We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening after our wedding! Disgrace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Evening after our wedding! Disgrace”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had booked us into the worst rated place to stay with all my friends saying don't go. I was thinking don't go, but as my first choice was fully booked. I booked it a one night stay and spa the next day. I was looking forward to the spa to chill. We got to our upgraded room a chalet in the woods looks great from the outside and pics on the net look great. We went in all giddy o that's it a bedroom and shower room nothing else if you stretched your arms out your fingers on one hand was in the bathroom and other hand in the bedroom. So we thought on back to our evening do. Next morning my husband gets in the shower freezing cold I rang 0 o love you need to pull the cord. What a joke the Emerson wasn't on. After that the spa and the ladies were great would do that bit again. It turns out we had gifts chocolates champagne and presses but where were they ? 4 days later I have them wilted flowers and melted hand made from London chocolates. But the hotel didn't tell us we had gifts my mother in law did!
I wouldn't stay here again and a complaint has gone in.
The spa swimming pool was lovely really nice setting very relaxing. The lady's who gave the massage was very lovely.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one by the lake with sliding doors looking over the lake and next to the spa. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Oh dear, I am sorry we seem to have got this dreadfully wrong, and can't apologise enough that we did not get this right for you this time. I can assure you it was purely a mistake on our behalf. In light of this we have reviewed our procedures and changed the way we operate so as to alleviate this problem in the future. I believe we have been in touch with you by letter giving you a full explanation of the situation. If you wish to contact us further please do not hesitate to give us a call.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    512
    327
    179
    108
See reviews for
333
916
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Folks, this was a great place to be. Having come back from shanghai to see my wife, we were booked in here for 3 excellent nights!. The location is great and the scenery in the surrounding area even better. I was totally impressed with the open friendliness of the the staff who couldn't do enough to make sure we were comfortable. I will definitely recommend this place and I will for sure come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your great review I have passed your comments onto all the staff.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel from the 12th to the 14th of July in one of its amazing lodges, number 68 . They where absolutely fantastic and had everything we asked for on our weekend stay, fresh towels everyday and cosmetics where nice and large. The lodges where set in a woodland area which was lovely, saw squirrels, rabbits and a couple of foxes.
The spa was lovely, a good sized pool, sauna and steam rooms, Jacuzzi, hot tub, gym and a large outdoor area with plenty of sun - loungers. towels and robes where provided at the spa also. Had 3 taster sensations on the Saturday, this comprised of 3 30 min treatments, 1st a lime & ginger salt rub, then a back, head and shoulder massage, then a facial. On the Sunday we had a special facial to help make skin look younger and get rid of grey lines. Both days felt sooo much better, massages where wonderful.
The food in the restaurant was first class, a 6 course taster menu was included in our package, (changed both nights), food and service was amazing.
Overall would strongly recommend this place to people without a doubt, lovely tranquiled place, set in the country, Will be back soon!!!!

Room Tip: The lodge was really clean, nice comfy bed. Nice and airey with a good area outside to read and enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us I have passed them onto all the staff here at Chevin. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was very excited when I had booked this hotel and their rejuventation package for my partners' birthday for the weekend. I had gone through the list of activities they had available and was eager to sleep in the room, as I had chosen one of the log cabins.

Upon arrival service was excellent.

Our room was a completely different story. The room was dated, had dog hair on the carpet and smelt of a dog. Compared to the pictures I had seen this was not the room I was imagining walking into. Even if the room was clean, it still did not match the pictures which appeared to be luxurious. Furthermore, a noise ran through the room which was impossible to detect where it was coming from, this affected our sleep.

The food was amazing, compliments to the chef. I understood why people chose to get married here, as there was a wedding each day we stayed. The spa facilities and service was satisfactory. My partner was booked in for a 2 hour massage on one day and a one and a half hour lime salt glow session the following day. The 2 hour massage was satisfactory.

I was given a small proportion of money back, which covered drinks and half the massage, for the inconvenience. It is not the money spent I was upset about, it was the fact that this was for a special occassion. Had I known the hotel would be like this for my partners' birthday I would have gone somewhere else!

Room Tip: Do not choose a room in the hotel, the corridor which runs alongside the rooms are used by guests ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 596MissM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, I have noted your comments and will review with housekeeping regarding your room. I have also passed on the wonderful comments to the head chef and his team also. Hope you will join us again when visiting the area.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel for a Four night stay as we were on business. The hotel is very different as it was log cabins in the woods which was very novel. The Cabin was very clean and well presented. But my bed was terrible very lumpy and uncomfortable.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night which was included in the package it was ok. The menu is very flash in its presentation but it does not delivery. We did not go to the restaurant again instead we ate out on our return from our business.

Breakfast was not very good at all it was so over the top all I wanted was a good hearty breakfast. Instead it was Bacon, Sausage, Haggis, Black Pudding, and Grilled Tomato very strange. Also the food was very hit and miss on some days it was cooked very well on others it was poor.

I won't be going back as I feel its trying to be a top end hotel and its far away from that.

ALSO ITS UNDER THE FLIGHT PATH FOR BRADFORD AIRPORT!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muntyx21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review we do work extremely hard to ensure we deliver above our guests expectations. I am sorry you felt that our breakfast was not good; we again try and deliver something different to our competitors. All our food is freshly cooked and so is breakfast, this does take a little time. I will bear your comments in mind the next time we compile new menus.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights fantastic price for Sunday/Monday night D B/B. We stayed in one of the lodges the room was huge with a bathroom as big as most hotel rooms! lovely woodland setting with the ponds so quite and relaxing. The food was amazing we had the 6 course taster menu, not huge portions but enough to not still feel hungry. We cycled into Otley lovely town, hard work cycling back up the huge hill on such a hot day. The staff were very friendly, hotel was clean and tidy, as was the Leisure facilities, except for the pool itself and the Jacuzzi so dirty I had to get out. I did mention it to the staff so I hope it's now clean!
The walks from the hotel are spectacular "Surprise View" is worth the walk. It you don't walk there is a car park right next to the view point so no excuse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deatqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us whenever you are in the area.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at the Chevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandovery
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a lot going for it. The location is great and the ambience of the hotel by and large is lovely. The little we used of the spa facilities suggested that we would enjoy these greatly at future visits. The staff were excellent. In common with some other reviewers, we'd identify the need for renovation of the rooms as the biggest negative. The room we had was in a cabin. The room was quite small and the bed was small and the matress very uncomfartable. The bathroom was so small, that the only way to shave was by sitting on the edge of the bath to see the mirror. However it is an "experience hotel", and a little investment from the owners in basic bedding and decor would give the staff the hotel they deserve.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aled e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are continually working our way around the hotel upgrading and developing wherever we can. I have looked at the room in question and it has now been decided that we will upgrade this room in the coming weeks. Thank you once again for bringing these things to my attention and we hope to see you return in the near future.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
13.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,557 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
12.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
3.9 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#49 of 87 in Leeds
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing