We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is my home”
Review of AC Hotel La Linea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel La Linea
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nothing to say.
Facing the Rock, the best size hotel with well designed room. Breakfast buffet is another delight with good jamon and zumo naranja. This is my home to repeat forever.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank remler250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 688 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had planned a second visit in April but cancelled knowing my friends (40+ females) would not be comfortable at this hotel. My daughter and I choose this hotel for its proximity to Gibraltar, which is a plus. Parking was on the street out front in a sketchy looking neighborhood. Reception staff was very nice but the rooms were noisy, lacked privacy (typical AC glass bathroom door that faced the toilet!) and had a huge glass uncurtained bathroom window. After we opened our windows to let in some air (no airconditioning in March or April) and realizing that we could see other guests bathing and using the facilities, we decided to shower and undress in the dark. I would have preferred an ocean view than a view of the neighbors. We decided not to eat at the hotel and walked to a nearby grocery after dark. The neighborhood, although run down, felt safe enough with families and young people in the streets.
I would suggest the AC Algeciras in lieu of this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoBoomermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent location for visiting Gibralter. Jose on the front desk was very helpful orienting us to La Linea and the border crossing, recommended a nice restaurant, and the next day gave us very good advice concerning the day's weather (much rain and a wind alert!). This latter advice aided our decision to leave early, but because we were so pleased with the staff and hotel we hope to return for a couple of days in April when the weather is better for exploring Gibralter and La Linea. Also special mention to the night staff, Sandra, who found my wife's coat in the business centre and took the time to figure out who it belonged to so she could return it. Gracias.

Room Tip: Request water side, 3rd floor (4th unfortuantely is for smokers!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having just returned from Gibraltar for friends wedding, the wedding group all decided to stay at the AC La Linea Hotel just across the border from Gibraltar. The hotels interior was very modern with the majority of the rooms to the front of the hotel having balconies with sea views. The area around the hotel was not the best but still a pleasant walk along the promanarde towards the border into Gibraltar or 5 minutes in a taxis. Overall the hotel was very clean with helpful staff and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonBoughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We flew into Gibraltar for a winter break and decided to stay on the Spanish side of the border. The AC is a 5 Euro cab ride from the frontier and is a nice, clean comfortable place to stay. Our room was fine and we had a view out to the water, decent shower, minibar etc (though the minibar is charged, not free as some of the old reviews state).
The complaints raised by some of the other reviewers seem to revolve around the bar and the area around the hotel. The bar was never really open when we were there, but you could buy drinks from reception and you could also order drinks once the kitchen was open at 8.00pm.
La Linea itself is a bit scruffy and the apartment blocks along the waterfront by the hotel look run down, but we didn't have any issues or feel unsafe walking at night.
Overall I thought the hotel was good value and our 68 Euro rate included a buffet breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just read the last review and I must be staying in a different hotel. La linea is a run down area,awful hardly any sleep the first night as the air conditioning was not working, spoke to receptionist the next morning who virtually said tough, asked to speak to manager who was not available, made it known I would be speaking to Marriott direct.
Went back to room and the phone was ringing, offered to change our room to a room in the back, which we accepted. Forget the air-conditioning it doesn't work if you want to sleep in less than 16 degrees.
I would like to advise everyone that there is no FREE mini bar this has been changed recently, no bar,no proper restaurant, breakfast is a joke, no eggs available. By the way watch where you walk,dogs mess every where.Will do a final review when I get home

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

From the outset, AC La Linea looked amazing in appearance throughout. All the facilities are clear and attentive to everyone's needs. Staff very helpful and polite. In my opinion anyone who would stay in this hotel would be extremely satisfied with their stay. Location is also brilliant as situated amidst Gibraltar and Algeciras.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshM1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,019 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,087 reviews
1.9 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.3 mi away
NH Campo de Gibraltar
NH Campo de Gibraltar
#1 of 4 in Los Barrios
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel La Linea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel La Linea

Address: Calle Caireles 2, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range: $62 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel La Linea 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your AC Hotel La Linea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels La Linea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing