We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gibraltar Visit”
Review of Hostal Margarita

Hostal Margarita
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Margarita
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gibraltar Visit”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place is about a 15 minute walk across the border to Gibraltar. The rooms are well appointed with eve amenity you might need. The TV is small though and not the flat screen you are more apt to find Tuesdays. The proprietor was very helpful with info on locations and eating places. Having parking at the front door was perfect. The streets around the hostal don't look to nice but a ORT walk away is a great plaza and commercial area. There are ample places to eat in and around the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wench117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torre del Mar, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The DOG FRIENDLY Hostal Margarita is well presented, clean and simple. No frills. It is situated in central La Línea de la Concepción which is a safe 15 minutes walk to the Gibralter border crossing. Staff are friendly and most helpful. I can't praise them enough. If you are willing to plan ahead; take own kettle, mugs, coffee etc. it makes your stay much more comfortable. Though there is a snack and coffee vending machine on the first floor. The hotel staff are happy to recommend one or more of the many eating places nearby. The beds are comfortable and clean. If you are a light sleeper it might be sensible to take a room at the rear of the hotel as La Línea de la Concepción is a Spanish working town and comes with the normal associated noise. I would not hesitate to recommmend this simple, clean, hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper it might be sensible to take a room at the rear of the hotel as La Línea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cheap, clean and well located for trips to Gibraltar, or for exploring southern Spain.

Rooms are comfortable and larger than most, more expensive hotels. Free wifi in the public area.

Compared to some of the truly awful hostals in La Linea, the Hostal Margarita stands head and shoulders above.

If the Asur or AC hotels are full, or too expensive, this hostal is a perfectly acceptable alternative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gib_Minty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 4 nights there in June 2012. It suited our needs, we were very happy with the attention we received and our stay there was a happy one with no problems at all. We have recommended Hostal La Margarita to friends and family and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjimex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troms
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this hostal in july. And we can recomend it to other. 53 euro pr night, the room was clean and nice. Free parking and free wifi. There was a coffe maskin, and a snack maskin there with ok prices.

Only negative thing was that the people in the front desk was not so good in english.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MP-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed here, in La linea at the end of touring Anadalucia, as we wanted to be close to Gibraltar airport. Hostal is in a good location, with a short walk from the bus station and airport. It's close to the main square in the old centre and although no breakfast is provided, there are plenty of cafes close at hand (hostal does have hot drinks machine and vending machine on first floor).
Windows double glazed and although on the front of the hostal (with great views of the 'Rock' of Gibraltar) next to a busy road, we could hardly hear a sound. Simple, clean and basic, but a great price. Only offputting thing was the floor in the room (brown, ridged floor tiles) which looked dirty, but this was really down to the choice of tiles.
Good restaurant to the right of the church 'La Sorrenna' and smart, old fashioned 'Modelo' (about half way along main pedestrian street) with very ornate staircase - and good coffee!
My tip would be to stay here if you wanted to explore Gibraltar.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Campana
Hostal La Campana
#3 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,848 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,048 reviews
1.5 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Margarita

Property: Hostal Margarita
Address: Avenida Espana 38, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing