We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room in the woods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Belper, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A room in the woods”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Chevin Country Park Hotel. Our clean and comfortable room was one of three in a lodge of which there are several dotted around a wood - the grassed roof was a surprise but it kept the room cool on a very hot day. The main hotel building and spa were very close. The food in the restaurant was excellent - we used the Restaurant Menu which was part of the deal but there is also an extensive a la carte menu at a price. The restaurant overlooks a lake with much wild life to observe - including a heron. The service was cheerful and attentive. We would go again. We did not use the spa bit it looked very good.

Chris and Jen Scotchbrook

Room Tip: You can ask for a room in the main building but the lodges are ideal if you like close peaceful wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay, we will pass on all your lovely comments to our team. With regards to the grass on the roof it is an environmental decision that the company made and as you say helps to keep us cool in the summer and warm in the winter.

We do hope that we will see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    500
    321
    174
    107
See reviews for
322
889
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a find! We just returned from our stay and it was amazing! The surroundings are absolutely breath taking. From the start, we felt welcomed and looked after. Our room was cozy and comfortable. We had the taster menu on all the nights we stayed, at first the portions looked small but once we finished all six courses, we felt very content. The food was perfect, presented beautifully, such a shame to destroy it but it was delicious! Nothing was too much for the staff, especially in the restaurant, they were very attentive. We couldn’t ask for anymore than what they gave. We would like to say a big thank-you to the wonderful staff at the Chevin country park for making our anniversary getaway perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent visit to Chevin, we will pass on all your kind comments to our team. We hope to see again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

On arrival at the Hotel I was very pleased with the overall look of the hotel and the reception was very welcoming. We were then showed to our room in the middle of the trees. Nice surroundings, but they are very dated and not the cleanest with mould and serious need for a redecoration. We had with us our 13 week old son so decided to eat in the bar area rather than the restaurant, however it all comes from the same kitchen so I was expecting big things. The menu was very sparse, but I chose the steak pie with rich gravy. This was served and I have heard of twice baked chips and jacket potatoes, but never three, four or even five baked steak pie. It was dry and old. Waste of money. The desert menu was again sparse so we asked to have a desert in the bar from the restaurant menu. How dare we ask such a thing? This was apparently impossible? So on to breakfast, pretentious and small. One sausage and only one ration of bacon. Thankyou for the fruit buffet. One of our party asked for a piece of French toast with the cooked breakfast and again how dare we ask such a thing? We very briskly told that would cost extra as it would be classed as two breakfasts. Quality customer service. Needless to say we won't be returning nor recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKnut52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay we will of course take on board all your comments and discuss with our team. So we can look at how we can improve the areas you have mentioned.

We do hope that you will reconsider and visit us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had an excellent time , our party was for a hen night , hotel was excellent staff very nice Ian the spa manager was excellent and NIkki the barmaid was excellent and the spa girls Clare ,Nikki was fabulous, I would so recommend going to this hotel for a break as its so nice, also the FOOD the chefs there were so talented and very tastey, nothing bad about this Hotel at all, the hotel even got us a taxi to Leeds and return as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBoobies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests thank you for your lovely comments we are delighted you enjoyed your stay we will pass on all your comments to our team. We hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked a three night break for our 39th wedding anniversary. We were greeted with a true Yorkshire welcome and was given room 2, the room was very spacious ang very clean with patio doors that lead out to the lake and woodland, what a fantastic setting!! On our first night we had the 6 course taster menu which was one of the best meals we have eaten and we have eaten at some top restaurants around the world. We had the steak special another night and that too was very good.The resturant views across the lake were tranquil and stunning. We complimented the chef for a excellent meal and he very kindly wrote us out one of his recipes and left it for us at reception. The breakfasts were also excellent with choices to suit every taste, the haggis and black pudding were the best quality as we're all the other ingredients used in the kitchen. The barman/waiting staff were friendly and gave excellent service. On the first day after a long drive I booked in at the spa for a treatment it was wonderful, a very relaxing environment and again my treatment was one of the best I've experienced, a full 45 minutes not being left for 10minutes with a face pack on and ten minutes at the end to get dressed which is what happens at a lot of places. The pool,steam/sauna room and hot tubs were very relaxing, the outdoor hot tub was really warm and so peacefully looking over the lake. The young man on reception in the spa was very friendly and as my husband loves fishing he gave advise on what fish were in the lake, also he gave him some bait to use, and yes there were lot of fish in the lake, my husband had taken his own fishing rods etc but there were some available to use at the hotel. Unfortunatley my husband didn't catch Mungo, we did see him several times but he did catch a good trout. Everyone was very friendly as we walked in the grounds, even had a chat with the gardener who gave us local information. We would highly recommend this hotel, yes maybe some places need a bit of tlc but you overlook that as that gives the place it's character the hotel is made of wood not marble and metal. We will be returning and maybe stay in one of the log cabins with a group of friends for something different. Thank you for a great stay, and a lovely memory to keep of our anniversary. Regards Peter and Angie Harwood

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harwood02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to us here at Chevin, we will pass on all you kind comments to all our team. We look forward to seeing you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have just spent the weekend here, we were a group of 6 on their 'Escape from it all' package. Found the spa facilities great, pool area was very clean and there was a little terrace area where you could sit outside if you wanted. Package included a massage which was lovely. We stayed in one of the log cabins and thought it was great for what we wanted, as there was a large living area. Dinner and breakfast were included, the food was delicious and the waitresses were very attentive. We ordered lunch from bar, and had to wait ages to order and then the food took a while to come, there was a wedding on at the same time, & I did feel like they were pre-occupied with that & weren't bothered by us. The food was good & reasonably priced. Overall we had a great weekend and I would come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Pizzalover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests we are delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel, apologies for the delay in your food service at Lunch in no way did we want you to feel that you were not important it would have been purely a timing issue, we will look at how we can improve this for future reference. Good look for you BIG Day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel situated in a nice quiet environment, good for picturesque walking,good selection menue {some add - on s though) but very well presented.No public transport from Hotel to town so car required so no drinking !!! Staff most attentive and helpful.really enjoyed the Wine and Dine offer.

Room Tip: pre book and take a chance, we ended up overlooking the large pond area, well pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests thank you for your lovely comments will pass on all feed back to all our team, Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
13.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
12.3 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
10.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing