We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and woody”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Beautiful hotel set in woodland just above Otley Chevin. Close to Otley, Leeds and even the Yorkshire Dales. Solidly built with huge logs. Surprisingly very warm even on a very cold night. Our double room was quite small, but very well equipped and had a brand new flat screen digital tv.
The pool and spa are great, as well as a well-equipped gym. There is a sizeable suana, but no steam room.
Food in the Lakeside Restuarant was excellent. Beautifully presented, but not tiny portions and the vegetables were properly cooked. The presentation of some of the dishes was almost worth the money in its own right. Breakfast was substantial and still very good but you had to ask for things occassionally.
Handy for Leeds-Bradford Airport - although you wouldn't know it with the windows closed.
If you don't fancy the bar, The Royalty is about five minutes walk up the hill and serves excellent Taylors Landlord (there was a handpump in the hotel but it wasn't in use).

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JillandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2009

Thank you for placing a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I am glad that we managed to look after you in keeping with our traditional appoach to customer service.

Your appreciation of the surroundings and woodland setting are welcome.

The handpull in the main bar is very rarely off and we regularly have Timothy Taylors as our guest beer, next time you visit be sure to try a pint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,772 - 1,778 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2009

We booked a two day break for New Year with friends. Having looked at Trip Advisor we were a little concerned what we were letting ourselves in for, some of the reviews were a little less than flattering to say the least.
Well apart from a slight problem with hot water on New Year's Eve we have have nothing but good things to see about this hotel. Everthing from the roaring fire in the reception to the frozen lake was just spot on. Special mentions for the staff who could not do enough for you (and always smiling) and the food was as good as we have had anywhere.
Would we go back..............you bet!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RemotecontrollerHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2009

Thank you for your recent review and honest appraisal of our hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that your experience was in keeping with our commitment to customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Booked this Hotel through Easy Breaks, fancied something different from Scotland, and liked the look of this hotel from the Crerar Website,
When we arrived last Friday 2nd Jan reception staff were very friendly and a big glowing coal fire awaiting, unfortunately we were 1 hour early for check in and our room wasn't ready
Food was average, no A La Carte menu available, not every thing on table d'hote menu was available, in one case at dinner wrong food served!!!!,
Room was as seen on Crerar Website, clean tidy and spacious, but cold due to radiator not working properly, we contacted reception and got a small convector heater which radiated some heat,
The pool complex was good, but not supervised, 2nd day there overrun with noisy children, jumping into pool and throwing tennis balls about, and in one case a family had all their 4 children in the jacuzzi, including a baby of about a year old and not wearing any nappies or pampers, just a cozzie, this was the spoiler for us.
The restaurant staff at dinner, The diner was a burden to some of them, they would take your order, then forget to bring it to your table, or when you asked for a menu they took forever to bring one.
The most disappointing at dinner, was no after dinner coffee was on the menu or served in the lounge or bar area, in all other Crerar Hotels coffee is mentioned on the menu's and served in comforable surroundings.
To some this up the restaurant staff at dinner, needed educated and motivated, far to long between being seated, orders taken and food served, ours weren't the only complaint within the Restaurant, come on Crerar bring this lovely hotel up to the same grade and standards as the Isle of Mull, Oban Bay, Loch Fyne, Scotlands Hotel and the rest
Regards
Ian

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holytown-blue-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2009

I am sorry that your recent break did not live up to your expectations and that you were dissappointed by aspects of your stay.

We did offer a reduced menu up until the 4th January as many of our guests were on package breaks, the vast majority of guests were more than happy with the selections and quality offered however I can assure you that our normal excellent A La Carte is now available.

Cooffee is not included on our daily menu however a full coffee selection is always available for a supplement from either the bar or restaurant. I do apologise if this was not conveyed to you.

We do try to monitor all areas of the hotel including the swimming pool and jacuzzi and have notices in place to advise guests of there use. I can only apologise that some guests choose to ignore these signs, this is not encouraged.

I do hope that in the future you have the opportunity to revisit our wonderful hotel so that you may see first hand what many others appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Booked the 3 day New Year special package for my family of 5, and persuaded some other friends to book too. In total there were 10 adults, and 12 children in our party.
After booking, we read some of the old Trip Advisor comments, and were worried that he hotel was not going to be up to standard. However, I have to write to say we had a fantastic time, overall the hotel exceeded our expectations, and I would recommend it. Special mention must go to the food which was surperb, the friendly staff, and the atmosphere of open fires, and wood everywhere. It resembled an Austrian Ski hotel, and the iced over lake, and the forest of ice-sparkling trees added to that feeling.
The New Year celebrations were great, and the casino and disco were just right.
We stayed in a family room in the hotel which had been recently re-furbished, and it was very good. The only minor suggestions I have for further improvement are - the bathoom, although fine, was not upto the same standard as the rest of the hotel, and the mattress on the double bed was not as comfortable as I would have expected in a hotel of this standard.
However, overall I found this hotel to be excellent.
Many thanks to the manager and all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PikePebworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We do monitor all reviews and are continually looking for ways to improve our offering and take on your board your comments.

I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed over Christmas and has a lovely time. The food was excellent, as was the hand pulled beer (Timothy Taylor Landlord.) The refurbished areas were very smart and the log fire made reception very welcoming.

We were given a log cabin but there was a problem with the bathroom window which I reported to reception, asking if it could be fixed. The manager instead offered us a complementary drink while he sorted out a different room for us. This was above and beyond what we were expecting and we were doubly pleased to get a room in the main building, which was larger and probably an executive room! The hotel was well heated and there was plenty of hot water at all times.

The pool was fine but the changing area floor could have been cleaner. This was a bit off-putting but might have only been a problem at that particular time. I would also say that the original room could have done with an update to the bathroom, but I'm sure that once all the renovations are done this will be solved.

Overall an excellent stay, with good food, great location and friendly staff. I would go again especially at the discount rates that are sometimes available.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anotherreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2009

I am glad you enjoyed your festive break with us here at Chevin Country Park Hotel and Spa, I have to agree that the atmosphere was excellent an all guests were out to enjoy themselves.

I have noted your comments regarding the lodge rooms and confirm that these are on our next phase for refurbishment.

Once again thank you for the review and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We arrived with friends for a two day New Years Eve package break with some trepidation following a number of the reviews on Tripadvisor.
We were pleasantly surprised by the super setting in the heart of the countryside amid trees and with a well stocked fishing lake.
If you like log cabins this is for you, as it is one gigantic log cabin. The rooms are similarly log cabin style and whilst we did have a problem or two (the radiator did not work and no hot water early on new years eve) the staff were quick to arrive and solve the problems. The seperate swimming pool and hot tub was a welcome addition to the facilities on offer but the best part was the food, we ate on both evenings and the food was as good as we have experienced in any hotel we have stayed.
To cap it all the view from our room on New Years morning over the frozen lake surrounded by totally frost covered trees was magical.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RobEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2009

Thank you for tking the time to review the hotel.

I am glad the you enjoyed ringing in the New Year with us here at Chevin Country Park, the staff and I thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere created by our guests.

i am sorry that the readiator in your room was not working on arrival and am glad the this was rectified by the staff on duty.

We do hope that you get the opportunity to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Burning log fires in reception, tea room awaits you, the lodges are warm and cosy and are what you hope for nestled in between woodland. Food and restaurant are above the norm for hotels and staff are all very polite and professional. Anyone giving this hotel less than full marks has not travelled and had other experiences in other hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SueMDaventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, we do take on board all comments and suggestions.

Firstly let me say how happy I am that you enjoyed your visit to Chevin Country Park Hotel and Spa and that you had an enjoyable New Year.

I have noted your comments regarding the showers and can confirm that a program for replacing shower units to those rooms begins next week with a view to achieving the improvements suggested.

Once again we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Chevin Country Park Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
3.1 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
12.3 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
13.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
24.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range: $54 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing