,000 m2 distributed in different spaces, ready for any event, celebration or important meeting. Our hotel is perfect for leisure or business, we adapt to our customers to provide perfect service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar La Linea
La Linea Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing