We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the Rock”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A nice hotel but be aware of the hidden extras: €2 per day to use the in-room safe; €2 per sachet of coffee on what appears to be the usual complimentary beverages tray. The price list for tea and coffee sachets actually appears at the very bottom of the (empty) minibar price list – not the place I normally look; and if you use the wifi internet access be aware that the charge for usage starts from the very moment that Reception prints out your receipt and password, not when you logon for the first time. More than anything else free wifi should be standard in all hotels not just another profit centre.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TempusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We are touring through Spain with our family. We spent one night in this hotel and, so far, I would say it is the least interesting hotel we have stayed in. It is large and the rooms are adequate, so I cannot say anything really bad about it, but it is compleely unremarkable. If you are an American reading this, think Holiday Inn. All that said, I did not see many great options near Gibraltar, and staying on the rock is much more expensive. So if you are looking for a place to lie your head while visiting Gibraltar, then this is OK.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nni03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have stayed in many hotels throughout the world both on business and pleasure. This trip was for pleasure with our daughter and her young child (1 year), our son and us 2 old persons! We found the hotel excellent as:- Breakfast and dinner was plentiful and of a high standard. Air conditioning was great. They have sheets and blankets on the beds, so one can take off or put on as many layers as needed. So many hotels nowadays only have a quilt. Was a short walk to the border. Swimming pool was great and appreciated after a long day sightseeing. Staff we found good and attentive. Compared to Gibraltar, the hotel was a bargain as it would have cost us much more to stay on the Rock. So would definitely give this one high recommendations.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blacktest_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A very well appointed Hotel, 200metres on the Spanish side of the Frontier.
Easy access to Gibraltar, airport, buses etc.
A very pleasant holiday stay, good dining & rec facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Rock. upgrades available for Eu10/ night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanGelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here 6/7 June and found the two latest reviews amazingly wrong. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are what you would expect from a 4* hotel, and there are full facilities in all areas.
The buffet breakfast was as good as you are likely to find. I had a buffet dinner - vast choice of
main courses - many desserts including four flavours of ice cream. Where would you get that in an airy, modern dining room, all for 10€. The buffet lunch is priced similarly.
Small moans - try to find the entrance to the underground parking. It is a 15cm high "P" plate in an adjacent street. Yes the desk staff are slow and need some retraining. Possibly they should look at the mattresses - scarcely comfortable.
But the overall value for money is very good. Try getting a 4* hotel in other countries of Europe for €59 including a full breakfast.

Room Tip: Opposite Gibraltar harbour are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brihay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The positives:
The view from the balcomy is superb, nice airy bar area with pleasant staff, the pool looked fine. Close to Gibraltar, underground parking.

The negatives:
1. Tedious check-in; we had booked 2 rooms for 1 night for our son's wedding simply for ease so we didn't have to travel back into Gibraltar at silly o'clock dressed in our finery. There was no urgency and even our 15 yr old son had to sign the room form. Plus we had to pay up front!
2. Mini bar list & fridge, but no stock in the bar. Hubby rang to ask for a drink (to combat my pre-wedding nerves) only to be told room service is not offered.
3. Basic room, very unattractive. Damp plaster from the ceiling was on the sofa. It was like a holiday camp chalet from the 1970s. The TVs were from the 70s too - cathode ray tubes!
4. No double bed available in the 'Junior Suite'. Crazy.
5. Air con was next to useless - thankfully there was a breeze that day and we had the doors open to keep us cool.
6. The lifts were slow and only 2 available.
7. Wi-fi was available at a further cost of €6 per day - why is it not free?!

It's ok as a base I suppose, but not particularly cheap (€88 for the 'Junior Suite') considering all that it lacks. The hotel offers itself as a 4 star - do not be fooled! I've stayed in much better pensions & hostals in Spain - It's a shame as the location is excellent. Seriously needs an overhaul to bring it into the 21st century.

Room Tip: don't stay in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is excellently situated by the marina and near to the frontier with Gibraltar. Maybe a ten minute stroll. Also it is handily placed for the centre of La Línea. Again about ten minutes walk. The hotel looked tired and needs refurbishment, the staff look tired and need energising. They spoke English but definitely didn't want to give anything away. The place though was clean, rooms adequate, with balconies. Fine for one night but wouldn't like it as a base. Bit like a travelodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athenturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,082 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,097 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#6 of 6 in Gibraltar
747 reviews
1.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar

Address: Avenida Principe de Asturias s/n, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range: $62 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is an urban 4-star hotel that is located on the seafront, with a current architecture and an elegant and functional design offers you a great stay and a memorable stay in Gibraltar. Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is located in central La Linea de la Concepcion, just 500 meters from the border with Gibraltar, with new Alcaidesa Marina berths 800 and very close to the best golf courses in Andalucia Sotogrande Valderrama and Alcaidesa. We have 225 rooms, bright and perfectly prepared for your enjoyment and relaxation. You can enjoy from the terrace of the magnificent views from our Hotel the Rock of Gibraltar and the Bay of Algeciras. Enjoy the sun and the good weather in your area and outdoor terrace and savor a delicious meal in the restaurants and cafe. We have a special Exhibition and Conference Centre La Linea over 5,000 m2 distributed in different spaces, ready for any event, celebration or important meeting. Our hotel is perfect for leisure or business, we adapt to our customers to provide perfect service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar La Linea
La Linea Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing