We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Bowling Green

The Bowling Green
Ranked #51 of 75 Restaurants in Otley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Visited Wetherspoons Bowling Green in Otley on Monday 25th Nov. Having had good reports about Wetherspoons in general.The wife and I decided to call in for lunch.The meals we had and the drinks were acceptable and reasonably priced .I had a pint of bitter and the wife a glass of wine which was served in a glass that had never been washed from the previous customer. This was taken back to the bar and poured into another glass which turned out to be as filthy as the first. This went on for three glasses so in the end the barman tipped it into a half pint beer glass. Needless to say this was our first and last visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    52
    25
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weatherspoons should be embarrassed.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A very busy Saturday lunch time, but it was still disappointing to find empty glasses on every available table. When I asked a member of staff if they could clear them from the table we had chosen, we were greeted with a huff and a dirty look. We ordered 2 pints of bitter (both very nice) and a meal each. We had to wait 30 minutes for the food, but as it was so busy we had expected a wait (although we were not informed of a wait for food when ordering). I had a chicken breast burger, which was fine if you like your chicken luke warm. My partner ordered a chicken tikka masala. The server tried his best to disguise his removal of the plastic bag that the rice had been cooked in from the plate, but unfortunately for him this is not something that can be done easily and half the rice ended up on the table and floor. No apology or offer to get more rice to replace what was lost. Also, the meal was lacking the mango chutney as advertised on the menu. We were not asked if our meals were OK at any point. I visited the ladies, which I found to be dirty and the cubicle I chose, the flush broken. We would have complained at the time, but as the staff had already been rude we decided to complain direct to Weatherspoons when we got home.....we await their response. Overall, a very disappointing visit to what is usually a good pub and a good chain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GazandBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“wrong order, no veg”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were told after paying for the meal that the vegetables had run out for the roast of the day, and that they could only supply peas, which my mother-in-law does not like. There was no offer of a partial refund to cover the lack of vegetables in the meal. We see vegetables as a staple part of a meal.
My wife ordered gammon, egg and chips. When it arrived it was only 5oz not the 10oz expected and no mushroom. We hadn't realised that this meal appears twice on the menu and it seemed that the member of staff didn't know either, so had automatically put down the afternoon special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NPI338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Busy Bank Holiday Friday Lunch-time”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just fancied going to Otley for the day, happened to be August Bank Holiday Friday.
Large busy mixed clientele Wethies.
Impromptu queue at the bat which worked well until a local thought he'd just stand at the bar and get his beer.
Food and drink order efficiently taken and delivered about 10 minute later as specified.
Steak pudding etc OK as was the jacket potato and chilli.
No one asked us if our order was alright; OK it was busy.
Generally a nice atmosphere.
We weren't that taken with Otley, didn't 'seem as good / nice' as we remembered, probably won't return to the town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Bowling Green had a great choice on their menu at competitive prices. We enjoyed our vist and the food was good. Staff very pleasant.
]

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mafeTipperaryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bowling Green also viewed

 

Been to The Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing