We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pies - Chicken and ham mmmmmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Roebuck

The Roebuck
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Otley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A traditional Yorkshire Pub serving honest Yorkshire Fayre, Cask Ales,Continental Beers and fine wines with views over the Wharfe Valley
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pies - Chicken and ham mmmmmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a great evening. There were 5 of us, all of which had different tastes. I had the chicken and ham pie, it was great and really filling. I have to disagree with the previous review saying it was like a casserole. the pie was creamy and full of shreaded chicken and ham with loads of mushrooms
Great job to all the staff up there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gizmo2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    99
    34
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited the Roebuck on a Sunday as a party of 18 to celebrate my husbands birthday. The majority of the adults had the £10 roast which was excellent, I had the salmon wellington from the specials menu which was really delicious. The children were very happy with the young bucks menu. The staff were very helpful, and the service was very good. The Roebuck is a lovely pub with great decor and a nice atmosphere and is highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshiregirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great northern food especially the pies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

No microwave cuisine of the world here this is solid local pub food made on the spot. The quality of the cooking has improved since it opened and there are a greater number of specials. The core of the menu are the pies which are excellent. The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu and the specials. I am a big eater but I think that the portion size could been reduced by 25 per cent leaving room for the puddings which sounded excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderfully revamped building - terrible food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've driven past this place and watched the way it has been rebuilt before opening. The quality of the building work, design and interior are, without doubt, superb.

It looked well worth a try.

Bottom line first. Brilliant staff. Appalling food.

If you'd seen a chicken pie on the menu, would you be a little surprised when levering off the crust to find seriously thin and colourless stock with lumps of meat in it. Now imagine that the taste didn't even meet the low expectations. That was my wife's meal.

I had a burger. There's not much you can get wrong with one of those, is there ? Would you like a list ? Fast food outlets serve them warm and they taste of something. This did neither of those things.

Rose, who served our meal, was more than helpful and if the kitchen worked to her standards, Michelin stars would be heading this way.

A mile or two further takes you into Otley and the consistently good food emporium that is Kork's Wine bar.

We'll be driving that bit further next time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Isobarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“fires, real pies and good lager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Like the previous review,I have to agree the pies are great. I had The Roebuck pie and it was truely a real pie, with real pastry and tender meat. I have long wished to find a real pie with shortcrust not puff pastry! You have to pay extra for sides including vegetables and potatoes, which is a hidden cost so approx £9/£10 for a pie and £3 for two dishes inc chips or mash and a portion of veg. The pie was huge though! My husband had the burger

The surroundings are really nice with a couple of fires, slate floors, the staff are friendly and helpful.

Good premium lager too, which is important to us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebuck Pub T, Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for this review. We look forward to you coming again to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck also viewed

 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Roebuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing