We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great value for money”
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We really loved this hotel. Staff and service excellent- esp the lovely man who ran the restuarant. Food on the sat evening was extremely good. Sunday must have been the chef's night off as the food overcooked and poorer quality overall but still ok.
The main bar/lounge is cosy and has open fires, comfy sofas etc.
Lot of the rooms are in little wooden chalets set in woodlands and not attached to the hotel -quirky and romantic .
Room itself had been refurbished very well with simple but stylish decor. It was very wet weather when we stayed so this meant mud trailed in your room from the access paths in the woods. The only other down side is the walls to next room were very thin ( as once the rooms formed one self catering chalet and have been split into indiv rooms) so you can hear everything from the next room - whole conversations! You hear planes too its very near Leeds airport
Overall this hotel represents great value for a romantic break away.
I have used a lot of the crerer hotel chain in past few years and they are refurbishing and improving as time goes on

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2009
Many thanks for the recent review, I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our magnificent hotel.

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the staff these will be passed on to those concerned and I am sure that they will continue to offer their very best for each and every guest.

I do hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Regards

Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    506
    325
    178
    107
See reviews for
329
905
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

An excellent hotel in a beautiful setting. The log cabin structure fitted perfectly in the wooded country park.
The a la carte menu was good with the food very nicely presented.
The room, although a little dark due to the wooden structure, was fine and the bed comfortable.
All the staff were most pleasant and helpfull.
A good location for country walks with great views and easy access to Ilkley (Moor), Otley - good range of shops, and Bronte country.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2009
Many thanks for your recent review and the kind comments regarding the setting, food and staff.

I am so glad you enjoyed the unique ambiance of the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Quirky hotel, looks like a swiss chalet, wood, wood and more wood but it is so warm and cosy inside with fantastic grounds. For plane spotters, Leeds Airport is within shouting distance so would be a good stop over if you are going on holiday. Food was really excellent, spoiled only by the "gentleman" who insisted in blowing his nose trumpet like, at breakfast and dinner alike with no thought for the other guests. Hasn't he seen the adverts to use disposable tissues, same hankie two days running, not hygienic, the guest at the table next to him was visibly put off her food. (He knows who he is!!!!)

Try to ask for aaground floor room, they have a little patio and if you are a non-smoker you don't have to put up with smokers standng downstairs and the smoke drifting up to your room.

All in all would use the hotel again, Crerar appear to be reburbishing throughout the chain and getting better as we stay in each hotel, Which one next? Possibly Isle of Mull hopefully.

Thanks to all the staff at Chevin, they beat our next stop Whites at Bolton (for the BWFC v Chelsea game) handsdown for value and cheerfullness.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleopatraScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Many thanks for you recent review, your kind comments regading the food and staff were much appreciated.

I am glad you noticed the refurbishment works that are ongoing, our newly refurbished lodge rooms are now on sale and look fabulous, dont forget to ask about availability of these when booking!

I am sorry that your enjoyment of the restaurant was spoilt by the inconsideration of another guest, we try to ensure the ambiance is perfect to accompany every meal and will continue to do so.

I hope you enjoy your future visits to Crerar Hotels and hopefully we will see you here at Chevin in the not to distant future.

Regards

Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2009

I have already contacted the hotel to let them know how fantastic they were on my wedding day but i thought i would share my thoughts on here in case anyone else was thinking of having their wedding at the Chevin and if you are thinkinhg about it - I can't recommend it enough!

I would like to thank the hotel for making our wedding reception completely amazing. Everything was spot on, the tables that were set up for us were fab, food was fab and the staff were fantastic. When we first arrived at the hotel, after our ceremony which took place in a church in Otley Rob was there to greet us with Pimms. Rob was fantastic, he was so polite to everyone, he was on the ball and knew exactly what he was doing and nothing was too much trouble, he was great, completely faultless and he was working so hard so a massive thank you to him. He even asked my Dad if he could get him a drink to settle his nerves before his speech which I thought I was lovely touch, a lot of our guests commented on how great he was. Everyone seemed to know him as well by the end of the night!

One of my guests accidently knocked over some red wine onto his shirt which i later found out, and he went to reception to see if they could help, and they happened to have a white shirt available for him!

The guys on the bar were great too, friendly and helpful, the waitresses packing up our cupcakes in their boxes were lovely, the receptionist was lovely, the resident DJ was really great, him and my husband communcated alot with eachother before the wedding so the song selection was just right - i would highly recommend booking him too.

Our bridal suite was lovely, i would recommend the suite in the hotel rather than the cabin, I'm so glad I picked that one, it was brillant to just nip to my room for a few minutes to freshen up whereas if i picked the cabin it would have been quite a trek.

It was all just perfect and I don't think it could have possibly gone any better. All of the guests thought it was a stunning location outside and inside and they were all very impressed with everything. I would not want to change one thing!

So a massive thank you, it was a pleasure working with Sarah on the run-up to the wedding, she was so helpful and accommodating, The best wedding planner i have ever met.

Thank !

Helen

xxx

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
Many thanks for your kind review, the comments are most welcome by the team here at Chevin.

We love looking after all the weddings that come to the hotel and Sarah, Rob and Tom have a real passion for this side of our business.

I know Rob had a great time with your guests who were all there to help make your day special.

Wishing you both a veru happy life together

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2009

so near to Yeadon Airport but surprisingly quiet although there was a wedding party in the main building we could have been miles away. The staff were excellent helpful ,but not over attentive. Food was good although I don't see the need for a micro salad a few extra leaves would have been nice, veg perfectly cooked meat local but nothing organic as promised on the web site.
The down side no Timothy Taylor beer either of the nights we stayed could have been more of a range of local beers, no Jacuzzi either of the days ruins the idea of a spa break, log cabins great idea although be wary of the step from the bathroom!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2009
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay.

I am sorry that on this occasion the jacuzzi was out of commision, I can assure you that we do try to avoid this at all costs but specific parts were required and ordered imediately and fitted at the earliest possible time.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, as always these are much appreciated.

We endeavour to offer as much locally sourced food as possible on all our menus and will consider more organic options in the future.

Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed at the Chevin Country Park Hotel last weekend for a family wedding and were extremely disappointed at the overall standards of the hotel. Had it not been necessary to stay overnight due to the distance of the wedding from our home we would have checked out immediately as it is certainly not 4 star standard as we were led to believe from the website and brochure. We stayed in one of the woodland lodges and can ony describe this as extremely shabby in both decor and furnishings and in serious need of a major refurbishment. The furniture in the living room was mismatched, very worn, stained and the kitchen had clearly not been changed since the 1980's -we didn't feel that the kichen was hygienic enough to use. The utensils and plates were disgusting, chipped and worn, again mismatched and like everything else looked like they had been aquired from a junk shop circa 1980. I regularly stay in serviced apartments in London on business and although the prices are comparable the standards at the Chevin are incomparably low. We would never want to stay here again and would certainly not recommend this to family or friends either.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon_Business_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
many thanks for your recent review, as always we value all feedback which we receive.

I fully accept some of the rational behind your comments regarding the some of the woodland lodges, we are aware of some of the shortcomings you have highlighted and hope you took note of the refurbishment work that is currently underway that will cover all of the lodge rooms over the next 4 months.

These will be an amazing addition to the rest of this fantastic site and I am sure that they will be enjoyed by many guests.

I do hope you enjoyed the other areas of the hotel you encountered and the staff you came across.

Regards
Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Having returned from a 4 night mid-week break at this hotel, I have to say that it has been a most relaxing stay. The layout is very 'Centreparcs' with lodges dotted around the forest, but we stayed in a room in the main building on a half-board basis. The room was clean and very comfortable, with adequate supplies of tea and coffee. We booked a last minute on-line deal through Easy Breaks, and I must say that it was money well spent, with a very good saving on regular rates at this hotel. Having said that, the service we received was first class, from staff who were always smiling and willing to help (especially the receptionist who booked us in and out). The breakfasts were buffet style, with lots of choice (enough to set you up for a day's exploring), and the dinner was 5 star quality.
I can recommend this hotel, and will certainly pay them a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namdets50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel, we value all feedback which we receive.

The staff are always grateful of positive feedback and your kind comments regarding the food and service are much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
13.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,542 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
12.3 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,535 reviews
2.4 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing