We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, modern hotel close to Gibraltar”
Review of AC Hotel La Linea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel La Linea
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient, modern hotel close to Gibraltar”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My friends and I rented a few rooms in order to visit Gibraltar and were impressed with the hotel. It is very modern, clean with excellent service. The rooms were spacious, and we had no noise issues while we were there despite what others have mentioned about the wood floors. La Linea the town is nothing to write home about, but we never felt unsafe, and really just went to Gibraltar for meals, going out, etc. You will not go wrong reserving this hotel for your visit to the Rock.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sangria17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    332
    132
    36
    11
See reviews for
76
339
35
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manilva, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for convenience due to the hotel's proximity from Gibraltar. It is a 30 minute walk or so from the border. We were pleasantly surprised by the room, modern, lovely terrace with a view of Gibraltar and clean furnishings, lovely sea view on a high floor (as we had requested), comfy bed, nice shower, parquet flooring, TV and WIFI also good.

We have stayed in another local hotel in La Linea and the room at the AC was more modern and better equipped than the AC. Also enjoyed the gym, although it only had an exercise bike and free weights.

The local area has issues, we went out for a pizza one night and felt frightened, the pizza shop actually had bouncers... Having said that we parked our car near to the hotel and experienced no issues in that respect.

Have to mention that a cockroach bug did enter our bathroom one night, we put a glass over it and the cleaners removed it the next day, the room was actually impeccably clean and I can only imagine the bug must have came in when we had the terrace doors open.

Overall, would definitely return for convenience to Gibraltar, the rooms are good quality and much higher quality and value than what you get from staying in Gibraltar itself.

Room Tip: Any sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank querolasolespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odawara, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to say.
Facing the Rock, the best size hotel with well designed room. Breakfast buffet is another delight with good jamon and zumo naranja. This is my home to repeat forever.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank remler250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had planned a second visit in April but cancelled knowing my friends (40+ females) would not be comfortable at this hotel. My daughter and I choose this hotel for its proximity to Gibraltar, which is a plus. Parking was on the street out front in a sketchy looking neighborhood. Reception staff was very nice but the rooms were noisy, lacked privacy (typical AC glass bathroom door that faced the toilet!) and had a huge glass uncurtained bathroom window. After we opened our windows to let in some air (no airconditioning in March or April) and realizing that we could see other guests bathing and using the facilities, we decided to shower and undress in the dark. I would have preferred an ocean view than a view of the neighbors. We decided not to eat at the hotel and walked to a nearby grocery after dark. The neighborhood, although run down, felt safe enough with families and young people in the streets.
I would suggest the AC Algeciras in lieu of this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoBoomermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent location for visiting Gibralter. Jose on the front desk was very helpful orienting us to La Linea and the border crossing, recommended a nice restaurant, and the next day gave us very good advice concerning the day's weather (much rain and a wind alert!). This latter advice aided our decision to leave early, but because we were so pleased with the staff and hotel we hope to return for a couple of days in April when the weather is better for exploring Gibralter and La Linea. Also special mention to the night staff, Sandra, who found my wife's coat in the business centre and took the time to figure out who it belonged to so she could return it. Gracias.

Room Tip: Request water side, 3rd floor (4th unfortuantely is for smokers!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having just returned from Gibraltar for friends wedding, the wedding group all decided to stay at the AC La Linea Hotel just across the border from Gibraltar. The hotels interior was very modern with the majority of the rooms to the front of the hotel having balconies with sea views. The area around the hotel was not the best but still a pleasant walk along the promanarde towards the border into Gibraltar or 5 minutes in a taxis. Overall the hotel was very clean with helpful staff and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBoughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We flew into Gibraltar for a winter break and decided to stay on the Spanish side of the border. The AC is a 5 Euro cab ride from the frontier and is a nice, clean comfortable place to stay. Our room was fine and we had a view out to the water, decent shower, minibar etc (though the minibar is charged, not free as some of the old reviews state).
The complaints raised by some of the other reviewers seem to revolve around the bar and the area around the hotel. The bar was never really open when we were there, but you could buy drinks from reception and you could also order drinks once the kitchen was open at 8.00pm.
La Linea itself is a bit scruffy and the apartment blocks along the waterfront by the hotel look run down, but we didn't have any issues or feel unsafe walking at night.
Overall I thought the hotel was good value and our 68 Euro rate included a buffet breakfast as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,696 reviews
1.9 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,017 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
2.4 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel La Linea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel La Linea

Property: AC Hotel La Linea
Address: Calle Caireles 2, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel La Linea 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel La Linea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels La Linea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing