We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A mini break”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I arrived at the Chevin Lodge on a mini break, we stayed in a Lodge which was really nice, very clean, well layed out, there were a selection of coffee, tea's, hot chocolate, scottish shortbread, on offer, a selection of tolietries in the bathroom, the Lodge was in a middle of a wood, very peaceful and tranquil. The spa facilities were lovely, indoor pool, jacuzzi, outdoor hot tub, steam room, sauna, and gym, my husband and I spent quite a bit of time using these facalities, and felt refreshed afterwards. The meal in the Lakeside Restaurant, was beautiful, the food was an excellent standard and the service was in impeccable, we had a lovely break, and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank for your kind and detailed feedback.

We really hope that you comeback soon to visit us.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    501
    321
    174
    107
See reviews for
322
890
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed recently for a few days and took our dog with us. We found the first lodge room we were allocated was a bit dingy and not as clean as it could have been. However we were moved quickly and and very obligingly the same day as soon as another room was available.The second room was very nice - and the setting was lovely with great space for walking a dog right on the doorstep.The staff were all really pleasant and helpful - even when I asked about a change of room.
As we were on a package deal dinner was included and proved to be variable but overall excellent value. We both thoughtthat the breakfasts were as good as any we have had and the eggs benedict were fabulous! This was a great base to roam around Yorkshire - good access to Harrogate, York and the Dales.
Overall, good value especially if you like a quiet rural location.

Room Tip: Avoid the lodge rooms close to the main building (I think 45, 46,47?) and ask for a refurbished room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woofwoofwilfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am glad that we were able to move you to a more suitable lodge and that you enjoyed your stay.

Feedback is very important to us and we have taken your comments on board and are currently decorating the lodge you were originally booked into.

We hope to see you back at the Chevin Country Park Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a lovely welcome at the hotel by the receptionist, and by the roaring log fire in the reception area. Our room was spacious and on the ground floor overlooking the grounds and spa/outdoor hot tub. It had everything we needed. The only grumble with the room was the bathroom had no shelves where we could keep our washbags.
Before we went in for dinner we had a drink in the bar, very reasonable price wise for the wine for a hotel of this standard.
Then things started to go downhill at this point. We were shown to a table for our meal and eventually someone took our order. We asked 4 times to get some water with our meal. The food was incredibly expensive for the portion size. I was not asked how i wanted my duck cooked and it came over done, luckily it wasnt tough.
Several people in our area of the dining room sent food back or were not happy with the temperature of their food. My vegetables were nearly raw. Thank goodness i like it that way.
There seemed to be no-one in charge of the dining room and this caused a lack of organisation all evening.
The breakfast was another debacle. We were shown to a table then went to help ourselves to the buffet. Apparently while away the staff tried to allocate some other guests at our table! If it wasnt for the guests sat either side we would have been hunting for another one. There once again seemed a distinct lack of leadership, they were all young staff that didnt appear to have a clue. We were asked 3 times if we had ordered our cooked breakfast, the final time by the actual girl who took it! Then she had the cheek to ask what we had ordered. Guests sat around us who came in after us were all fed and away before we had even got our cooked breakfast. We had to ask numerous times to try and get some more coffee and toast that never came.
On our second evening we opted to eat in the bar. The gentleman who was serving had to keep disappearing to find a pen that worked, then only took one order at a time for food and took this to the kitchen. Instead of maybe taking the orders of all people at the bar and then take to the kitchen, we had to stand and wait for him to do the same process about 5 times! Complete lack of organisation again. We had asked the same guy earlier on to light the fire in one of the lounges, he said it would be 10 mins and we are still waiting now!!
My husband ordered the fish and chips, the fish was as big as a sardine and the peas were frozen cold and looked like tinned.
I ordered the steak burger that was very tasty but was served with frozen chips.
Breakfast on the second morning was a little better organised but my husband had to wait a good 15 mins for some milk to appear. Apparently the cow was locked in the cellar and no one had a key.
Then to top the whole weekend off , we went to check out at 10am (this is when you are supposed to vacate rooms) and there was no receptionist to be found. We ended up being checked out (if you can call it that) by a girl that had been serving breakfast.
We saw on the display board in reception a managers name but over our whole visit we never encountered anyone that looked like they were in charge.
Incredibly disappointed at the stay as this was supposed to have been for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Stayed in room 14 (main building). Room was very small, basic but reasonably clean. There was exposed wires on the radiator in the bathroom which i found very dangerous and informed the reception team immediatly but was still that way when we checked out.

We have stayed once before (in the log cabin) and the room was alot bigger. Also we had a great experience in the restaurant last time so we was very much looking forward this time but very disapointed with the service. The second night in the restaurant we had to ask for our puddings twice (waiting half an hour after we asked the 1st time) also the last course didnt come, (we didnt end up asking for this as we waited a long time for the puddings) and we ordered drinks at our table for ourselve and another couple who sat next to us but they also took about 30 minuts to show and it wasnt what we ordered.

Finaly on the last morning we was shown to our table for breakfast and had to wait 25 minutes for someone to take our order and even then they didnt have what we wanted.

Just a fyi, the barman ( didnt get his name) didnt smile once while we was there and when asked to put the bill to the room had a slight huff and puff about him.

All in all we was very dissapointed with the hotel. I run a hotel myself and also used to run a restaurant and would be very ashamed knowing that my staff was the way the staff at chevin are.

One good thing about the hotel is the receptionist vicky who is always smiling and nothing is ever to much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sterickards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kippen, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

On arrival,reception was fast smooth and very helpful. Not to mention a great heat/ smell from
the roar of an open log fire. We stayed in a 2 bed exec log cabin, both my wife and I where very impressed with accomadation.We have 3 young girls under the age of 5, and the spa area was a joy, warm water etc. My wife took advantage of an extemely reasonable makeover. The food was excellent on all 3 nights we stayed, but the creme' de la creme' was the sense of enjoyment from all hotel staff and nothing was ever too much. Some 5stars we have stayed at haven't come close to this level of enthusiasm.Would book again in a heart beat. *****

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

With only 9 months notice we were able to book the wedding for a date that we feared might have been a problem, i.e. the Diamond Jubilee weekend, 03 June 2012. All our requests were ably accommodated including the Registrar and the 26 members of the Band of the West Yorkshire Fire & Rescue Service who played throughout the Ceremony. The food and drink was fully up to our expectations and the roast beef was even better than on our trial meal. The bars were well staffed and fully met the test of 100 thirsty guests. The vastly experienced Tom and his team inobtrusively ensured that the whole day progressed to schedule and a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here along with family in a log cabin with dogs (despite the website saying they weren't allowed however the hotel staff were more than happy as long as they didn't go in the hotel!) The log cabin was very cosy and a lot larger than we thought it would be. Sometimes the next door neighbours could be heard due to the rooms being in the same block. The food was very tasty however one or two meals were a little bit cold - probably due to our large party all eating off the a la carte menu. This menu would have been very expensive however we got an offer. The breakfast was fantastic including: Cinammon French Toast, Smoked Haddock with poached eggs and Eggs Benedict/Florentine. The leisure centre had a great outdoor hot tub and a fairly small but adequate pool. At times the staff were slightly unattentive in matters we had requested. Overall a great holiday and would return at a moment's notice.

Room Tip: Go for a log cabin they very warm, cosy and secluded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
13.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
12.3 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
10.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing