We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$82
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalesway Hotel(Ilkley)(Great Value!)
$74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,939)
Filter reviews
1,939 results
Traveler rating
696
556
369
200
118
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
696
556
369
200
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaster menuhot tubmain buildingoutdoor jacuzzilog cabinoverlooking the lakerelaxing breakafternoon tealeeds bradford airportleisure facilitiesevening meallakeside restaurantcrerar hotelsnight breakbed and breakfastset menublack pudding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,877 - 1,882 of 1,939 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We have recently stayed here for my birthday and it was lovely. We stayed in one of the outside log cabins which was a little outdated (especially the bathroom), but perfectly adequate and cosy, as well as very clean. Outside the snow really set the scene and I wish I had brought my camera, it was gorgeous, especially knowing we were nice and warm inside! The spa pool and the swimming pool were very clean, relaxing and quiet, although we couldn't use the pool in the morning on the second day as there was a 'swimbabes' class. However this was great entertainment (I've never seen anything like it!) and we were perfectly happy to watch from the spa pool.

The food at the restaurant is amazing and very reasonably priced too. I had duck to start with, guinea fowl and sticky toffee pudding. Everything was perfectly cooked and I can't remember the last time I had such a lovely meal. It really made my 21st special and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funky_munky602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. It has to be said that the exceptional snowy weather during your visit added to the pictuesque setting making for the Winter Wonderland you described.

I am glad that you enjoyed to food and the cosy setting the hotel offers and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

We had been here before and enjoyed the location and appreciated the fabric of the building and friendly staff. Food is starting to look very good and even better than some so called "ExpensiveTrendy Bistro Restaurants". New dining room over-looking lake has added some extra class to the dining experience !

A new entrance and cosy open fire at reception says it all.The reception and bar staff clearly know what service is and can deliver it efficiently but in a very friendly manner. Service in restaurant is excellent and matches the food very well in deed.

We had both a room in main hotel then later in our stay a very warm and comfortable lodge in the grounds.

Another excellent experience with this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TENZNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2009

Many thanks for your recent review of the Chevin Country Park Hotel and Spa, my staff and I much appreciate your kind comments and assure you of our commitment to continuing offering an improved level of standards and service across the board.

It is great that the companies continued investment is recognised and that we continue to impress people with our wonderful unique hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Beautiful hotel set in woodland just above Otley Chevin. Close to Otley, Leeds and even the Yorkshire Dales. Solidly built with huge logs. Surprisingly very warm even on a very cold night. Our double room was quite small, but very well equipped and had a brand new flat screen digital tv.
The pool and spa are great, as well as a well-equipped gym. There is a sizeable suana, but no steam room.
Food in the Lakeside Restuarant was excellent. Beautifully presented, but not tiny portions and the vegetables were properly cooked. The presentation of some of the dishes was almost worth the money in its own right. Breakfast was substantial and still very good but you had to ask for things occassionally.
Handy for Leeds-Bradford Airport - although you wouldn't know it with the windows closed.
If you don't fancy the bar, The Royalty is about five minutes walk up the hill and serves excellent Taylors Landlord (there was a handpump in the hotel but it wasn't in use).

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JillandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2009

Thank you for placing a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I am glad that we managed to look after you in keeping with our traditional appoach to customer service.

Your appreciation of the surroundings and woodland setting are welcome.

The handpull in the main bar is very rarely off and we regularly have Timothy Taylors as our guest beer, next time you visit be sure to try a pint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We booked a two day break for New Year with friends. Having looked at Trip Advisor we were a little concerned what we were letting ourselves in for, some of the reviews were a little less than flattering to say the least.
Well apart from a slight problem with hot water on New Year's Eve we have have nothing but good things to see about this hotel. Everthing from the roaring fire in the reception to the frozen lake was just spot on. Special mentions for the staff who could not do enough for you (and always smiling) and the food was as good as we have had anywhere.
Would we go back..............you bet!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RemotecontrollerHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2009

Thank you for your recent review and honest appraisal of our hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that your experience was in keeping with our commitment to customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Booked this Hotel through Easy Breaks, fancied something different from Scotland, and liked the look of this hotel from the Crerar Website,
When we arrived last Friday 2nd Jan reception staff were very friendly and a big glowing coal fire awaiting, unfortunately we were 1 hour early for check in and our room wasn't ready
Food was average, no A La Carte menu available, not every thing on table d'hote menu was available, in one case at dinner wrong food served!!!!,
Room was as seen on Crerar Website, clean tidy and spacious, but cold due to radiator not working properly, we contacted reception and got a small convector heater which radiated some heat,
The pool complex was good, but not supervised, 2nd day there overrun with noisy children, jumping into pool and throwing tennis balls about, and in one case a family had all their 4 children in the jacuzzi, including a baby of about a year old and not wearing any nappies or pampers, just a cozzie, this was the spoiler for us.
The restaurant staff at dinner, The diner was a burden to some of them, they would take your order, then forget to bring it to your table, or when you asked for a menu they took forever to bring one.
The most disappointing at dinner, was no after dinner coffee was on the menu or served in the lounge or bar area, in all other Crerar Hotels coffee is mentioned on the menu's and served in comforable surroundings.
To some this up the restaurant staff at dinner, needed educated and motivated, far to long between being seated, orders taken and food served, ours weren't the only complaint within the Restaurant, come on Crerar bring this lovely hotel up to the same grade and standards as the Isle of Mull, Oban Bay, Loch Fyne, Scotlands Hotel and the rest
Regards
Ian

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holytown-blue-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2009

I am sorry that your recent break did not live up to your expectations and that you were dissappointed by aspects of your stay.

We did offer a reduced menu up until the 4th January as many of our guests were on package breaks, the vast majority of guests were more than happy with the selections and quality offered however I can assure you that our normal excellent A La Carte is now available.

Cooffee is not included on our daily menu however a full coffee selection is always available for a supplement from either the bar or restaurant. I do apologise if this was not conveyed to you.

We do try to monitor all areas of the hotel including the swimming pool and jacuzzi and have notices in place to advise guests of there use. I can only apologise that some guests choose to ignore these signs, this is not encouraged.

I do hope that in the future you have the opportunity to revisit our wonderful hotel so that you may see first hand what many others appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews