We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,955)
Filter reviews
1,955 results
Traveler rating
700
558
375
202
120
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
700
558
375
202
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaster menuhot tubmain buildingoutdoor jacuzzilog cabinoverlooking the lakerelaxing breakafternoon tealeeds bradford airportleisure facilitiesevening meallakeside restaurantcrerar hotelsnight breakbed and breakfastset menublack pudding
Filter
Updating list...
1,416 - 1,421 of 1,955 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

booked to stay here on a spa break with friends for a special occasion. The pool was filthy and outdated,the water was cold, the tiles filthy. the jacuzzi outdated as was the rest of the spa area,jacuzzi frothed up and made your eyes hurt... too much chlorene.. the outdoor jacuzzi was freezing and not useable, there was nowhere to sit and read a magazine,a couple of chairs but there were in use.. no drinks, food or magazines to read, no free lockers to put your belongings, scruffy staff and rude ,no proper relaxation room, you couldnt call this a spa hotel.. when ordering a sandwich in the bar was told there was a wedding on and this would take priority so there might be some wait, who would want to get married here must want their heads reading, decor 80's style looks old and worn, rooms also old fashioned, shower cold, rang reception waited an hour noone came, service in restaurant slow and staff rude, total rip off for the price we paid and not even the decency to reply to a letter of complaint.only good point was an excellend masseuse who is wasted here and evening meal fairly nice when it eventually came.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having booked a last minute treat for myself and boyfriend , I was amazed by what met us. The hotel is tucked away in a woodland and completely takes you by surprise . The whole hotel is made completely out of wood and you truly feel like hansel and gretal. Greeted with a roaring open fire is a real treat after a very long journey. The 6 course taster menu was superb and so were the staff that served it, nothing was too much trouble . The Log cabin was cosy and clean and the spa facilities were an added bonus, as we're the staff who I have to say make this hotel what it is .. Warm and inviting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 770sarahm770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments all the staff work very hard to make all our guests feel welcome and at home at Chevin.
Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having previously stayed at the hotel we couldn't wait to go back.Unfortunatley we didn,t get the same room that we requested on booking. The toilet had a terrible smell, my son saw what he thought was a mouse in the room. We were told to wait in bar while it was investigated then told it was a vole and had been caught,only room we could be moved to was not of the same standard. My friend had booked for next night on my recommendation, toilet was in the same condition. Overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 846KevinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booking on line the website hotel looked and and sounded attractive but was disappointing.
Basically it is a very large log cabin in rural grounds but I found the rooms gloomy and the whole place over priced. For me a good efficient shower is a must and this was not so in my room ---the shower over a bath was barely a trickle----so back to the fifties!
Dinner quality was only average and certainly too expensive. There seemed to be plenty of staff around , at dinner I was served by no less than four, but all were helpful
Certainly try it but don't expect much!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partypeople917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was the third Crerar Hotel we have stayed in. we only stayed the one night so didn't have time to explore the facilities fully.
plus points: very picturesque, welcoming fire at reception, nice food and comfy bed.
negative points: staff could have been friendlier/more efficient, bar area could have been warmer and last but not least, cleanliness could have been better. i'm pretty sure all of these points have been made by previous reviewers! if the tiles in the swimming pool are brown and sticky as a consequence of an environment-saving aeration process then the hotel management should be pointing that fact out to customers as soon and as clearly as possible!
We booked this hotel because we had such a good experience at the Crerar Loch Fyne Hotel, unfortunately neither this hotel or the Isle of Mull Hotel (also Crerar) measured up!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your review we do appreciate any feedback you wish to give us. As a team we have looked into your points and apologise for you not enjoying your stay with us on this occasion. We are reviewing our policy on our pool and have taken up on your suggestion about clearly informing our customers. Thank you once again.
Kind Regard
The Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews