We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fish and chips”
Review of The Cove in Otley - CLOSED

The Cove in Otley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great fish and chips”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

whenever we have a craving for really brilliant fish and chips we travel to otley and "the cove" ,never have we been disappointed by the quality and quantity of the portions,we have been going to the cove about ten years now and it never alters and is always value for money,quick and cheerful staff ,no better fish shop/restaurant arond here

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnaldleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    8
    6
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Charming place, Great food & service”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stumbled across the Cove whilst having a drive out with the family, We were given a table upstairs which was really nice with the narrow stairs and old fashioned room as the building is really old. Nobody else was in the room so we had free run of the upstairs which was nice with 2 chaotic kids!
We were given plenty of bread and butter and the service was great, i asked for more bread & butter in which wasnt a problem and brought me as much as i wanted.
The meal was really nice and i wouldnt hesitate to go back, paid on card and the price was reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb! Worth the wait.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have eaten fish and chips from here a few times and have never been dissapointed. Fish is the best and chips are plentiful, though after being in otley hundreds of times it wasnt until today that my girlfriend and I decided to try out the restaurant for a lunch time meal. Have to say we will be back again in the near future. The service is excellent very friendly staff and food is just brilliant. I advise anyone who is in Otley next fancies fish n chips, to try out this little joint. Doesnt look much from outside and would expect it to be a bit of a squeeze however we found the restaurant to be very comfortable and were very pleased with the service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCCond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorkshire.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply the Best.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have made many visits to this little cafe &, as yet, I have not found anywhere to better it. Food is cooked to order & there is an extensive menu. Quick service from very friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkie039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First visit won't be my last”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Had an emotional day yesterday and headed to The Cove with my dear sister, whose been many times. The food did not disappoint and the personal service was superb in the restaurant - Great place, will be back with other family members.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mr and Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cove in Otley also viewed

 
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing