We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience when using Groupon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We purchased A Groupon for 1 night at this hotel. As with other people when we tried to book (for a Sunday night) we were told we had to stay a minimum of 2 nights. When we contacted hotel we were advised to take it up with Groupon. We have done so & asked for refund. Why advertise one night if you can't accommodate? Sunday night is not usually a problem anywhere. We can't stay 2 nights but wouldn't want to anyway if this is how they try to con you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rossies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Trip Advisor is meant to be used as a review site for your visit to our hotel regarding its facilities and service, location etc. So just to clarify the situation for present and future customers, the hotel does not have any control over the selling of the Groupon offer, it is Groupon you should be talking to and complaining about not our hotel. To reiterate and to reinforce the mode of redeeming your voucher once bought is by the following method: - Once the voucher is purchased then you can check availability through being redirected by Groupon to a specific web page. The dates you are looking for can be checked. However the voucher does not guarantee availability and as with all special offers they do sell out very quickly.
Please refer back to Groupon directly as I say again it is nothing to do with the hotel.
Regards
The Managemnet and Staff at Chevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent our first anniversary with you on the 4th of May after getting married with you the year previous. We loved it first time and weren't disappointed this time around. We will certainly stay again. We were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. Food is beautiful. The only thing that ruined the weekend a little was a numpty sat on the table next to us at dinner and breakfast who seemed to make special effort to needlessly complain about everything with bad attitude. Your staff dealt with him in a fantastic manner. They are an asset to you. We used the spa which was wonderful and relaxing even though it was very busy with hen parties. I would however say that the spa treatments are slightly on the high side price wise. I would've loved to have booked but didn't feel I could justify the price. It won't stop me coming back though.
I am shocked at some of the bad reviews on here. Also, yes you can hear aircraft but it is not too loud and only what you would expect given the close proximity to the airport. See you soon I expect!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleHoll82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments I have passed them onto all the staff at Chevin. See you again soon.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a one night stay at this beautiful hotel which was booked as a Christmas present from our children.The only complaint we have is that one night was not enough!! We stayed in room 6 which has a lovely veiw overlooking the lake and patio doors leading to a small paved area with seating. We enjoyed our morning coffee sitting there,listening to the birds sing and watching the sun come up and peep through the trees surrounding. As if that wasn't relaxing enough...we headed to the pool,steam room and outdoor hot tub before breakfast. The food was well cooked and the service was prompt and friendly. We look forward to going back for another visit soon. A real 'get away from it all' hotel, THANKS KIDS, SAME AGAIN NEXT YEAR PLEASE!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thanks for an excellent review. We all hope to see you again shortly.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I live in 5 star hotels for work and this hotel is a 3 star??? Are you kidding! It's fabulous! We are here for a 2 day away from the stesses of work and its beautiful. We are currently having the 6 course inclusive dinner which is outstanding!! If you want to get away from the rat race.....come here NOW! Beautiful surroundings and even better dinner menu! Chevin Country Park. ....You've got it right!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lainy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

It was great to meet with you last night and listen to your comments first hand; I have relayed them to all the team. Look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just had a family get together,[ 14 of us ] had three nights stay booked through EASY-BREAKS
had a wonderful stay ,food superb ,all the staff really looked after us , Rooms ok but our bathroom needed updating . the holiday was great value . Will go again !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thanks for a great review; we are all pleased you had a great time, see you back again soon
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Checked hotel availability for wife's birthday. Date shown as available. Purchased Groupon deal. Attempted to book on web site and told rooms only available for two nights NOT the one night booked through Groupon. Contacted the hotel who stated they had no rooms left for one night only so we would now have to book for two nights or not come. When I explained that we had purchased the one night deal and that this deal was still available to buy now an obnoxious man stated thats how it is and if I didn't like it I should contact Groupon. I did this who thankfully refunded my money. This felt like a cheap scam to simply get more money out of us. Really poor response from the Chevin Country Park Hotel.

Room Tip: I Would Not Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Trip Advisor is meant to be used as a review site for your visit to our hotel regarding its facilities and service, location etc. Just to clarify the situation, the hotel does not have any control over the selling of the Groupon offer, it is Groupon you should be talking to and complaining about not our hotel. To reiterate and to reinforce the mode of redeeming your voucher once bought is by the following method: - Once the voucher is purchased then you can check availability through being redirected by Groupon to a specific web page. The dates you are looking for can be checked. However the voucher does not guarantee availability and as with all special offers they do sell out very quickly.
Please refer back to Groupon directly as I say again it is nothing to do with the hotel.
Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was a wedding that had been two years in the planning. We were minor guests, but as we had to drive up from Sussex we needed two nights' accommodation. Fortunately, we were able to benefit from the hotel's special room rates for the wedding party. Special rates, but still not cheap!

The setting was idyllic: turf-roofed cabins in the woods, spread informally around the building housing the central facilities which looked out over a tranquil pond. But stepping inside our cabin was where the idyll ended. The room was very cramped.

Our first night dinner was also disappointing. My wife and I both had scallops, which were on the chewy side. As we signed for the meal, on leaving the dining room, we were asked how the meal was. I said that the scallops had been disappointing. The response amounted to "very sorry to hear that; give us your £60."

Next day, the wedding reception went well, and in the evening there were several areas to sit away from the noise of the disco. It was only later that we discovered the bride and groom were unable to retire to the bridal suite they had booked two years earlier. It had been given to someone else.

I would suggest that this hotel is not as good as it thinks it is.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lanoo_Harve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments I have passed them onto the staff at the hotel.
I hope you had a safe journey home and that you will visit us again in the near future.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff at Chevin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
3.1 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
12.3 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
13.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
24.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range: $54 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing