We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“only for the location”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We didn't like this hotel at all. Only for large groups and bus tourists. The breakfast was included. We couldn't find anything that looked tasty. I took a glass of water from the buffet, it was water from the tap highly chlorinated. Staff without patience. Functional room, but not cozy atmosphere. The only good point is the location near the border of Gibraltar. We walked to Gibraltar and it took us less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willeke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    393
    334
    125
    87
See reviews for
218
516
66
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Firstly, I'm not sure where the fourth star came from, or how the hotel was assessed for it. The hotel is absolutely fine and kind of does what you'd expect from a place to lay your head. It is basic though, but that is offset by it being 10 mins from Gibraltar and at least half the price of the hotels across the border.

Pros - Room size is fine. Generally clean, though it could do with a lick of paint in some places. Staff are helpful enough. Beds a little wobbly, but ok.

Cons - Pay for internet, room safe and parking (I would expect the parking, not the others). Aircon/heating is inefficient, or not working, I can't be sure. In reality, the pool looks nothing like the photo.

Overall, it's a little tired, the layout and furniture is a little cheap and tacky. BUT, it is functional, and reasonably priced for what you get, unlike the places across the border.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellmewhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very well locatied and easy to find, but very mediocre hotel.
One can get not too good, but still edible breakfast (coffe is rally bad..). The mattress was not bad actually, and we had a good night sleep after tiring walk around the Gibraltar. Shower was hot and nice. Therefore it is enough if you need just a place to stay and will not spend any time in hotel.
You will have to pay for anything extra (internet, parking, safe). The parking is confusing - it´s difficult to understand where is way in or out. Too few lifts for too many people - sometimes it is necessary to wait for long. Just one receptionist for everybody...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had to find somewhere to stay whilst working at the refinery at san roque the hotel asur was clean,,rooms ok. The food was a little different,,,breakfast food was patchy buffet style with quantity outweighing quality. Droves of people to battle through to get a coffe etc etc. The staff seem to be in the wrong job service is not high on the agenda,,,and a simple request like can I see the wine list was met with complete ignorance,,,,checking in was different with the guy talking on the phone whilst checking me in. A good thing to spot was all the little posters all over the place offering parking , late check out etc all to be had with a premium. Yes Gibraltar is within a few paces,,yes the honking of horns goes on for much of the day but if I am here again next year I will try to find elsewhere. The Asur could be so much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Past experience with Gibraltar Hotels showed that they're overpriced mediocre. So we booked the Asur through "Travel Republic" and was amazed to be offered bed & breakfast for only £30 per room per night. Being only a ten minute walk from hotel to Gib, it was a good option to take up.

The room was reasonably clean and breakfast adequate. All in all, similar to a Holiday Inn Express or a Travelodge in England.

Yet for a place to just lay your head and have a bite to eat in the morning, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zayerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a good hotel if you get a room with a view. The rooms are very basic and good value. The breakfast is not very good and is popular with large tour groups that stampede in like cattle. The hotel is a short walk from the border and 15 minutes walk from Gibraltar Airport. The border doesn't really exist and no one ever asks to see passports or ID. The hotel has basic amenities and there is a pool that doesn't look that nice. The hotel is clean and well maintained. It is good for 2-3 nights. The area around the hotel looks run down.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egc128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

First the good points - location is good overlooking the marina and an easy walk to Gibraltar.
The hotel staff especially on reception were friendly and helpful.
The rooms are basic but clean.
The not so good is breakfast - good choice but poor quality food. We took out own milk, yoghurt and fresh fruit into breakfast. There is a chief cooking eggs but not to order. Eggs comprised a tiny slice of rubber ommelette, greasy fried egg or grey scrambled egg. The tea and coffee were so bad we headed to Aqa cafe just down the road instead.
There is a kettle and cups in the room but no tea and coffee. Also a fridge / mini bar in the but its not stocked!
As other reviewers have mentioned its not a 4* hotel but an acceptable 3*

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up with a view of the Rock of Gibraltar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5*Hotelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Campana
Hostal La Campana
#3 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar

Property: Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Address: Avenida Principe de Asturias s/n, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is an urban 4-star hotel that is located on the seafront, with a current architecture and an elegant and functional design offers you a great stay and a memorable stay in Gibraltar. Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is located in central La Linea de la Concepcion, just 500 meters from the border with Gibraltar, with new Alcaidesa Marina berths 800 and very close to the best golf courses in Andalucia Sotogrande Valderrama and Alcaidesa. We have 225 rooms, bright and perfectly prepared for your enjoyment and relaxation. You can enjoy from the terrace of the magnificent views from our Hotel the Rock of Gibraltar and the Bay of Algeciras. Enjoy the sun and the good weather in your area and outdoor terrace and savor a delicious meal in the restaurants and cafe. We have a special Exhibition and Conference Centre La Linea over 5,000 m2 distributed in different spaces, ready for any event, celebration or important meeting. Our hotel is perfect for leisure or business, we adapt to our customers to provide perfect service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar La Linea
La Linea Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing