We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Star???!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Campanillas
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Four Star???!!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Upon our arrival the unshaven receptionist was not at all sure about our booking. The hotel garage entrance is not easy to find. A kettle and two cups were in the bedroom, but no tea or coffee. The mini bar was empty, although the price list was there (showing 7.50€ for a gin and tonic!) The bar, which closed at 23:15 hrs, was operating a cash counter self service, and resembled a factory canteen, complete with ice cream vending machine. Having read on the Room Service menu "Telephone reception and they will direct your order to the nearest Telepizza branch", we were not encouraged to try the restaurant which, from the outside, has as much ambience as an undertaker's waiting room. Four Star? Never!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadrePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    418
    348
    128
    93
See reviews for
234
559
67
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This Hotel is OK but not the Best.

You need to watch out for the Upsell, They say they have no room's available for you but you could have a Twin Room so you pay a Upsell Charge to get a double, 5 days later you pay 50e to have a very very very very hard bed.

Eveyone on here has put about the breakfast's - they are what you pay for - Breakfast - the only things cold are the things that have been cooked and sat there for a while - so dont pick those items.

Only 5-10 min walk into Gibralta - Great Views of the Rock - The best room I would say would have been 713 which has views of the Marina Sea and Gibralta.

We would stay again but would not want to be charged and extra 50e to sleep on hard beds.

Watch out as well, we asked to borrow an Iron and it the wires were damaged so many times and covered over in tape - Not the Safest..

Room Tip: 713 - Top Floor Great Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is located close to the beach and the entrance to gibraltar, but in my opinion is not really a 4* hotel. In the first night we couldn't sleep because the music from the club inside the hotel, was so loud, that was impossible. The breakfast, swedish buffet, included in the room rate, was very rich and good. The internet and the parking are not free, costs a bit too much, in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianap170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Value for money hotel within a five minute walk with the Gibraltar border.
Twin room was comfortable enough, decent en-suite and a mini safe...
Good sized balcony with interesting sea view.
Breakfast was taken in a bright and airy dining room ......good choice of food....
Continental ,cooked breakfast or fruit and cereals.
Friendly,efficient staff.
Handy location for some great tapas bars/cafe's in La Linea.
The swimming pool was closed when I stayed there......but then it was only March :-).
Overall, a reasonable hotel.......value for money

Room Tip: Great sea views from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairR186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is really a 3 star hotel because the food though acceptable is very variable, often limited choice and not kept warm. They also seem to have a problem supplying sufficient hot water for shower/bath. The rooms are dated with old type tv and very limited channels.The staff do their best despite the above. The suite is ideal for up to 4 people with a separate bedroom and lounge and nice views available of the marina. Rooms are clean and large.Hotel is walking distance from Gibraltar airport and the buses around Gibraltar.Only advise stay here if you can get a good deal as we did through TravelRepublic - about 1/3 cost of Gibraltar hotels.

Top Tips:

Spanish town of La Linea where the hotel is based is worth exploring on foot.

Room Tip: Go for a suite on the 7th floor with a nice view if you can get it cheap enough as we did through Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singleparentdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel could be a lot better, BUT is in a prime location for visiting Gibraltar. Easily accessible to/from the bus station in La Linea at only two blocks away. The border for Gib is about .4 miles away from the hotel and easily gotten to by walking. The first room we were (701) given had a great view with the biggest balcony on the floor however the bathroom was not clean and after returning from dinner later in the evening we noticed a huge leak outside in the hall. Water began to gather into a puddle but we decided to call management in hopes that they would get someone to fix it. They weren't able to so the next morn we decided to change rooms. The room that we were changed to (708) still had a great view but again, bathroom not clean. My patience had grown thin so we promptly told the management and asked the maid to clean the room for us. As she was cleaning the room, we decided to turn on the tv..BUT the remote did not work. So we again called down to the desk...a new remote was promptly brought up to us...lo and behold the batteries were dead on this remote. I mean, it wasn't a huge problem but just a bit of nuisance that they cleaning staff did not check these things before opening the room to guests. The management was very apologetic and even left a small bottle of champagne and chocolates in the room when we went out later that day.
Pros-
*Great Location
* Very affordable
* Management
* Breakfast buffet was pretty decent
* Great Views
* Pool
* Room Size
Cons-
* Nothing in mini fridge even though there is an inventory sheet in the room that says there should be
* No iron in the room
* Room Safe is not free
* Wi Fi is not free, you have to sign up with an outside service which was a bit of a pain
* Parking is not free
* No wash clothes in the room, only towels and hand towels
* Cleaning staff is not very diligent
* Tiny Pool
* No room service

Room Tip: Tips- *Do NOT order pizza in room from the company advertised by the hotel. It is called Telepizza a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelangel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is superbly positioned alongside the Spainish-Gibraltar border (on the Spanish side). It is rated 4 star and this seems to be a good and fair rating for the hotel. The hotel is the best in the area for sure (even locals who live ther told me this) and it is an excellent base with everything you could want for affordable, comfortable, accommodation which is close to the borderline crossings for Gibraltar and Spain. Good clean, hygenic, hotel, qulaity staff, accessible location on foot from Gibraltar airport and customs borders. Recommended.

The hotel is an easy and enjoyable 10 minute walk from Gibraltar airport, across the border passport controls, along the fresh seaside coastline, into this 4* hotel on the Spainish borders, near to the Linea town / shopping location. Shops and cafes are all within 5-8 minutes by foot from the hotel. In the other direction, the hotel is a 2 minute walk fron the sea front and enjoys splendid views of the "rock" of Gibraltar at all times. It is extremely handy, hygenic, safe, stylish and great value.

The hotel facility is a solid built, quality establishment using natural materials and hiring good staff. It has over 400 rooms of generous and large size, with very good quality room decor (such as marble bathrooms, neuteral colour schemes and natural fabric materials in bedrooms and pillows and quilts, real wood veneers on desk and cupboard furnishings, room service etc....). The beds are very comfortable, good strong matresses, insultated rooms, air conditioned heat controls and late breakfast and check out times make it very desirable.
The hotel is generally very tasteful and true to the standards of any 4* hotel (such as Hilton, Mariot, Holiday Inn Plus etc...). There is a kettle and fridge in the room which you can freely make use of if you buy / bring your own drinks.

The safe in the room costs extra (2 Euro a night) - which I have not come across before and seems unfair.

There was no PC / computer use in the lobby / business facility area when I was there due to faults (this was dissapointing). Internet use in the room was 6 Euro for 24 hours form a third party provider. So no free internet facilities on site at all when I was there (which was not great).

On the negative side also, the breakfasts were quite dissapointing. In particular, they had only one hot drinks machine in the resturant each morning (for hundreds of guests) and on two of the five mornings I was there I did not even get a chance for cup of tea or coffee due to long queues for the machine! The hotel absolutely must address this shortcoming ASAP asnd provide flasks of coffee and hot water for tea and buy / borrow drinks machines urgetly to address this shortcoming.

On the other hand, the hotel seems to have responded rapildy to the issue of not having hot breakfasts. Since I read the Tripadvisor reviews and then checked in to the hotel myslef, the hotel now provides a great food selection for breakfast, inclkuding fresh fried eggs (or omlettess to order), hot pancakes, bacon strips, fried tomatoes (vine), scrambled eggs along with all the cold selections of cakes, fruit (melon, kiwi), carton fruit juices, cereals and breads. So a huge improvement and offering on the breakfast selections is now present and to be commended. Well done.
Just get some team and coffee in there ASAP!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upgraded sea-view room. It made the difference! Instead of concrete buildings a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briar Close
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,848 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,048 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
1.9 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar

Property: Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Address: Avenida Principe de Asturias s/n, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is an urban 4-star hotel that is located on the seafront, with a current architecture and an elegant and functional design offers you a great stay and a memorable stay in Gibraltar. Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is located in central La Linea de la Concepcion, just 500 meters from the border with Gibraltar, with new Alcaidesa Marina berths 800 and very close to the best golf courses in Andalucia Sotogrande Valderrama and Alcaidesa. We have 225 rooms, bright and perfectly prepared for your enjoyment and relaxation. You can enjoy from the terrace of the magnificent views from our Hotel the Rock of Gibraltar and the Bay of Algeciras. Enjoy the sun and the good weather in your area and outdoor terrace and savor a delicious meal in the restaurants and cafe. We have a special Exhibition and Conference Centre La Linea over 5,000 m2 distributed in different spaces, ready for any event, celebration or important meeting. Our hotel is perfect for leisure or business, we adapt to our customers to provide perfect service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar La Linea
La Linea Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing