We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food. Great location, Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Food : Best meals we have ever had at UK Hotel, full breakfast complete with haggis and black pudding & 3 course evening meals with little taster in between (nice touch)

Location : In beautiful countryside with several walks nearby (Warning: Leeds airport close by, but did not bother us)

Accommodation: stayed in lodges, very comfortable with wood surroundings, could do with a lick of paint.

Staff: very helpful & genuine

Room Tip: charming Lodges in woodland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I hope you will return again in the near future.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff@Chevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,309 - 1,315 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in this establishment last night, well what a treasure it is. So beautiful I actually thought I was in Canada in my Log cabin which over looked the spa/ pool and fabulous hot tub which overlooked the lake and woods.
The food last night was fabulous and I am fussy! Front of house staff and the head waiter particularly helpful accommodating and all went the extra mile with a smile.
I was up to early for the main breakfast service as getting the red eye, but a lovely chap ushered around quickly and rustled me up tea/toast and cereal.
Checking my calendar to rebook! Why's it not 4 star?? Most bizarre.

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooks the lake on the ground floor it's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Urbfsbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments we hope to see you back again at Chevin
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed our family visit to this hotel. We paid extra on top of our original booking to move up from a budget room, but quite what extra we got I don't know - perhaps a view of the lake. The buildings are probably 30 years old, log cabin style with some charm but the main building rooms we had were certainly in need of refurbishment. The main public areas are comfortable and in the winter I imagine considerably cheered by the log fires. The spa facilities are good with steam room, sauna, swimming pool and outdoor hot tub, but there is no internal access from any of the rooms. We ate in for both our nights stay sampling both the a la carte and table d'hote menus. The a la carte was good (we tried 7 starters and mains having guests with us) if a bit pricey, as was the six course set menu. Breakfasts (we tried three different dishes) were excellent if a little disorganised staff wise. Bar drinks are pricey and it was tiresome to find the bar person ourselves or ask reception to do so, time after time. Overall our stay was quite good though but I do have some minor criticisms. The reception staff were efficient and friendly but in an establishment like this I'm not keen on being greeted with "y'all right?". Similarly friendly waiting staff closing the ordering process with "no problem" or "no problemo" just didn't fit the hotel at all ! I could recommend this hotel overall though, but pay more for the better rooms and you will enjoy your stay more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your response and comments.
Kind Regards
The Management and Team @Chevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

There are good and bad things to report about Chevin. We arrived on the Friday night and I had (on two occasions) asked for a room with a separate shower cubicle for my partner who is 6 foot 5. We were met by a lovely girl on reception who was very pleasant, but when we got to the room it was tiny - and also had a shower over the bath! As it was my partners birthday, we decided to ask if we could pay for an upgraded room. She was very quick to help and managed to get us an alternative room with a shower cubicle separate (with no extra charge!). We stayed in one of the lodges - Number 48, and the size was a lot better, although I would say that it could do with a spruce up and modernising to be fair. Curtain swags and grey bathroom suites are long gone! I also think they could do with replacing the music centre.... I don't know what stains were on it but it looked pretty horrid.

Off to the bar for a lovely meal, which was absolutely delicious and recommended to our sister-in-law who was arriving later. (They thoroughly enjoyed it too).
Breakfast was OK, cold though, but not bad enough to make a fuss - although it did seem a bit disorganised.
Spa was also great - great outdoor hot tub, although a bit busy up till about 6 o'clock.
Had booked in for the 6 course evening meal (again as a birthday treat), it was OK, but to be honest I enjoyed the bar meal more the night before.
There was a wedding there on the Saturday night, so a bit more lively in the hotel which wasn't a problem until it came to breakfast. It was chaos. No coffee/tea/toast for sister in law ever arrived. Food was freezing cold and inedible, staff looked tired and fed up. We had several different people serving us, and I think that was the problem. You asked one for a jug of milk and half an hour later someone else brought it after asking again.
In all the staff were very pleasant and helpful (particularly on reception), it does need a spruce up, and it does need more staff on if there are functions taking place (was just disappointing).
Overall we had a good experience, but not sure we would return again unfortunately. Lovely feel with the log-effect rooms and certainly different from the usual.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a small double - certainly no good for the larger man, but has a nice cosy feel with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julietdelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I apologise that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations. I have passed on you comments regarding reception and the bar meals to the staff concerend. We were extremely busy on the Sunday morning but that does not excuse the poor sevice you received.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went with a group of girls for an overnight stay. Facilities in spa are poor, the changing rooms are tiny. The out door got tub was nice overlooking the lake but that's really all there is. We had lunch and breakfast snd both were very poor. Staff are friendly but very slow and don't get things right. The look of the hotel is lovely you really feel like your in the middle of nowhere. Lodges are spacious and modern although the oven etc were a bit grubby and no hand wash in toilets. We had a great weekend, however this hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCRRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We all work extremely hard here at the hotel to ensure all our guests have a great time, I am sorry that on this occasion we did not completely meet with your expectations, please do come back and see us again.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice hotel - it does look a bit like a log cabin, and walking around inside all the wood does give it the feel of a sauna, but everything worked, was clean and the staff friendly. It is a few miles from anywhere else though, do don't expect to be popping out to eat unless you have a car.

The resteraunt was good, but a little pricey. More presentation than volume ;)

Jc

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main building, and other lodge-type rooms around the grounds. Those in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Chevin.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff@Chevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Love this place ! Stayed 1 night on a Spa Break which was very good value as included Dinner, Breakfast & a Spa treatment. Room was very cosy, love the wood logs everywhere & the ambience. Service was a bit slow but there was a large party in + a Wedding reception taking place. Grounds are ideal for a pleasant stroll round . Ideal for a bit of "R & R" & difficult to drag myself away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments we do appreciate them. I hope you will come back again and see us soon.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
3.1 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
12.3 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,657 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#51 of 87 in Leeds
993 reviews
5.1 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#32 of 87 in Leeds
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range: $54 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing