We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub - especially if you like pies!”
Review of The Roebuck

The Roebuck
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Otley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A traditional Yorkshire Pub serving honest Yorkshire Fayre, Cask Ales,Continental Beers and fine wines with views over the Wharfe Valley
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Formerly known as the Spite - the pub has just had a major refurb and is definately worth a visit. Good selection of beers and an inteesting menu, which included many different pies in a variety of pastry - proper pie, not the lazy casserole with a lid you get most places these days. We really enjoyed it - the only gripe is that you cant book a table for less than 6, so if you're travelling far you have no idea of the waiting times - lets hope you change this policy. Overall a great pie pub.

Thank BinnyHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebuck Pub T, Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 308 of 355 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

An above average pub but nothing different, special or innovative. With a bit of imagination this place could do more.the food we had was fine, wines were so so and service and setting above average.

Thank sankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebuck Pub T, Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again to experience a different side of The Roebuck. We have lots of events coming up and hope they satisfy your taste for diversity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This looks a very appealing place on arrival - nicely fitted out.

Staff took interest in our arrival and a table was found quickly even though we had not booked for a Saturday evening. The menu was presented well by a member of staff and daily specials discussed so we understood all options. The menu is heavy on pies.

We ordered a chicken ham and mushroom pie + veg and a smoked haddock casserole Then the problems started. It took 15 minutes to get two pints of cider to the table. The food arrived 45 mins later - it was NOT a busy evening. The chicken pie arrived in a pot with a loose and wet pastry cover. When the pastry was lifted the contents of the pie were small bits of chicken and a few chopped mushroom in what can only be decribed as a warm milky substance clearly not right. The casserole looked ok. The chicken pie was returned to the kitchen and we were invited to order an alternative so a game pie was ordered. That came 15mins later by which time the veg was cold and I had eaten the casserole (which again had a watery base to it. This is not fine dining or even good pub grub.

We were given a complimentary coffee each but the damage had already been done.

And for good measure the toilet stunk on the night we were there which is always a bad sign for poor hygiene.

So I wouldnt bother if I were you - there is better to be had in Otley at better prices. What a shame - the owner really needs to sort this out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank honestreviewer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

a previous reviewer stated a pint of black sheep was £4.20 this is not the case, its more like £3 also whilst on the point of the beer it has always been top quality, and a great choice from local independent brewerys like copper dragon, ilkley, kirkstall and brigehouse. the food has been very good on the two times ive eaten. and it is in a glorious location with great views over lower wharfedale.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebuck Pub T, Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had lunch at the Roebuck on Boxing Day, so I'm reviewing what was a limited menu. However, I suspect (since Korks is connected to the newly refurbished and extended Roebuck) that a full menu could be pretty good.

We were a party of eight, and the service was friendly and prompt, and the pies and veg excellent, as were the deserts.

It's good that they haven't tried to replicate Korks wine bar - instead this is a good pub with good ales and great views over the valley. Really looking forward to trying an evening meal here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebuck Pub T, Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your views on our full menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck also viewed

 
Otley, West Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 
Askwith, North Yorkshire
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Roebuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing