We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of The Roebuck

The Roebuck
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Otley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A traditional Yorkshire Pub serving honest Yorkshire Fayre, Cask Ales,Continental Beers and fine wines with views over the Wharfe Valley
leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went to The Roebuck on a recommendation from a friend. It lived up to what she had said. Everything was fab. Even down the fact there were dogs in the bar. We loved it and will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laquen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    100
    36
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“5 OUT OF 5”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited the Roebuck on Christmas day for lunch. Between the six of us we tried most things on the menu and everyone was very impressed by the quality of the food and service. All the staff and Chris the owner could not of been more accommodating and we will definitely return to sample the standard menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KP5691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Off-putting!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

On first entry the pub/restaurant looked lovely and was clean and very tidy! My husband and I had been walking and decided to try some pub grub. We entered and bought our drinks whilst we perused the menu! Great choices, prices a little steep but hey ho! Barmaids friendly and helpful. We were sitting reading the menu when we noticed dogs in the area. Now we have nothing against dogs as we have our own and frequently bring him into pubs when we're walking! He loves to lie down at our feet sleeping. What put me off was the dog sitting begging at the table and his owner feeding him snippets off his plate, putting them in a bowl beside the table for the dog to eat! All in view of other people who were thinking of dining! We didn't and we left!

Helpful?
Thank Anamcara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overrated Sunday lunch”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We went here to meet our son, on arrival all staff were very welcoming, starter was good,then after a long wait( the restaurant was empty) the main meals arrived which were very average and had been under heat lamp, we would not go back !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank katy_dias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Pleasant British Menu, and fine eatery...”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I had heard good reports, so we decided to try it out, appealing British food menu.
To start had a trio of sausages, this was explained as three locally sourced sausages with a mustard/mayo dip, Unfortunately this was a trio of Pork sausages not exactly what I was thinking Pork and pepper, a Cumberland and a pork sausage... the sausages were good, but would of been better if they were a little more thought, rather then just pork, I would recommend the accompanying dip, would be excellent with a steak....
Main's had the The Roebuck Pie (Venison), This was excellent and a proper home made pie, definitely five stars, do like a good pie, with greens and gravy and my friend had 'Slow Cooked Pork Belly, Crackling Mash, Honey Roast Parsnips, Scrumpy Reduction' with sides beef dripping chips and roasted beetroot.. all cooked to perfection.
The service was good, the knowledge of the menu by waitresses could be better, but all in all a good experience, and would recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank My_name_is_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck also viewed

 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Roebuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing