We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking customer service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were a party of 11 who book a spa day via spa breaks back in June.

On arrival at the hotel we were invited to sit in the bar area. We were not offered drinks or given any guidance on making our way to the spa which resulted on us arriving at the spa after our booking time. This was the first of many poor examples of customer service we were to experience through the course of the day.

On arrival at the spa we were all issued with our robes and slippers, no problems there, and directed to the changing room and pool area.

After an hour or so, we decided we would order some drinks – having been up very early to travel to the spa and not previously being offered anything earlier in the morning.

We found a menu at the spa reception area and chose our drinks and light snacks – that the menu stated refreshments were served form 10am. There were no staff members to be seen, so we made our way to the main reception area (in our robes) to enquire about refreshments.

We were then told that we would not be served any refreshments due to the fact a wedding from the previous day were currently eating their breakfast! I clarified this as I found this absolutely shocking and did not believe that a hotel of such standard would claim this.. I was assured this statement was correct and that this had come from the deputy manager who was on duty that day.

I found this totally unacceptable and asked to speak to the deputy manager personally.

After approximately half an hour the deputy manager appeared (again – unacceptable as we were waiting around the reception in our robes) He explained that there was a wedding on and that the hotel was busy in dealing with those guests! I stated to him that this was totally unacceptable, as I myself am seven and a half months pregnant, and also all the other ladies had been up early to get to the spa for 9am. He stated that they would serve snacks from 11am, I explained that some ladies had spa treatments booked in at 11am, therefore this would not provide them with any refreshments until lunchtime - which we were again not happy about.

The deputy manager then agreed to serve us drinks and allowed us in to the restaurant to ‘help ourselves’ to the leftovers from the wedding party!!!!!!!

I cannot begin to tell you how humiliating this was – but having not eaten and given no other option we had no choice but to do so.

We were also asked to pre order our lunch and that a card would be needed to make a pre authorisation – we were still in our swim wear and robes at this time. This gives off the impression that the hotel has a very dim view of their customers. We were also told that we were fine to come and eat lunch in our robes.

On arriving back in the main reception / bar area lunch was served prompt and was delicious. However, we then had to go to the bar to request a desert menu as none were on the tables. Bearing in mind we were still in our robes (which we had previously clarified would be ok) only to find that there was another wedding party who had gathered in the bar. Again, we felt completely humiliated and treated like we were an inconvenience to the hotel rather that paying guests.. I dread to think what the wedding party thought of us eleven ladies in our robes with wet hair at their wedding!! I would’ve been very disgruntled had this been my own wedding.

We ordered desserts, some came and were delicious, and however the 3 ladies who had ordered scones had to wait 15 minutes before having to reminding the staff about them. Once they eventually arrived they had been served with used butter and jams!!

What should’ve been a nice relaxing lunch together had again been ruined by shockingly poor customer service and being dealt with as unwelcomed guests. We never even managed to eat desserts together as more spa treatments were booked at 1pm.

Also, we were never given our complimentary glass of sparkling wine, as per our spa package.

I would, however, like to compliment the ladies who worked in the treatment rooms in the spa. The treatments were fabulous and they were all very pleasant.

I would also like to mention the state of the pool. It actually looked green as oppose to the actual blue colour due to the tiles being discoloured that much – very un inviting and off putting. Also, I do not know what is used in the pool but several ladies had skin reactions and came out in red blotches – myself included. Luckily, no lasting damage came from this unlike our jewellery.

The five of the ladies who were wearing silver had severe discolouration to the jewellery items. Again, I myself included. This has never happened at any other spa or pool – so I do not accept that it is simply due to chlorine. Two of these pieces of jewellery were very precious and I sincerely hope the jeweller can restore the items!!

I totally accept that the hotel needs to look after the wedding guests, but this should not be at the extent of other paying guests. If the hotel cannot accommodate both, then both should simply not be booked in at the same time.

I have e mailed the hotel manager with our complaint - however they have not replied!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky3BZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Well I am sorry it looks like we didn't get it right for you on the day. We have many great comments about our staff and I am disappointed that you should use the words shocking in your review. We do try extremely hard to accommodate all our guests’ requests at very short notice however I believe we did our best on the day as I was present throughout. I have passed on your comments to the girls in the spa who provided your treatments. Apologises once again for not meeting fully with your expectations. Just as a footnote we were investigating your comments but you posted this reply before I could complete them.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very comfortable room in this rather unique Timber built hotel set in a very attractive woodland setting at Yorkgate which is on top of a steep rise from Otley. The main building which houses the reception, dining room, bar and lounge is reputably the largest wooden building in England. The food was really excellent -the hotel has been awarded AA rosette standard for many years. Every meal we had was absolutely delicious and very well balanced. We came here last year and will certainly be back very soon. Very good value stay. A very good swimming pool and Spa.

Room Tip: We had a room attached to the main building rather than a wooden chalet in the attactive woodland. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthshireHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for the great comments; it is very refreshing to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. See you again in the near future when you venture over the border again.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well I have just come back from a lovely spa break with my mum and sister. The staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough for us, the restaurant was lovely, fab surroundings, spa was relaxing treatments lovely!
We popped into otley for a nice walk round the lovely shops before checking in. We then went to the sa and had our treatments and relaxed round the pool and sunbathed outside by the lake! And popped into the hot tub before getting ready for our lovely meal. Then had a great nights sleep before have our breakfast x
We will def be going back! Def worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review I am glad that you had such a lovely with us. See you again soon.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My daughter recently got married here and we had exclusive use of the hotel. some of us booked to stay the night before, and after we had checked in went to get a bar meal, but were told we could not order food because there was a wedding taking place, which I understand they may have been busy but we were not told this when we checked in. The wedding itself was very good and arranged well and all ran smoothly, the food we had after the wedding was also very good. we had ordered dark blue napkins for the tables to match the colour scheme, but they were not produced and we were told oh they forgot to order them. Other than that we enjoyed the ceremony. unfortunately I now get to the complaints. A lot of the staff were very rude to out guests and told us after the event to not spoil our day. In fact my husband as father of the bride had trouble getting to speak to someone at reception and went back to ask at the bar if he could speak to someone and was told to go back to reception and wait for someone to come back, in fact my son was in the bar near reception at one point in the wedding when he overheard the bar staff moaning about some of our guests. As stated on some of the other reviews some of the rooms could do with an upgrade, but they were clean just very worn. The managers were very nice and helpful as were the staff serving the wedding food, but as for the bar staff and some of the others they definitely could do with a customer care course.
the leisure facilities mainly the pool were terrible and did look as if it needed a good clean. The spa rooms and changing rooms are good, but the pool let's it all down. The food was very good but when we had exclusive use the breakfast the next morning was a limited choice and we were not told that beforehand. So my advice would be visit and eat the food is great but don't expect great customer care. Sadly this did spoil our day, and would make me cautious about recommending having your wedding there which is sad because the setting and grounds are fantastic.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main block we had room 5 my sister had room 6 and both were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I have noted your positive points and will react accordingly to the others. I am sorry that the bar staff seemed unhelpful, it is not a comment we have had before, but I will pursue the matter with the team. We do appreciate your feedback and thank you for the time you have taken to post this review.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Myself and my friend visited the spa as a birthday treat. First impression was of a lovely location and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Once we located the spa the changing room area was tiny and only bench space for 2 people to put their things down and get changed which led to a queue of people waiting. After a morning gym session we went for lunch in the restaurant. Our meal was lovely once we had sent it back to be warmed up as it was almost cold, but they were very small portion sizes. We ordered a lager and lime and a lager shandy and lime from the bar which was 7 pounds 20. When we questioned why it was so much half a lager was actually only 1 pound eighty but lime was 80p a shot and the tiny bottle of lemonade for the shandy was 2 pounds!!! After lunch we head back to the spa for an afternoon of relaxation. We noticed that the outside jacuzzi had been covered up and when we asked when we would be able to use it we were just told it was closed for maintaince for the rest of the day. We had paid to use ths facility and couldn't. We were a bit taken aback by the pool as the walls were a horrible green colour and really looked like they needed a good clean. We noticed that everyone else in the spa were wearing dressing gown and slippers and we had only been given a towel. My friend went to the spa reception to ask about this and was just told 'oh yes I forgot to give them to you!!!'. We spent the afternoon swimming and relaxing in the sauna, steam room and indoor jacuzzi. We were just about to leave the jacuzzi and start getting ready to head back home when my friend noticed that the silver jewellery we were both wearing had turned a horrible shade of yellow. We were both really upset as the jewellery wasn't cheap jewellery and some of it had great sentimental value. It made us wonder what on earth was in the water as I have visited several spas and never removed my jewellery and it has been absolutely fine. We waited at the spa reception on our way out to speak to someone about our jewellery but there was no one available. We headed to the main hotel reception and when we said what had happened to our jewellery the receptionist said oh yes the water does do that to your jewellery. She said that there were some notices up telling you to remove all jewellery but we went back and checked and there wasn't. She also said we should have been told about our jewellery when we arrived at the spa and to sign a disclaimer which we weren't or didn't. On our way home we had to stop and buy some silver jewellery cleaner which has nearly restored our jewellery back to normal but it is not quiet back to its former glory. I had a lovely day at this spa but that was all down to being with my best friend and therefore was in the best company. In my opinion this spa needs a lot of improvements to be anywhere near in the same class as some of the other 'proper' spas I have previously visited.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are disappointed obviously that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. The pool seems to be your main concern, let me reassure you that the pool water is the most natural water you can bathe in as it comes from deep within the Yorkshire dales. The green tinge you mention is a naturally occurring phenomenon and is caused by dissolved minerals in the water. However the water is extremely pure and is tested every two hours to ensure the levels are correct. We do have comments about this and there are notices up in the pool area. If customers are concerned then we ask them to speak to one of the Leisure staff.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights with spa breaks dinner bed and breakfast with 30min spa treatment.

The location is nice in the middle of no where (without driving) the main areas of the hotel are nice but the toilets need a good clean! Other than that really good!

The resturant was amazing the most fantastic food!! Evening meal and breakfast! I would say like a 4/5 star. Outside the resturant the tables never got wiped ashtrays never changed and glasses not collected (and there was also a wedding so quite a few people!).

The spa the treatments were excellent but as I've read on here I'd also have to agree not very clean! The tiles all in the pool were green and the water looked a little yellow! The girls that worked there though were lovely!!

The ROOM please note do not book a standard room, there are only two in the hotel That we could find unfortunately we got one! The minute we walked in we tried to upgrade but the hotel was full! We called it the shoe box! Very very small low ceilings all in wood.
the door to get in was very narrow and the bathroom was so tiny with the worlds smallest shower and bath! Anyone one over a size 14 would struggle!! The bathroom and tiles were very dirty looking and very tired! The toilet wouldn't flush properly (also the same in the main hotel toilets) the bed was very uncomfortable we decided to have our evening meal on the second night and drive home rather than sleep in there again!

We paid a lot of money for two nights just under £400! You can stay in a 5star for that! id say the room was only worth £40 ish per night!! If you are going to stay here don't get a standard room.

if your staying near by the resturant is amazing and well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte07082009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologise that your stay with us was not up to your expectations on this occasion. However I have passed on your other comments to the rest of the staff regarding the food and spa treatments.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here with my Husband for 1 night with the Groupon deal, 6 course taster meal and wine. We arrived early at 1:30 and headed for the reception to see if we coulld check in. The room was not ready so we headed over to the pool area.

The pool area was fine, fairly clean and a relaxing start to our night away from the kids.

We then went over to the bar area to get drinks and a light snack. We were told there would be no chance of getting food with the wedding being on!! I'm sure it would have not been too much an inconvenience for them to make 1 bowl of chips?

We then headed over to check in, we were given room no 19 right at the back and upstairs, the room itself was nice but very small, very minor faults like cobwebs on the bedside lamp and a dead wasp on the window ledge, also the light did not work on the entrance to the room and the iron did not work.

We went down for our 6 courses taster meal, we had to ask for the free wine. The food was very nice and fancy, it started off very quick between each course which was great but I think we were forgotten about after the main meal, 30 min await for the dessert and another 30 min wait for the cheese course, which was awfully disappointing, 1 cracker each with the tiniest square of cheese i've ever seen and quince jelly.

We were rather looking forward to breakfast and ordered 1 item each from the hot breakfast to start, My Husband ordered the scrambled egg and salmon, myself the french toast with bacon and syrup which was very nice. We then hoped to order cooked breakfasts but were told we could only order 1 item each from the hot breakfast selection?? This was not mentioned when ordering.

Overall a nice stay at a good price but with some faults.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Chevin. I have spoken to our heads of department and we have taken note of your points. I am sorry that you did not totally enjoy your stay with us on this occasion, as we do have many redeeming features and excellent guest experiences.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
3.1 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
12.3 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#51 of 87 in Leeds
991 reviews
5.1 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#34 of 87 in Leeds
865 reviews
13.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range: $53 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing