We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for The Rock”
Review of AC Hotel La Linea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel La Linea
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good for The Rock”
Reviewed May 18, 2007

If you want a comfortable, clean hotel for a one day visit to Gibraltar then the AC La Linea can be ideal.

The hotel is not large and glamorous or in a high quality area but then nothing is this close to Gibraltar. It is a modern, 2 years old redevelopment of an old building, fully suitable to the business traveller or for a short stopover visit to the area.

It was reasonably priced at euros 83 but we moved to a 'suite' with a large corner balcony for just euros 91 (room310 non-smoking, room 410 even better but a smoking room). Room 310 had a limited view of Gibraltar and great views of the bay and Algeciras.

The hotel is easy to find being just off the Avenida de Espana on the seafront. Parking is available but I used the street outside where it was easy to find space.

The hotel has no glamourous restaurant, it is minimalistic in design but it does provide small perks that are unusual to find . The room minibar contains 2 beers and some soft drinks which are all complimentary, being included in your rom rate.

The lounge also has coffee and soft drinks plus pastries, all again complimentary so a refreshing coffee on return to the hotel can be a double pleasure.

Breakfast is available in a restaurant behind the lounge.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Locatin to Gibraltar
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hendenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    334
    133
    36
    11
See reviews for
76
342
35
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

This hotel was pure luxury. We were traveling across southern Spain staying in quaint little places and this was a clean, new hotel with a magnificent view. We had a whole wall of balcony doors facing the Gibraltar rock. The amenities and minibar and service-excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Total luxury place
  • Disliked — The town is a bit scary at night
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Prncs365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Hotel was very good, bright and clean rooms with limited free mini bar. Complimentary hot dinks and pastries available in the lounge in the afternoon, early evening. The staff were friendly and helpful. Stayed over New Year to be in Gibraltar for the celebrations which were fabulous in Casemates Square. About a steady 40 minute walk from the hotel to the Square or 4 euros in taxi from hotel to border.
Only problem was the fact that we had a bag containing 400 cigarettes snatched as we were walking in the centre of La Linea (in broad daylight, with folks all around)- a motorcyclist and pillion mounted the footpath and snatched the carrier bag and then took off at great speed - obviously much accomplished at this litte act - the cigarettes weren't even for us!! At least they didn't get my gin!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Johil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2006

Hotel is convenient to Gibraltar, about a 25 minute walk to the border. It's not in a terribly good location otherwise, no restaurants aound, and in a run-down area. There is street parking available, but I recommend that you use the secure garage parking right next to the hotel. You pull your car up to the closed garage door and press the button, the hotel reception comes on an intercom; you identify yourself and they will buzz the door open for you.

Our room was ok, a little on the small side, but it had a free mini-bar and nice bathroom. We also had a small balcony with a view of the Rock, which was wonderful.

It was very very hot in our room, only bearable if you opened the doors to the balcony. And this was in November. No air-conditioning would run, only heat. Even with the heat completely turned off, it was very hot and stuffy in the room.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

A modern hotel in La Linea. A taxi ride to the border with Gibraltar. Stylish furnished room with ultra modern bathroom. Rooms at back have poor views onto other buildings. Breakfast buffet satisfactory. Free mini bar in room. Very helpful staff. Convenient if you want a hotel on the Spanish side of Gibraltar airport. Parking on street outside hotel. Very good value.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Free mini bar and a free bar lounge, where you poor ur own drinks from 1 till i think 8, unfortunatly i got back to late to punish them for the gerneosity. front desk staff is very pleasent and very helpfull rooms are super modern, but will they be still cool in 10 years?
location blows, unless of course u want beach, in which case its 5 steps away, but if u want gibraltar u have an hour walk ahead of u to get to the city centre.

really a unique stay, definetly try one AC hotel in spain

  • Liked — front desk staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — great location for beach, far for gibraltar
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank elsobranty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,785 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
2.4 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel La Linea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel La Linea

Property: AC Hotel La Linea
Address: Calle Caireles 2, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel La Linea 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel La Linea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels La Linea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing