We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freezing cold, damp & mouldy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Horse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Otley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
peterborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Freezing cold, damp & mouldy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the 'family room'. It was damp, cold and by the morning the windows had produced a bucket full of water.

The bed was clean & comfortable and we slept well - despite having to be fully clothed (fleeces and all) to combat the cold.

The en-suite was colder than the room with no form of heating at all and the shower cubicle came with mould.

Just along the corridor was a good sized portion of the wall dripping with damp & mould.

For £6 more we could have stayed at the Marriott down the road - warmth, cleanliness and breakfast included. The Blackhorse was a mistake that wont be made again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k20jmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
55
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, Lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Nice room. Very comfy bed and the pillows are amazing. Bedroom was clean, well decorated and really pleasant. Easy to check in - very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was fine but spoilt by the fact it was freezing in the restaurant. Room was also spoilt by it being chilly and the shower was unusable as it was so cold in there.

I would recommend this place in warmer weather or if you take your own fan heater!! It's a shame that it was only the heating (or lack of it) that spoilt our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancashirelass80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Black Horse due to a family wedding at the nearby Chevin Country Lodge. The whole experience was thoroughly enjoyable and the staff made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived to the time we left.

We had travelled with my partner's parents and booked 2 small doubles. We were advised by the owner of which room would be a better benefit to the parents as the bed in our room was up against the wall. Certainly this wasn't an issue for us and the room was a decent size for the description. The other room was bigger and I certainly wouldn't have described it as small!

The hotel opened a Chinese restaurant in September so this is the only food they provide on site for dinner. We were very happy to eat in the restaurant and the food was lovely with good portion sizes. They were also very accomodating to one of our group who does not eat Chinese and provided a plain meal of equally good quality.

Breakfast in the morning was very welcome, with a full english, tea/coffee, juice and toast. We couldn't fault it.

Overall we were really pleased we found the Black Horse and would be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham Worcestershire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice clean bedrooms.Comfy bed.But! no mirror in room 5, only a small wardrobe panel with no socket near.So hairdryer would not reach.No lamp shades.No chair.Bathroom was freezing.No radiators or any heating, cold tiled floor.No blind or curtains at the window in bathroom.Shower cubicle very small and grimey.Plus the shower head kept falling out of holder.No early breakfast as they had lost breakfast chef.No cereals or fruit on display.The cooked breakfast was fine, but for £7.00 pp it should be.Parking limited.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just back from three nights at The Black Horse in the centre of Otley. An excellent room on the first floor, very clean and tidy. Although described as a "small double" we had plenty of room and a full-size double bed. Shower Room en suite - all as to be expected. Breakfast was plentiful, hot and of excellent quality. Chinese restaurant open every evening provided really good and value for money food - service by friendly and helpful staff was of top quality. Overall a really good value-for-money three nights, excellent hospitality - Manager and staff all great. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter and Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

ny wife and i stayed here on a "living social" deal for 2 nights 11/12th september.the room was large ( number 7 ) and clean and so was the bathroom and although it was a bit of a hike up the stairs we did not find it too difficult.the breakfast was hot and served quickly.the staff were very friendly and we had a free bottle of wine when we dined on the first night.the meal was also good,and the wine was a decent aussie ( not cheap plonk!!) the parking was a little tight,but seeing as i can park on a pound coin,it did not bother me.all in all it was great value for money and i would certainly recommend it.looking at some of the reviews i think that some people expect 4 or 5 star luxury for very little outlay.they need to get real!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after purchasing a deal through living social. The shower room was very small. They were having a VIP do for the opening of their new chinese resturant, so there was no food avaliable to eat that night. It was noisy until the early hours, but that is to be expected from a pub. This is ok for a lads weekend but not for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 724JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
1.2 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
5.0 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
6.3 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Hotel

Property: The Black Horse Hotel
Address: Westgate, Otley LS21 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Black Horse Hotel is set in the heart of the friendly market town of Otley. Under new management from July 2014, the Black Horse is ideally placed in the heart of Wharfedale, just to the North West of Leeds and only 10 minutes from Leeds/Bradford airport. Otley is a great base from which to explore the countryside of the stunning Yorkshire Dales and the many attractions of both West and North Yorkshire, with Leeds being only a few minutes away and the beautiful Spa town of Harrogate only 12 miles away. The family friendly pub serves locally sourced food from 9.00 Am - 9.00 Pm, the specialities being fresh made, stone baked pizzas and burgers from our local award-winning butcher. We have 9 guest rooms, with 2 being family suites each with 2 separate bedrooms. All our rooms have newly refitted en-suite facilities. The function room on the first floor can host meetings, parties and other special occasions, with capacity for up to 125 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing