We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a base to pop over to gibraltar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Reviewed February 18, 2013

have just stayed here for a night ans used it as a base to pop over to gibraltar. the hotel is located just a little stroll away from the boarder.
the check in was quick and easy and the sound proof of the rooms are good considering it is next to the airport.
the hotel itself has a feel of a business / conference hotel, the unfortunate part is that the rooms and the equipment is a bit dated and would need a face lift.

Room Tip: ask for the safe code during check in, the cost of it should be at 2 euros per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMaxx_jps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

I visited this hotel twice in 2012, its a value hotel and convenient if you are mobile, to walk to gibraltar. high season there is a guy in the lobby hiring electric bikes which a re a great way to get around, though be warned, if you have an electric bike back home you may find these might lack oomph if you try and climb the rock. Mine kept cutting out, so i think i would have been better off with a normal bike. in september when we went back, he wasn't around, and the hotel was much quieter. the breakfast was a variety of cereals, breads pastries and cooked food, and the only thing that could seriously do with improving is the 'jam'. however i was sneaky and went to morrisons in gibraltar and used my own jam at breakfast from the 2nd day on. tyhe rooms are comfortable, with aircon and a safe. be warned though, we heard someone arguing with the front desk as we checked out the off season time, that they were being charged for the safe, and it hadn't said anywhere in the room that it wasn't free. apparently it is on their website!! (seriously? that is LOW!), we did use the safe on our first visit, but must have been lucky as we weren't charged.

Room Tip: go for the sea view if you can, generally that means you're not facing over the street which cut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stay the last weekend in this hotel.
Very good big rooms. Very central in la linea walking distance to gibraltar,prive under ground parking.large good breakfast,good place to explore campo de gibraltar ,gibraltar and surrounding
Areas ,at present have special deals of 58 euros dubbel room. Breakfast included. Diner also is good value. 10 euros buffet diner,pro person One glass of wine included.buffer very large many choices. Good place to stay and clean.all rooms have safety boxen

Room Tip: Nothing to say. Basic a good hotel ,you phone ,book the room and check in And pay.it is a modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my dad for 4 nights and it was very good. we went over the border at least once a day if not more without a problem and it was very quick to get through. we did not eat breakfast but it looked very good and the same with supper. it did not have any facilities such as a game room or a gym but there is a pool table. the swimming pool was not open as it was "winter". would recommend.

Room Tip: we paid extra and got a nice room facing 'the rock' and the water. it was worth the extra mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for the one night to do some Xmas shopping on Gibraltar, thank goodness it was only for 1 night, this is no way a 4 star hotel, although clean and ideal for Gibraltar, it has nothing else going for it at all and the food was terrible tasteless and cold, stayed here as was rated one of the best in the area, I can only wonder how bad the rest must be.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KittycatAlmeriaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were supposed to stay in a private home, but the owner was a heavy smoker so we had to leave. We walked into Asur and were able to get a double room with no problems (off-season, breakfast included). The room was great - nice view good amenities, clean, plenty of closet space. You can pay extra for a seaview room, but we were still able to see the sea and port from our balcony since you're so close to the water!

PARKING: The parking right in front of the hotel is paid parking and they are probably more strict during the summer as we parked there two days without paying and didn't get a ticket (we were also there during a storm so that could have been why). HOWEVER, there is free parking all over that place! Check in the apartment complexes nearby and the street parking.

FOOD: You cannot beat the menu price for the lunch/dinner menu - 3 courses for 10euro pp. The food was great (although my fish wasn't cooked through in one, thick spot). The breakfast is good too - they don't label a lot of the items so wasn't sure what most of it was, BUT there is so much that you can definitely find something you will like. Our last night, we arrived back so late dinner was over, but they have room service until midnight. We had a pizza which was yummy and not greasy!

The only complaint I have is the bed. I am used to sleeping on hard, European beds but this one was HARD. I actually had to get two more pillows (king sized, which was nice) so I could lay on top of the pillows at night. If you like or can handle firm mattresses, you'll be fine. I also have back problems so it makes me more sensitive.

LOCATION: You could not ask for a better one. You are a 10 minute walk from the border of Gibraltar, 10 minutes from the main restaurant area, across the street from the harbor, and close enough to see the Rock of Gibraltar in all its magnificence. If you don't have a car, I know it's not far from the bus stop. The staff here was wonderful - I swear we were asking them questions day and night, but they were always helpful and accommodating (they speak perfect English, as do most people down there).

There are not many hotels in the area and we looked at several others but found this one to suit our needs best at a great price. If you want a full listing of the hotels/hostels, contact the Tourist Information Center in La Linea.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay the extra 10euro or whatever for a seaview room - even if you cannot see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snorby0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a nice hotel, which is ideally located for access to Gibraltar and southern Andalucia. The Gibraltar border is within a 5 minute walk and the town of La Linea is typically Spanish, with few tourists and a lively atmosphere. We have stayed at the hotel on 3 occasions and found it to be consistent. The rooms are in generally good condition and the staff are always very helpful and pleasant. The buffet breakfast offers a large range of hot and cold food, cereals, fruit, cakes, very sweet fruit juice, tea and coffee etc. A lunch and dinner buffet is also available for 10 Euros per head. A garage is available at a cost of 6 Euros/day. We regularly visit Gibraltar and will happily use the Asur in the future.

Room Tip: The higher the level the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnfromWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
701 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 7 in Gibraltar
755 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in Gibraltar
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
2,165 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
1.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gibraltar
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar

Address: Avenida Principe de Asturias s/n, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range: $63 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is an urban 4-star hotel that is located on the seafront, with a current architecture and an elegant and functional design offers you a great stay and a memorable stay in Gibraltar. Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is located in central La Linea de la Concepcion, just 500 meters from the border with Gibraltar, with new Alcaidesa Marina berths 800 and very close to the best golf courses in Andalucia Sotogrande Valderrama and Alcaidesa. We have 225 rooms, bright and perfectly prepared for your enjoyment and relaxation. You can enjoy from the terrace of the magnificent views from our Hotel the Rock of Gibraltar and the Bay of Algeciras. Enjoy the sun and the good weather in your area and outdoor terrace and savor a delicious meal in the restaurants and cafe. We have a special Exhibition and Conference Centre La Linea over 5,000 m2 distributed in different spaces, ready for any event, celebration or important meeting. Our hotel is perfect for leisure or business, we adapt to our customers to provide perfect service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar La Linea
La Linea Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing