We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel with a lovely view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions this month and the best part of booking at this hotel is that it offers good value for money, given it's location and facilities. The Asur is also far more modern in comparison to hotels in Gibraltar and the near by vicinity.

We had rooms with lovely sea views on both occasions. Bathroom very modern, shower very good. Room was clean with a spacious balcony. We had a few drinks at the bar, reasonably priced drinks and an enjoyable Spanish atmosphere. Did not have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment. Parked our car in their underground garage overnight for 6 euros. The location is perfect for Gibraltar and has easy access to the main restaurants and bars in La Linea, highly recommend Patagonia Restaurant.

Overall the positives of this hotel outweighed the negative aspects. The negative aspects being, very slow check in. Uncomfortable twin beds in room, which could do with replacing, old fashioned TV. The rooms could definitely do with some general updating and attention in order to bring them up to 4 star quality. Other than that, no complaints at all and we will definitely return, the convenience of the hotel was second to none for us and we much prefer staying at this hotel compared to others in Gibraltar.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor with a sea or rock view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank querolasolespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

The refrigerator in the room did not work - reported to reception but no action was taken - I gave up in the end

Room was 10 euros extra per day for an 'upgrade' view of the Gib Rock

For some reason the maids did not give me any large bath towels - i only had 3 x hand towels for 4 of the 5 days i stayed here

Tea Spoons in the restaurant - There were no tea spoons unless you hunted for them !!!! The availability of teaspoons depended on the maitre'd on the day. The small guy with the spectacles did not give out teaspoons, (what the heck does he use at his own home ???) but the blonde haired woman - she set each place with a knife, fork and a teaspoon which was much better. Inconsistency.

Fried Eggs - similar inconsistencies - depending on the 'chef' of the day. Some days they were sunny side up (but were nearly raw in most cases !!) other days they had been flipped over.

On my last day, i tried a few cold meats - not very good - not sure if it was 'off' but quite nauseating - I left a nearly full plate

I was only B&B so thankfully did not experience other meal sessions.

Overall, I reckon I would stay here again - out of necessity due to its close proximity to the border - but i will consider other hotels next time. The rooms and general surroundings were fine

Time to walk from the hotel to Ocean village in Gib - was around 20 mins

Room Tip: Room was 10 euros extra per day for an 'upgrade' view of the Gib Rock and 6 euros per day f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

On arrival check in was slow. We were in a group so as we were expected the hotel should have been prepared but there was only one person on reception checking us all in. When we reached the desk actual check-in didn't take long. Room ok & clean just as you would expected from this type of hotel. Fridge to cool your own drinks, tea & coffee making facilities at an extra charge but our kettle didn't work & only one small pillow per person. I've never written a bad review before but its the food that really disappoints. Buffet dinner was appalling as food was cold & inedible, plates dirty & floor dirty. I won't be going back to the restaurant even though we are on an inclusive deal. Location of the hotel is superb for Gibraltar being in easy walking distance. This hotel is a 3* not 4* but really its the restaurant that let's it down.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Read some recent reviews and agree with most. Great location, walk to Gibraltar, which I think is why most people stay here. We stayed in a junior suite on level 7 and had great views of the rock, huge bedroom and lounge room. Clean neat and spacious. Breakfast was varied and the toasts etc were nice but other hot food average, still enough variety to choose the nicer things. On the negative side, wifi is not free, and be warned that the tea and coffee sachets in the room are charged, we didn't use them on principle as I've never had to pay $2 for a cup of tea I had to make myself! We also had an issue with the heating as it somehow turned itself on and heated the room to a balmy 28 degrees, which was pleasant for a few minutes and then horrible. When I tried to turn the air con on to cool it down I was told that in winter they only have heating and in summer they only have cooling, which I thought was a bit bizarre. Also note that the area around this hotel is not your average pleasant touristy haunt with associated restaurants. If you having the day in Gibraltar I recommend staying there for an early dinner before walking home as there were not many (any?) good options near the hotel. On the whole great hotel for location to visit Gibraltar at a fraction of the price of the hotels in Gibraltar itself.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra to get a view of the rock, very nice at night too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed just for 1 night, as we needed a base while exploring Gibraltar. Hotel is situated very close to boarder, its very easy to find (just on the main road to Gibraltar). We had a room on 5th floor overlooking rock (paid extra for view). Room was a bit dated but clean and spacious. Dinner and breakfast was ok, plenty of fruits but overall choice was small. For me, best part of hotel was underground parking - we paid 6 euro for 24 hours!! We even left our car there for full day after check-out!!
Its ok for couple of nights while exploring Gib but not more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and i stayed in this hotel for my 40th birthday. On arrival we where given a suite on the top floor which was amazing however we where at the back of the hotel, my husband went back to reception a was told if we wanted a suite looking towards the rock of gibralter it would be €5 extra per night! not a problem he said and we where given a suite on the other side with fantastic veiws of the rock. Should of been given this option at time of booking! The hotel is located about a 10 min walk from the border and half the price of one in gibraltar. The breakfast is good value and sets you up for the day. Would stay here again as the location was perfect and the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 181,072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

For less than a price of a budget motel (i.e. a UK travelodge ) you get yourself a 4 star hotel. If you're expecting a luxury 4 star hotel then you will be in for a disappointment, as this is a good, but functional hotel with the facilities of a 4 star hotel - perfect for a couple of nights whilst visiting Gibraltar.

The hotel sits on the main road into Gibraltar and is just a short walk (even with a pushchair) to the border. This route also seems relatively safe, as it has lights along the road and is next to the queue of traffic going into Gibraltar.

We found the room perfectly adequate for our needs, but were prepared for the negatives due to previous reviews. The beds are on the firmer side, but not uncomfortable and the hospitality tray (tea/coffee) is charged at cafe prices (approx €2 per cup!!) which is unusual.

On the plus side, we found the staff very helpful and the secure underground parking good value at €6 per night, which we continued to use for the day, after checking out. Everything else in the room was as expected, with a good size bathroom, clean and tidy throughout, comfortable room temperature and blackout blinds for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce_Sheila_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,056 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
1.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
1.9 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar

Address: Avenida Principe de Asturias s/n, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range: $60 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is an urban 4-star hotel that is located on the seafront, with a current architecture and an elegant and functional design offers you a great stay and a memorable stay in Gibraltar. Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is located in central La Linea de la Concepcion, just 500 meters from the border with Gibraltar, with new Alcaidesa Marina berths 800 and very close to the best golf courses in Andalucia Sotogrande Valderrama and Alcaidesa. We have 225 rooms, bright and perfectly prepared for your enjoyment and relaxation. You can enjoy from the terrace of the magnificent views from our Hotel the Rock of Gibraltar and the Bay of Algeciras. Enjoy the sun and the good weather in your area and outdoor terrace and savor a delicious meal in the restaurants and cafe. We have a special Exhibition and Conference Centre La Linea over 5,000 m2 distributed in different spaces, ready for any event, celebration or important meeting. Our hotel is perfect for leisure or business, we adapt to our customers to provide perfect service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar La Linea
La Linea Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing