We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, smokey and our clothes smell now.”
Review of Heebies - CLOSED

Heebies
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: American, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: A beautiful listed building set in the heart of Otley with entrances on Market Street and Boroughgate. Still with original features but with a modern and clean interior and decor. Beautiful clean and modern facilities on the inside and a real fantastic building history on one of Otleys most historic and traditional streets.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Me and a friend went here for an early lunch. It was smokey from the open kitchen which started to hurt our eyes so we went to cancel our order and to pay and got told that they did not want customers like us and to get out. We did not prevoke this.

4  Thank RubyBlue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebs120, Owner at Heebies, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hello.

First of all may I take this opportunity to say I will not be thanking you for this review as I was the one who asked you to leave.

Allow me to clarify the situation.
You and a friend came in and ordered three drinks and two jacket potatoes from us, one of which the topping has to be made to order, after 15 minutes your potatoes were ready to be brought up to you where you said to a member of staff that you didn't want them and were leaving. when we offered to pack them up to take out with you, you refused and said to us that we cant make you eat or pay for the food you ordered.

At this point I said to you that your behaviour was disgraceful and that we didn't even want the money for the drinks you had already consumed we just wanted you and your friend to leave our café as we do not need people so careless and rude.

As for the smoke upstairs, unfortunately we are limited with our options in preventing this as we are a double A listed building which does not allow us to install ventilation in the windows or walls, we did however open the windows and doors despite the cold it let in the café downstairs!

We feel this was merely an excuse to leave without paying and this review is in response to us making it clear that such behaviour is not acceptable in public and asking you to leave and NOT return.

This business is our livelihood and taking advantage of it does not sit well with us nor do I imagine it would with any other independent business owner.

Regards

SARAH

HEEBIES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 83 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

I regularly stop by Heebies for something to eat and drink, the staff are wonderful and polite, the food is fresh and locally sourced and the atmosphere is relaxed. Exactly what should be expected from a café.

Heebies serves all the usual British food that you would expect from a café, from bacon butties to toasted teacakes but what makes Heebies stand out from the repetition of bog standard cafés around Otley is the wide selection on their menu that other cafés don't offer.

Heebies is Clean, Professional, relaxing and friendly and
I highly recommend you pay Heebies a visit on your next trip to Otley.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wnicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebs120, Owner at Heebies, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving a review of your experience with us at Heebies.

We do everything to try and make everyone that comes in to our café/shop feel welcome and do the upmost to please and satisfy and we are pleased to hear we have on this occasion.

It isn't just a job for us it is our livelihood and we are really happy to hear when people think we do it right.

Once again, thank you and we hope to be serving you again soon :)

Regards,
Adam and Sarah - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stopped by for a coffee and to have a break - we found, again, the staff friendly and the service good. The bacon rolls are to be recommended and the local tea cakes are worth a try! There's a lot of cafés to try in Otley, many good, but Heebies has to be amongst the best.

1  Thank Underground_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebs120, Owner at Heebies, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving a review of your experience with us at Heebies.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us, and are very happy you class us as a friendly spot, it's what makes what we do worthwhile when we hear we are doing our job whilst making people happy, as we put a lot of effort into everything we do.

Thank you very much again for you complementary review, and taking the time out to leave it :)

Regards,
Adam and Sarah - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Not sure the mix works well, and they refused my daughter the toilet a few minutes later. Poor attitude when we had just paid for lunch there.

Thank DumontsInMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebs120, Owner at Heebies, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

First of all thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry you didn't like your experience with us at Heebies, and we are sorry you don't like our mix of Café and Shop, we are aware we can't please everyone.

Please let us explain why we have a customer only policy for our toilet, this is simply because we get used as a public toilet and thoroughfare quite often, we are very proud of our clean facilities we offer and this takes a lot of time and maintenance, unfortunately on many occasions our toilets have been misused and vandalised, so we have to offer our facilities to Customers only.

If you had been in earlier in the day and come back in and this had been explained to a member of staff this would not have been a problem and if this was the case we can only apologise, however we cannot recall anyone coming in to use the facilities that were refused and we have spoken to all members of staff in over the weekend (we are assuming this was the time of your visit).

We wish to politely remind you that trip advisor is intended for reviewing a businesses for their food, service, cleanliness and premises. not to criticise their policies, we feel this is an issue that could have been explained and dealt with in store.

Thank you again and if you wish to discuss this further please contact us on 01943 466 856 or email us at contact@heebiesotley.co.uk

Regards,
Adam and Sarah,
Owners - Heebies Coffee House and Gifts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Visted heebies in otley at the weekend would go again and definatly recommend to others.The food and staff was to a high standard.very welcoming and very clean with lovely coffees and delicious home made cakes :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank keeley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebs120, Owner at Heebies, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Heebies on trip advisor.

We are really glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and thank you so much for your very kind review, it really does mean a lot to us. We are glad you enjoyed your coffee and cake, it takes a lot of time to make all our cakes but it is all worthwhile when we get messages and reviews of appreciation, we also love our coffee (we get through quite a lot during the day!!), we tried MANY before deciding on a roast we were happy to serve!

Thank you again for taking the time out to leave us this lovely review, like we always say, it is because of the lovely reviews we continue to get which help us continue to grow as a business during tough economic times, so THANK YOU! :)

Adam & Sarah - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heebies also viewed

 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing